We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be even better with a few tweaks!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
South-East
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Could be even better with a few tweaks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great location. Very convenient for Gatwick and transfer options are good. Staff on reception on arrival were very welcoming. Room excellent and comfy (bath v small but that didn't bother us as we only used shower). Two things let down a good experience - one was the cost of dinner, where the costs ratcheted up rather disturbingly. The food was well presented, but actually could have been more tasty. The wine prices were high. BUT the service was impeccable. In the end, what started out as a £100 for the night + parking for 10 days deal, ended up costing £190, with the dinner and airport transfers. As long as you're aware of that, the place is great. OH, it would be great if on return, the staff could be clearer about the car's new location in the car park (it's moved during your absence). I hunted in the cold darkness for a long time and eventually had to be helped by a staff member! This time there were two girls on reception - about to go off duty, I think - and their directions were useless. They directed me to the car park (I already knew where that was) but didn't say in which part of the car park the car was.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecomingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. Your comments were most constructive and informative, thank you. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your meal and were well looked after by our staff. We are so sorry about the confusion regarding finding your car on your return, we have specific parking zones. Our sincere apologies, when you come home from holiday you just need to be with your car as soon as possible. It was very kind of you to take the time to write a review, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    506
    290
    159
    127
See reviews for
224
765
66
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here just recently and must say an ideal location, being just a 12 - 15 min drive to the airport. Had a twin room which was just what was needed. The room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The restaurant & bar are very good if not a little pricey. The only thing in my opinion that lets the hotel down is that the wifi is chargeable. You can't get a 3G signal so if you need to work then you have to pay for the wifi. This really is a nice place to stay but just wish they would sort the wifi out so it is not chargeable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steviecCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, thank you. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your stay and find the location of the hotel very convenient for the airport. Your comments regarding wi-fi will be passed on to our management, so thank you for this valuable feedback, much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
With best wishes,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed overnight on our way to the Caribbean and gave the hotel a good review at the time.
Whilst away, we decided to book an early morning check in on our return, and try and catch up on our sleep after the overnight flight.
All the staff are so pleasant and helpful. Reception, dining room, bar and housekeeping staff really do go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Our room was in the same annexe (across from the main building). Again, it was comfortable, clean and well equipped. Slept soundly until early afternoon!
If we ever have to fly from Gatwick again, we will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzy005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is fantastic, thank you. We hope you had a wonderful holiday and glad to hear you caught up on some sleep in the hotel on your return. Thank you also for your very nice words regarding our staff, all comments made by our guests are passed on to all departments, so thank you once again.
Hoping you had a safe journey home and that we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my fiancee have stayed here a few times now. We normally stay in the club rooms, but all others are equally nice too. We always have a pleasant, relaxing stay. You do have to pay for parking though. There is use of the LA Fitness swimming pool too, which is nice.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank London-couple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us once again. Now that Spring is here our hotel is looking beautiful with the gardens surrounding the building. We are happy to read you enjoyed your swim also, hoping to welcome you back very soon.
Very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The services that we received in the 5 weeks that we stayed were absolutely on point. The staff addressed us personally. The chef (always a different colourful hat) at breakfast was excellent, cooked to order our food on request and evwn brought it out and chatted to us.
Valter, Anita, Ionus, Lorenzo, Ana, Jessica, Klara and the rest of the team in the Brassaire were worth their weight in gold, so professional and friendly.
Sophie, Andrea, Nana, Seamus, Patrick, Kosta and the front of house team at reception were always smiling and helpful.

I will definitely be back there to stay especially as there as upgrades going on all the time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Olayinka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and for awarding the hotel 5 stars. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much and in particular, thank you for remembering the names of all the staff who looked after you. They will all receive a copy of your review, as you can imagine, this is great motivation for our teams in the Brasserie and Front Office when they are specially mentioned by a guest. When you return next time everyone will be looking forward to welcoming you . Thank you very much once again and we hope to see you soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the Copthorne Hotel prior to a visit to USA flying from Gatwick Airport. We left our vehicle at the hotel for the duration of our trip abroad. We spent the night before our flight at the hotel, enjoyed at walk in the beautiful grounds, dinner in the Lion D'Or restaurant, a comfortable room and made use of the Airport transfer the following morning. On our return to the UK we again made use of the Airport transfer arranged by the hotel all of which went without a hitch. We shall be using the Copthorne Hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 838SSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you very much once again for your fantastic review of our hotel, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, your holiday and that all went well with your transfers to the airport. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time, so thank you once again for awarding us 5 stars.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Whenever we travel from Gatwick, but especially on long hauls, we stay overnight at this hotel. The price for the accommodation and the relevant eight or fourteen nights parking, is often less than just the parking elsewhere!
The rooms are more than adequate, the breakfasts sustaining and the Lion d'Or a competent, if rather pricey, place to have an evening meal. The waiters there are particularly welcoming.
We will be staying there again in November and leaving in the morning for Antigua which happens to be my wife's birthday - a perfect way to start a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Ground floor best and try to be not too far down the long corridors with heavy luggage in tow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Healeyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review. We were very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you propose to return in November for your wife's birthday and your holiday to Antigua. When you make your booking for November please remind us so we can make sure we allocate your room for this special occasion. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed the Lion D'or Restaurant and found your overall stay and parking package offered good value. Thank you once again for sparing the time to post a review which we found most informative.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing