We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and very close to Gatwick airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and very close to Gatwick airport”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I purchased this online not knowing what to expect but the picture of it intrigued me and the location (about 5 kms) from Gatwick airport made it even more suitable to us. Excellent restaurants in the hotel, very nice gift shop and the atmosphere was great. Without question I would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review and for awarding the hotel 5 stars. This is a great compliment from an international traveller such as yourself. We are very fortunate to have a beautiful old building and yet only 4 miles from the airport, you must come back in the summer to see our gardens.
Thank you once again, hoping you had a safe journey home
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    509
    293
    160
    129
See reviews for
226
769
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halesworth
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stopped here for the second time in two years in readiness for an early morning flight to Eygpt. This is a big hotel so request a room near reception as you can really cart your holiday luggage a long way. Getting back to reception early in the morning is not easy and we got slightly lost which can be daunting for an older couple.

Room was in the newer part of the hotel so a lot smaller than last year, but adequate. We stopped at friends on the way there for dinner, so literally checked in and went to bed.

Alarm call came on time and check out and taxi journey first class. The hotel has a deal with a local taxi firm which charged us a set rate of £8.50 to the airport. They will give you a number to call on arrival back to Gatwick.

Convenient for both North and South terminals and would use again

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception if you don't want a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your interesting and informative review and for taking the time. Although we only have a ground floor and an upper floor, the building is in the shape of an H so some rooms are a few minutes walk from reception, thank you for your comments which we agree with. We hope you had a wonderful holiday in the sunshine and that we may look forward to welcoming you back next time.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Cambs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here for one night before a very early start to Gatwick. Check in was swift and polite and my single room had a large double bed overlooking the gardens, that in itself is a bonus singles are usually at the back overlooking the dustbins!
A peaceful nights sleep in a room with all facilities needed in an Airport Hotel.
Next morning a transfer by car was on time and on my return the young lady at the desk was very helpful when I had lost all my correspondence to collect my car from the car park.
Would certainly use this hotel again being just a couple of minutes from the M23 is a bonus saves getting snarled up in the traffic around Gatwick

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann46HuntingdonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and everything went smoothly with your transfers to the airport. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time, as you say,. stay the night before and you dont need to worry about the traffic. We hope you had a lovely holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay prior to an early flight and holiday to the Caribbean.

We had a lovely room, a comfortable bed and a good nights sleep before our long flight the next day.

The hotel was a very reasonable price which included 15 days parking.

The bar food was good if not spectacular.

Free Wi-Fi was an added bonus.

We didn't use the shuttle as a taxi was only a £1 more and we had an early start. This was all booked by the hotel desk staff and went without hitch.

We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a wonderful holiday. Yes, there is an option of taking a taxi to the airport, especially if there are two of you, it makes the transfer very quick. Hopefully, you will stay with us again as part of your next holiday.
Best wishes and thank you once again
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night before flying from Gatwick, and 8 days parking was included. The room was comfortable, bar food prices were reasonable, and the hotel has a nice atmosphere. £4.50pp for the transfer is a bit expensive but I'd definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review, we were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us prior to your flight. It was very kind of you to review your stay, we hope you had a great holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for one night before our flight to Venice the next day. We parked the car in their car park. The rooms are lovely and clean, loads of tea and coffee etc. The bed was extremely comfortable. We used the swimming pool, but it wasn't very clean (the only thing that let's it down) although the copthorne don't own it, it's owned by LA Fitness.

We had food in the restaurant which serves lovely pub food, there is also a more fancy restaurant.


There is a shuttle that runs every half hour to the airport for £4.50 per person.

This is the second time ive stayed at this hotel and would go again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so pleased you had a nice time and enjoyed the hotel and surroundings. We have passed your comments regarding the pool on to L A Fitness, we will make sure their manager responds to us. We hope you had a wonderful holiday to Venice and that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently for several nights on business. I found the quality of food on offer of a poor standard. Several of my colleagues complained about needing an electric saw to get through the lamb on offer. The chicken on offer was very chewy and in my opinion did not look or taste that fresh.
£3.50 for a pint of coca cola. £3.50 for a small bottle of a non alcoholic drink £3.50 and mostly £4.50 for a pint was very much overpriced. In my opinion these prices need to be more realistic and not just to rip off the guests!
On my final day I came down with jippy tummy which was later confirmed as jippy tummy (there is another word for it but I am being kind in not stating the obvious) Now seeing that I had not eaten anywhere else was only one place this had come from. Very disappointed in this hotel and I hasten to add that I most certainly will not ever be staying at this hotel ever again. In my opinion The standard of food needs to be addressed.
The hotel room was ok but very dated and really does need an upgrade. Poor hotel there are many much better in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewerUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry several aspects of your stay were disappointing and did not meet your expectations. I am only sorry we did not have the opportunity to meet you during your stay in order to have the opportunity to try to rectify the areas you have highlighted. Normally, we receive numerous compliments regarding our food, we are, of course, very upset to think you may have had an upset stomach, we would have wished to investigate this. Your comments regarding our food and the meals you consumed will be read and examined by our Head Chef. Regarding our drinks prices, we are very sorry you found these expensive, although we are more expensive than local pubs we believe our prices are in line with other hotels in the Gatwick area.
Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review, as you can imagine, we are very sorry to have only received one star as most reviewers award us a minimum of three stars.

We hope you have had a safe journey and wish to thank you once again for sharing your views with the travelling community.

Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing