We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overnight Hotel for Travel from Gatwick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our usual comfortable hotel before we have to be at Gatwick for a long haul flight. We usually find the hotel staff friendly and helpful, the room well serviced and the restaurant meals enjoyable. There is also a comfortable bar area. However for the first time in several years of staying at the Copthorne we had two problems with the Le Lion restaurant, a waiter who smelled of smoking and a fish meal poorly cooked. We reported the issues to another Waiter who refunded the price of the meal and also spoke to the Restaurant Manager who gave me pen and paper to write down our complaint which we duly did and left it with him. During the night we had a blocked toilet. It was not a good time to change rooms as we had to be up at 5.30 am to get to Gatwick. We did, of, course, report the problem to reception. We cannot comment on the Copthorne's airport transfer service as we always move the car to a very good nearby long term parking garage. Our markings do not take into consideration the problems during this stay as problems have not been incurred by us in the past. We will definitely book the Copthorne again and recommend it.

Room Tip: : Some rooms are quite away from reception and restaurants. Consider this if you have any disabiliti...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you encountered two problems on this occasion, both of which are very unusual as I am sure you appreciate. We normally have so many compliments regarding the standard of food in our Lion D'Or Restaurant, however, our Head Chef will have seen your comments on Tripadvisor. For staff to smell of smoking is not acceptable. Staff are allowed to have a smoking break, however, this is not to take place during their shift. Please be assured this matter will be brought to the attention of our HR Manager. We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With best wishes
Thank you once again
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to gatwick with good parking for holiday duration. Rooms lovely comfy bed nice size only problem was couldn't get the radiator to switch off and air conditioning was not air conditioning being 4 months pregnant I found the room far too hot and stuffy! Apart from that good pre flight hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tinkerbelle2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so sorry the room was too hot, our apologies, you must have felt very uncomfortable. We hope you enjoyed your holiday and every best wish for your new baby.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed at the Copthorne London the evening before our flight. Our car was absolutely fine on our return. Shuttle bus to the North terminal was a good service. Although on our return we just caught a taxi back to the Hotel rather than hang about for the bus. The room was comfortable and perfectly adequate. Yes we would return for the price and convenience.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon22tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and all went well with your airport transfers. Do please come back to us next time and we hope you had a great holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First time we have stayed at this hotel. We had a very large 3 bed room (double + single bed). Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Dinner in the restaurant was very good (we had pre-booked) although it is possible to just turn up. Food is also offered in the bar area and many people seemed to go for that option. Breakfast options were varied and many.

Parking was simple, we parked and unloaded the car, left the keys at reception when we left and the car was outside the entrance when we returned. Transfers to the airport were very efficient, we booked a taxi rather than use the bus. The difference in price was negligible and it was well worth travelling in comfort.

We would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Book a taxi instead of using the bus transfer.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiehaggerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and all went well with your airport transfers. We are also very glad to read that you would return in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hotel booked for park and fly option which was a good offer.Rooms are adequate and nice setting.Took the shuttle BUS to north term and it worked well.However,on our return,we went to the allocated pick up stop at the correct time and waited and waited.A taxi appeared at the stop and asked some people waiting something before driving off.Getting cold and being rather tired,phoned the hotel to ask if there was a problem with the bus was put through to another company that they use that operates taxis.Was told that I had missed the Taxi and would have to wait another 40 mins for the next one.
I phoned a local taxi firm to get to the copthorne.At reception I stated that they should let customers know they use taxis as we were waiting for the bus to pick us up with copthorne hotel on the side of it.It then descended into farce with the receptionist asking me what colours the wing mirrors were of the taxi.How about a big sign on it that says COPTHORNE or a driver that gets out and asks if anyone is going there.Through the whole time that the receptionist was relaying info back to the manager,he or she never came to see us.So,whoever you are I give you a big fat zero for customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and that your transfer to the airport went well. We are so sorry your journey back from the airport turned out to be such a poor experience. Our Front Office Manager who communicates to guests has gone through your comments, we are constantly holding meetings with our transport provider, we are aware that improvements need to be made with the pick up from the airport in order to provide a better service for our guests. Please accept our apologies for the long delay you experienced. This set aside, i do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent one night at this hotel with our granddaughter in a family room. Overall we had an enjoyable evening.

The location is pleasant with a duck pond in the grounds. It is close to the M23 and Gatwick airport.

The reception area and the bar are very nice with a friendly feel. The food served in the bar was typical of that served in many bars across the country, nothing to complain about but equally nothing memorable.

Our room (a family triple) consisted of 2 single beds and a small double with plenty of space. The beams made the room very pleasant.

However the bathroom was very poor, and in need of renovation. It was small and it was impossible to stand up fully in the shower. Also the toilet was cracked. The bathroom definitely detracted from the nice bedroom.

We upgraded to a club room, the club room was two tables a few biscuits and a coffee machine located in an area used to reach bedrooms. Compared with the club rooms in other hotels in the same group, this was totally inadequate.

Comparison with other hotels in the group also is not favourable when taking the Ask Alfred package for our granddaughter unlike other hotels this package did not feel value for money.

Would we stay at this hotel again, yes but we would definitely not upgrade to a club room or take the Ask Alfred package.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank reded46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. Your comments were very informative, thank you. We are very sorry you felt the bathroom was not up to standard, some of our bathrooms have quite low ceilings owing to the nature of our old building, however, thank you for your comments. We hope you went on to have a nice holiday. We are very sorry you felt the room upgrade and Ask Alfred package did not provide good value. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future and that we may look forward to welcoming you back.
With kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed overnight on 7th February to avoid the forecast bad weather.Reception staff were friendly and polite.Our room was very comfortable and good value.However it was extremely cold and eventually a portable radiator was provided,but this is a slow process in heating up..Why could there not be a bit of forethought because there obviously is some sort of problem throughout the hotel.Staff were all very customer friendly and told us that there was some sort of celebration somewhere so they were thin on the ground.Did not seem a problem as there were hardly any customers anyway.We ate in the lounge area with bar type food.Eaten there before no problem.However I guess the chef was at the staff party because we were served the worst meal I can remember.My wife had the chicken pie.When it was served it looked like something a bedsit student would be ashamed of.I have never seen so many peas on one plate.The pie and fries were swamped.The pie could have been nice but was obviously micro waved as the pastry was like rubber.Surely a hotel should have a more sophisticated micro wave ,one that browns and crisps.Should have complained but we just shrugged it off and returned to our now warm room.Very expensive for even a decent bar meal but an insulting robbery for shameful garbage.

Room Tip: Visit when hot and when the qualified catering staff are not away partying
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sugarsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us on 7th February. We are glad we were able to warm your room up, unfortunately owing to the very stormy weather we have had some problems with our boiler system, these are all now sorted out. We were most concerned to read your comments regarding the food you ordered in our Library Bar. As you can see from other reviews, we normally receive compliments about our food. Without any doubt, your feedback has been passed to our chef. I am sorry we did not have the opportunity to replace your meals. We would be delighted to offer you a complimentary dinner next time you are staying with us. Please ask for the Guest Relations Manager and this will be organised for you. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £59 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing