We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO COLD WATER!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Hersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“NO COLD WATER!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed sat. 8th March room 335..NO COLD water in shower or sink in morning..nearly scolded
myself..moved to 338..same thing.Reception no help..I had no time to sort it out as I had to get to work.There was a sign in bathroom saying HOT WATER warning but nothing about no cold water!
Not nice cleaning teeth with hot water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so sorry you experienced problems with the lack of cold water, unfortunately, we had some difficulties with our water supply during the time you were with us despite being moved rooms, we are very sorry you were not supported. The problem we had has been rectified so we sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon.
Thank you, in the meantime, for posting a review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    506
    290
    159
    127
See reviews for
224
765
66
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our third time staying here the night before our holiday and really enjoyed our stay. We had a room for myself, my husband and my 18yr old daughter. Lovely large room, very comfortable beds. Staff are friendly and helpful. Had dinner in our room, very tasty. Parked our car here for the 3 weeks we were on holiday with no problems. We will be staying here again this year when we go on holiday. This is a lovely hotel with character, not just another 'chain' hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie.B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel once again, we hope you had a fantastic holiday as well. Do please come back to us next time, we look forward to welcoming you back.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our usual comfortable hotel before we have to be at Gatwick for a long haul flight. We usually find the hotel staff friendly and helpful, the room well serviced and the restaurant meals enjoyable. There is also a comfortable bar area. However for the first time in several years of staying at the Copthorne we had two problems with the Le Lion restaurant, a waiter who smelled of smoking and a fish meal poorly cooked. We reported the issues to another Waiter who refunded the price of the meal and also spoke to the Restaurant Manager who gave me pen and paper to write down our complaint which we duly did and left it with him. During the night we had a blocked toilet. It was not a good time to change rooms as we had to be up at 5.30 am to get to Gatwick. We did, of, course, report the problem to reception. We cannot comment on the Copthorne's airport transfer service as we always move the car to a very good nearby long term parking garage. Our markings do not take into consideration the problems during this stay as problems have not been incurred by us in the past. We will definitely book the Copthorne again and recommend it.

Room Tip: : Some rooms are quite away from reception and restaurants. Consider this if you have any disabiliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you encountered two problems on this occasion, both of which are very unusual as I am sure you appreciate. We normally have so many compliments regarding the standard of food in our Lion D'Or Restaurant, however, our Head Chef will have seen your comments on Tripadvisor. For staff to smell of smoking is not acceptable. Staff are allowed to have a smoking break, however, this is not to take place during their shift. Please be assured this matter will be brought to the attention of our HR Manager. We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With best wishes
Thank you once again
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to gatwick with good parking for holiday duration. Rooms lovely comfy bed nice size only problem was couldn't get the radiator to switch off and air conditioning was not air conditioning being 4 months pregnant I found the room far too hot and stuffy! Apart from that good pre flight hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbelle2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so sorry the room was too hot, our apologies, you must have felt very uncomfortable. We hope you enjoyed your holiday and every best wish for your new baby.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Copthorne London the evening before our flight. Our car was absolutely fine on our return. Shuttle bus to the North terminal was a good service. Although on our return we just caught a taxi back to the Hotel rather than hang about for the bus. The room was comfortable and perfectly adequate. Yes we would return for the price and convenience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon22tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and all went well with your airport transfers. Do please come back to us next time and we hope you had a great holiday.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

First time we have stayed at this hotel. We had a very large 3 bed room (double + single bed). Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Dinner in the restaurant was very good (we had pre-booked) although it is possible to just turn up. Food is also offered in the bar area and many people seemed to go for that option. Breakfast options were varied and many.

Parking was simple, we parked and unloaded the car, left the keys at reception when we left and the car was outside the entrance when we returned. Transfers to the airport were very efficient, we booked a taxi rather than use the bus. The difference in price was negligible and it was well worth travelling in comfort.

We would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: Book a taxi instead of using the bus transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiehaggerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and all went well with your airport transfers. We are also very glad to read that you would return in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hotel booked for park and fly option which was a good offer.Rooms are adequate and nice setting.Took the shuttle BUS to north term and it worked well.However,on our return,we went to the allocated pick up stop at the correct time and waited and waited.A taxi appeared at the stop and asked some people waiting something before driving off.Getting cold and being rather tired,phoned the hotel to ask if there was a problem with the bus was put through to another company that they use that operates taxis.Was told that I had missed the Taxi and would have to wait another 40 mins for the next one.
I phoned a local taxi firm to get to the copthorne.At reception I stated that they should let customers know they use taxis as we were waiting for the bus to pick us up with copthorne hotel on the side of it.It then descended into farce with the receptionist asking me what colours the wing mirrors were of the taxi.How about a big sign on it that says COPTHORNE or a driver that gets out and asks if anyone is going there.Through the whole time that the receptionist was relaying info back to the manager,he or she never came to see us.So,whoever you are I give you a big fat zero for customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and that your transfer to the airport went well. We are so sorry your journey back from the airport turned out to be such a poor experience. Our Front Office Manager who communicates to guests has gone through your comments, we are constantly holding meetings with our transport provider, we are aware that improvements need to be made with the pick up from the airport in order to provide a better service for our guests. Please accept our apologies for the long delay you experienced. This set aside, i do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing