We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked a room via a Gatwick hotel/parking website, thinking this 4 star hotel would be suitable after reading the descriptions. It certainly was not, and certainly not 4 star at all.

The room we had was a huge distance from reception, and on arrival it was utterly outdated and disappointing. I genuinely don't know how these rooms have a 4 star rating - with a view over the car storage lot at the rear of the hotel, single glazed windows that open about an inch on broken fixtures, ancient noisy aircon that does not work at all, really dated bits of furniture, dated TV and TV unit, shabby small bed, bathroom circa 1965. Plus practical points, no room safe, no mini bar/in room fridge.

So we complained, and asked to change rooms - the duty manager was very polite and helpful - he showed as another identical room (except no view of the parking lot), otherwise the same, and also offered us the option of a £20 upgrade to a business room, which would include breakfast and some free crisps.

The business room was ever so slightly better, in so much as the furniture - weird fitted units from the 70's - was actually slightly better, giving the room a marginally nicer feel. But, the noisy aircon from a long-forgotten industrial age still did not work. Se we opened the window the 2mm it would allow. The crisps were the best bit, in fact.

On paper, the hotel sounds ok - gardens, a pub, a gym - in reality, these are all really poor - the attractive looking pub (outside) has no warmth or ambience whatsoever, the gardens are pretty dreary. We didn't try the gym, but it may be ok as it's run by a separate company.

There were some good points - the staff were quite good and helpful, and the food was actually pretty good, breakfast was good, too.

I have looked at some traveller pictures of the hotel, and it did appear to me that if you happen to book via an intermediary website at an 'offer' price, as we did, you get the worst rooms that I have described. It does look like there may be some decent rooms at the hotel, but we didn't get to see these to comment.

Overall we felt mislead by the hotel description - this hotel did not have what you expect of a 4 star hotel - and really disappointed with hotel and its accommodation - it really needs updating.

Safe to say we won't be back, with so many better options in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to construct such an informative review. We are naturally very sorry how disappointed you felt with standard of our rooms. Please note the manner in which you made your booking i.e. through another agent or website should have no reflection on the type of room allocated. We were naturally glad you were well looked after by our staff and that you were offered an alternative room. We were concerned about your comments regarding our TVs as we have recently installed updated flat screen TVs in all our rooms. Once again, we are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. Many guests compliment us on our gardens which lead out from the conservatory, also our Japanese courtyard garden. We wish to assure you your comments will be passed on and viewed and discussed by our management team, so thank you once again for taking the time.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    506
    290
    159
    127
See reviews for
224
765
66
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night ...with parking for 8 days while away. Room very clean comfortable bed tea and coffee available. Had a good meal at the pub attattched to hotel. The whole hotel had a lovely atmosphere. Was good value for the money paid

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank south35byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice words, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for awarding the hotel 5 stars, that is great thank you. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We booked this hotel for one night and the car for a week. Easy to find, olde world buildings and lovely location. We booked in and were shown to an annex opposite reception. We were stunned the room was really small, well worn and tired out. The decor was like the kitchens you bought in the 60's and had no ventilation system. Back to reception, and it was suggested we upgrade to a better room. I was not very impressed with this but on seeing the new room I agreed because our trip was all a surprise for my wife. Our new room was excellent easily twice the size, including the bed and fairly new. We had pre-booked a meal in the restaurant as part of the package. It was a beautiful evening so we sat in the beer garden for a pre-dinner drink, very pleasant indeed. We then went to the restaurant and were shown to our table. The restaurant, staff and food were excellent. Breakfast was buffet style and a bit manic but the food was good. Its a pity that the stay started of like it did but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Beware of the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and for awarding your stay 5 stars, thank you so much. I am very glad you were moved to a more spacious room and that you had a lovely evening, I do hope your wife enjoyed her surprise. Hopefully, you will return to us in the future, thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Chose to stay near Gatwick night before our holiday to avoid M25 on Monday morning. Arrival check-in efficient.
Room a long way from reception with two cases and up a flight of stairs. It would have been helpful to know this so that we could have asked for help.
Decided to have a meal in the hotel at the Inn. After waiting a long time we were presented with fish dinners that were burnt and inedible and also part of the meal ie peas missing. I only mention this as I cannot believe a hotel like this does not have any peas - still I get distracted!!.
Needless to say we did not eat our meal and retired to our room having made our complaints to the duty manager en route. We were persuaded to try room service with a free drink each. Our second meals arrived with apologies but I would only rate these as average.
Room very dark and no decaff coffee but by now our expectations were low and the chaotic checkout did not disappoint.
The shuttle service was late arriving and was a well worn, dirty people carrier.
With such a competitive market in stay and park around the airport we will certainly look elsewhere next time

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am very sorry several aspects of your stay contributed to a disappointing experience which you have kindly fed back to us. I am sorry your meals were also disappointing and wish to assure you that your comments have been fed through to our Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. We can see that overall your stay did not meet your expectations, we are extremely sorry. We normally receive very positive feedback from our guests, however we wish to thank you very much for your valuable comments.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmrcardiff
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here prior to flight. Booked a suite. Fabulous room, four poster, large room, additional beds, seating area. Staff great, food reasonable. Price very competitive. What's not to like. Booking to stay here when we fly later in the year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gmrcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are SO GLAD you had such a nice time and enjoyed your suite. Thank you very much for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, that is fanatastic, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I really have no idea how anyone has anything nice to say about this hotel. It's an absolute dump. The grounds are pretty and I liked the features, along with the soft bedding and mattress. However it stops right there. Upon booking this room through the website I was convinced that I had selected a double room - confirmation came through as twin. Asked at check in - no doubles were available, however the upgrade was conveniently available. I heard next door dragging items around, and upstairs - blatantly no doubles. I didn't sleep a wink - if it wasn't for suitcases being dragged up against the wall all night, chatting and phone calls through the paper thin walls, or the sheer inconsideration for others from other guests it could have been okay. I put the do not disturb sign on the door - only for the maid to walk in. The room was beyond tatty - faulty towers is it's new nickname. The restaurant was a joke - I ordered a "fresh" pizza. 40 mins later a rock hard thawed out pizza arrived. I can safely say that it was the most disgusting pizza that I have eaten, actually it was the worst meal, served in a pizza box. Hilarious. I wished it was a takeaway pizza from Pizza Hut. They didn't offer any condiments, just walked straight off, and I had to loiter outside the kitchen door until they had seen me to ask. Shower was pathetic - worse than rain water, water was nonexistent. I could go on - please save yourself £100 a night, this place was shocking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelKelly7487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry so many areas of your stay were so disappointing. Feedback from our guests is normally very positive so you can imagine we are upset when we receive comments such as yours. Please be assured your feedback will be shared with the management team.
Thank you once again for taking the time.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of April 2014. We were a travelling team consisting of 33 children (12 yr olds) and 24 adults. We were quoted a very competitive bed, breakfast and evening meal deal for the two nights. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after by all the hotel staff. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. All the room keys were ready in alphabetical order when we arrived so that we could very easily distribute them to the group. Meals were served buffet style with a very high standard of food, with at least 3 choices of main courses and desserts. The hotel is very comfortable with plenty of outdoor space for children to run around. Hotel guests also get access to the adjacent gym/swimming pool. All parents that travelled were very impressed with all the hotel had to offer and said they would certainly come back to stay again. Having been in charge of co-ordinating the trip for the group, it was a pleasure to deal with the group reservations manager who answered all queries, provided sample menus and put all arrangements in place in a very efficient manner. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review, please accept our apologies for the delay in responding - it is so kind of you to have awarded your stay with us 5 stars - thank you so much. We loved having you and the children to stay (not really children, 12 year olds) and just so glad you were very happy with everything. Hopefully we may look forward to your next visit and thank you once again for such nice words.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing