We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Nearby Hotels
Regency Hotel Gatwick(Crawley)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,778)
Filter reviews
1,778 results
Traveller rating
491
603
343
188
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
603
343
188
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion d'orlibrary barwhite swanhealth clubtaxi servicecar parkinglondon gatwickdays parkingshuttle busbuffet stylestayed here for one nightstandard roomlong haul flightpre flight staypark and flyan overnight staynight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
994 - 999 of 1,778 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here like many,overnight for flight from Gatwick. Carpark very busy, and costs £5 per day. Didn't eat at hotel as expensive.Spoke to a couple who said it was £14 for a double brandy. Walked to nearby Prince Albert pub and had a great home cooked meal for fraction of hotel price. Was rudely awoken bay 08.30 by maid asking to service room!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank lindapinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you decided not to eat in the hotel, however, our local pub, the Prince Albert is very nice and we are aware some guests prefer to eat in a pub. We do try to make sure our prices are in line with other hotels in the area. Please accept our apologies for being woken up by housekeeping, this should not have happened, we have taken the matter up with our Head Housekeeper. Thank you once again for taking the time to post a review, we hope you will consider returning to us next time.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed sat. 8th March room 335..NO COLD water in shower or sink in morning..nearly scolded
myself..moved to 338..same thing.Reception no help..I had no time to sort it out as I had to get to work.There was a sign in bathroom saying HOT WATER warning but nothing about no cold water!
Not nice cleaning teeth with hot water.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so sorry you experienced problems with the lack of cold water, unfortunately, we had some difficulties with our water supply during the time you were with us despite being moved rooms, we are very sorry you were not supported. The problem we had has been rectified so we sincerely hope to welcome you back very soon.
Thank you, in the meantime, for posting a review.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our third time staying here the night before our holiday and really enjoyed our stay. We had a room for myself, my husband and my 18yr old daughter. Lovely large room, very comfortable beds. Staff are friendly and helpful. Had dinner in our room, very tasty. Parked our car here for the 3 weeks we were on holiday with no problems. We will be staying here again this year when we go on holiday. This is a lovely hotel with character, not just another 'chain' hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel once again, we hope you had a fantastic holiday as well. Do please come back to us next time, we look forward to welcoming you back.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is our usual comfortable hotel before we have to be at Gatwick for a long haul flight. We usually find the hotel staff friendly and helpful, the room well serviced and the restaurant meals enjoyable. There is also a comfortable bar area. However for the first time in several years of staying at the Copthorne we had two problems with the Le Lion restaurant, a waiter who smelled of smoking and a fish meal poorly cooked. We reported the issues to another Waiter who refunded the price of the meal and also spoke to the Restaurant Manager who gave me pen and paper to write down our complaint which we duly did and left it with him. During the night we had a blocked toilet. It was not a good time to change rooms as we had to be up at 5.30 am to get to Gatwick. We did, of, course, report the problem to reception. We cannot comment on the Copthorne's airport transfer service as we always move the car to a very good nearby long term parking garage. Our markings do not take into consideration the problems during this stay as problems have not been incurred by us in the past. We will definitely book the Copthorne again and recommend it.

Room Tip: : Some rooms are quite away from reception and restaurants. Consider this if you have any disabilities.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very sorry you encountered two problems on this occasion, both of which are very unusual as I am sure you appreciate. We normally have so many compliments regarding the standard of food in our Lion D'Or Restaurant, however, our Head Chef will have seen your comments on Tripadvisor. For staff to smell of smoking is not acceptable. Staff are allowed to have a smoking break, however, this is not to take place during their shift. Please be assured this matter will be brought to the attention of our HR Manager. We do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With best wishes
Thank you once again
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel close to gatwick with good parking for holiday duration. Rooms lovely comfy bed nice size only problem was couldn't get the radiator to switch off and air conditioning was not air conditioning being 4 months pregnant I found the room far too hot and stuffy! Apart from that good pre flight hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tinkerbelle2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are so sorry the room was too hot, our apologies, you must have felt very uncomfortable. We hope you enjoyed your holiday and every best wish for your new baby.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews