We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel spoilt by extremely poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel spoilt by extremely poor food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed overnight on 7th February to avoid the forecast bad weather.Reception staff were friendly and polite.Our room was very comfortable and good value.However it was extremely cold and eventually a portable radiator was provided,but this is a slow process in heating up..Why could there not be a bit of forethought because there obviously is some sort of problem throughout the hotel.Staff were all very customer friendly and told us that there was some sort of celebration somewhere so they were thin on the ground.Did not seem a problem as there were hardly any customers anyway.We ate in the lounge area with bar type food.Eaten there before no problem.However I guess the chef was at the staff party because we were served the worst meal I can remember.My wife had the chicken pie.When it was served it looked like something a bedsit student would be ashamed of.I have never seen so many peas on one plate.The pie and fries were swamped.The pie could have been nice but was obviously micro waved as the pastry was like rubber.Surely a hotel should have a more sophisticated micro wave ,one that browns and crisps.Should have complained but we just shrugged it off and returned to our now warm room.Very expensive for even a decent bar meal but an insulting robbery for shameful garbage.

Room Tip: Visit when hot and when the qualified catering staff are not away partying
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sugarsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us on 7th February. We are glad we were able to warm your room up, unfortunately owing to the very stormy weather we have had some problems with our boiler system, these are all now sorted out. We were most concerned to read your comments regarding the food you ordered in our Library Bar. As you can see from other reviews, we normally receive compliments about our food. Without any doubt, your feedback has been passed to our chef. I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to replace your meals. We would be delighted to offer you a complimentary dinner next time you are staying with us. Please ask for the Guest Relations Manager and this will be organised for you. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    513
    297
    161
    129
See reviews for
229
774
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed a night before travelling from Gatwick and paid for a weeks parking which was excellent value.

The rooms were very cold during a cold snap , however the hotel use mobile radiators to great effect .

The food was exceptionally good. Overall the hotel was very a pleasant surprise being essentially a commuter one night stay kind of hotel. I wouldn't go anywhere else for value and comfort if travelling from Gatwick again. The staff are lovely also

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for awarding your stay 5 stars, thank you so much. We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that everything went well transferring to and from the airport. We look forward to welcoming you back next time, thank you once again for your nice words about our staff.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

After having such a wonderful stay here last year we decided to use the hotel again as an over night stay before going on holiday.

We opted for the package that includes a nights stay, 3 course meal in the lion dor restaurant plus parking at the hotel for 2 weeks. Upon arrival we were greeted and checked in promptly, we were offered to upgrade to a suite which included breakfast so we did. We went to our now upgraded room and Wow! The room was immaculate with a huge bath, walk-in shower, king size bed plus lots of extra nice touches. We then sat in the comfy bar and had a lovely bottle of wine before dinner as I said before the stay included a 3 course meal in their fine dining restaurant. Having eaten here before on our last visit we were really looking forward to our meal and we were not disappointed once again the service and food were stunning.
After a goods night sleep we ate breakfast which consisted of an al you can eat buffet hot and cold which was also very good.
In all we had a perfect stay at this hotel yet again from arrival to the taxi to the airport and strees free and ready for our 2 weeks holiday in Egypt.

Thank you Copthorne for another great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humpty258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, thank you ! We were so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including your dinner in our Lion D'Or Restaurant. Hopefully, you had a wonderful holiday in the sunshine in Egypt and returned home safely. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here in early February for a quick (and early) getaway to the sun from Gatwick. Room price included car parking for 8 days. We were most impressed by the rooms and the food. The pub bit was a wee bit iffy, but the restaurant was excellent for an evening meal. Didn't have breakfast, went to airport for that. And the taxi service was superb too. £9.50 each way, and a quick phone call on our return to the taxi company resulted in a speedy transfer. They even sent texts to confirm the taxi car details. The hotel had had to move the car in our absence due to flooding, but no problem with that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourtsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and for awarding our hotel 5 stars. Thank you so much. We are so glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the hotel, also your transfers to the airport and return went well. We hope all was well when you returned home and that you had a great holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I purchased this online not knowing what to expect but the picture of it intrigued me and the location (about 5 kms) from Gatwick airport made it even more suitable to us. Excellent restaurants in the hotel, very nice gift shop and the atmosphere was great. Without question I would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic review and for awarding the hotel 5 stars. This is a great compliment from an international traveller such as yourself. We are very fortunate to have a beautiful old building and yet only 4 miles from the airport, you must come back in the summer to see our gardens.
Thank you once again, hoping you had a safe journey home
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stopped here for the second time in two years in readiness for an early morning flight to Eygpt. This is a big hotel so request a room near reception as you can really cart your holiday luggage a long way. Getting back to reception early in the morning is not easy and we got slightly lost which can be daunting for an older couple.

Room was in the newer part of the hotel so a lot smaller than last year, but adequate. We stopped at friends on the way there for dinner, so literally checked in and went to bed.

Alarm call came on time and check out and taxi journey first class. The hotel has a deal with a local taxi firm which charged us a set rate of £8.50 to the airport. They will give you a number to call on arrival back to Gatwick.

Convenient for both North and South terminals and would use again

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception if you don't want a long walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for your interesting and informative review and for taking the time. Although we only have a ground floor and an upper floor, the building is in the shape of an H so some rooms are a few minutes walk from reception, thank you for your comments which we agree with. We hope you had a wonderful holiday in the sunshine and that we may look forward to welcoming you back next time.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon Cambs
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here for one night before a very early start to Gatwick. Check in was swift and polite and my single room had a large double bed overlooking the gardens, that in itself is a bonus singles are usually at the back overlooking the dustbins!
A peaceful nights sleep in a room with all facilities needed in an Airport Hotel.
Next morning a transfer by car was on time and on my return the young lady at the desk was very helpful when I had lost all my correspondence to collect my car from the car park.
Would certainly use this hotel again being just a couple of minutes from the M23 is a bonus saves getting snarled up in the traffic around Gatwick

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann46HuntingdonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and everything went smoothly with your transfers to the airport. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time, as you say,. stay the night before and you dont need to worry about the traffic. We hope you had a lovely holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing