We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a park and fly option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay prior to an early flight and holiday to the Caribbean.

We had a lovely room, a comfortable bed and a good nights sleep before our long flight the next day.

The hotel was a very reasonable price which included 15 days parking.

The bar food was good if not spectacular.

Free Wi-Fi was an added bonus.

We didn't use the shuttle as a taxi was only a £1 more and we had an early start. This was all booked by the hotel desk staff and went without hitch.

We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a wonderful holiday. Yes, there is an option of taking a taxi to the airport, especially if there are two of you, it makes the transfer very quick. Hopefully, you will stay with us again as part of your next holiday.
Best wishes and thank you once again
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

886 - 892 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night before flying from Gatwick, and 8 days parking was included. The room was comfortable, bar food prices were reasonable, and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. £4.50pp for the transfer is a bit expensive but I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review, we were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us prior to your flight. It was very kind of you to review your stay, we hope you had a great holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for one night before our flight to Venice the next day. We parked the car in their car park. The rooms are lovely and clean, loads of tea and coffee etc. The bed was extremely comfortable. We used the swimming pool, but it wasn't very clean (the only thing that let's it down) although the copthorne don't own it, it's owned by LA Fitness.

We had food in the restaurant which serves lovely pub food, there is also a more fancy restaurant.


There is a shuttle that runs every half hour to the airport for £4.50 per person.

This is the second time ive stayed at this hotel and would go again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeganExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so pleased you had a nice time and enjoyed the hotel and surroundings. We have passed your comments regarding the pool on to L A Fitness, we will make sure their manager responds to us. We hope you had a wonderful holiday to Venice and that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently for several nights on business. I found the quality of food on offer of a poor standard. Several of my colleagues complained about needing an electric saw to get through the lamb on offer. The chicken on offer was very chewy and in my opinion did not look or taste that fresh.
£3.50 for a pint of coca cola. £3.50 for a small bottle of a non alcoholic drink £3.50 and mostly £4.50 for a pint was very much overpriced. In my opinion these prices need to be more realistic and not just to rip off the guests!
On my final day I came down with jippy tummy which was later confirmed as jippy tummy (there is another word for it but I am being kind in not stating the obvious) Now seeing that I had not eaten anywhere else was only one place this had come from. Very disappointed in this hotel and I hasten to add that I most certainly will not ever be staying at this hotel ever again. In my opinion The standard of food needs to be addressed.
The hotel room was ok but very dated and really does need an upgrade. Poor hotel there are many much better in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reviewerUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry several aspects of your stay were disappointing and did not meet your expectations. I am only sorry we did not have the opportunity to meet you during your stay in order to have the opportunity to try to rectify the areas you have highlighted. Normally, we receive numerous compliments regarding our food, we are, of course, very upset to think you may have had an upset stomach, we would have wished to investigate this. Your comments regarding our food and the meals you consumed will be read and examined by our Head Chef. Regarding our drinks prices, we are very sorry you found these expensive, although we are more expensive than local pubs we believe our prices are in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review, as you can imagine, we are very sorry to have only received one star as most reviewers award us a minimum of three stars.

We hope you have had a safe journey and wish to thank you once again for sharing your views with the travelling community.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

1 night stay Feb 2014, easy to find, staff very polite and helpful, very comfortable room, very good choice at breakfast. will definitely use this hotel again when in the area. Very handy for Gatwick airport, value for money.

Room Tip: First floor rooms were very quite, easy access from the M23
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickipike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for your very nice words following your recent stay with us. We were so glad to read you found the hotel comfortable and convenient for the airport. Thank you once again for posting a review for the benefit of fellow travellers.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed here on the 5th February. Immediately upon arrival we were welcomed by the receptionist and promptly checked into our rooms. Great service.

The rooms were a little chilly, but after speaking to the same receptionist about an hour later, she arranged for extra heaters to be put into them. I was impressed that she remembered my name after checking in so many people.

We ordered wine at the small bar and waited for our reservation in the Lion D'or restaurant. The food was simply amazing and probably one of the best meals I've had. Great service from the 2 waiters there as well.

When we got back to the rooms he heaters were there as promised and now very cosy.

Breakfast was also great.

The hotel is very well maintained and clean all the staff were friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms we're well furnished and comfortable. There's something for everyone in the food options as well. The only slight negative was the temperature in some areas which was a little on the cold side.

Room Tip: Didn't use the spa facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and in particular, your meal in our Lion D'Or Restaurant. We are very sorry if you found the temperature a little chilly, I was glad to hear you were provided with an extra heater for your bedroom. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Thank you once again,
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Visited again after a previously disappointing time.
We eat a pub type business lunch which was delightful the staff this time were a pleasure, on a very wet horrible day.
Lovely oldie world type bar area, looking out at nice gardens

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you very much for your charming review following your pub lunch with us. We believe you ate in our Library Bar which has a delightful atmosphere overlooking our enclosed garden and pond area. We are very glad you enjoyed yourselves, hopefully, we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £59 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing