We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed before a long haul flight. We arrived on a sunny afternoon & instantly started to relax. The courtesy bus stop times from Gatwick were a little confusing but luckily our travel agents details were correct. Although described as an "airport" hotel. it was actually quite far away, about 15 minutes in the mini bus, which meant it was very quiet and in beautifully kept grounds.We managed to use the pool at the adjoining spa, which was lovely. We disliked being asked to upgrade our room, on arrival, for wi-fi & extras which should have come as standard. We went out to relations for dinner, breakfast was busy but efficient & delicious. We felt it was a great start to our vacation

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We are actually exactly 4 miles from the airport, as you say, it is very quiet and peaceful. Our staff ask all guests if they wish to upgrade their rooms on arrival, we hope you did not feel pressurised to do so, we just like to make sure everyone is aware of the different types of rooms we have. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time and thank you once again.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    531
    311
    167
    133
See reviews for
236
800
69
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely oldy worldy hotel situated in well kept and manicured grounds overlooking beautiful gardens.
The staff are to be commended for their committment to a high standard of customer care and satisfaction.
The welcome is always a pleasure to receive and service is second to none.
This place definitely is value for money and time well spent. It's tranquil and peaceful, relaxing and has a romantic setting for a great dining experience.
We will definitely be returning with friends and family members.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your really nice words about our hotel and the staff as well as the surroundings. We are so glad you had a nice time. You would never think we are only 4 miles from the airport ! Hoping you have had a good trip and that it wont be long until you are back with us.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigmore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed again at the hotel on 11 March 2014 for one night before flying from Gatwick the next morning. Staff very friendly and as usual good service although drinks at bar still very expensive.
Had our evening dinner in the buffet restaurant good value for money.Bedroom very clean and plenty of fresh towels and toiletries.Taxi service to the airport arranged by the hotel on time and not too pricey. Overall well worth staying at the hotel and will use this service again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review, we were so glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's surroundings and services. It is so nice for us to read and hear comments such as this, also that you were well looked after by our staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Another over night stay before a long haul flight, with car parking on site.....booked on line months before.....Arrived at the hotel, check in swift no complications, polite staff as always.
Room was on next floor and a bit of a trek, but the room was top class, decorated to a high standard and had all we needed for our stay.
Grounds had undergone a tidy up since our last stay and they looked great in the spring sunshine, bushes flowering while the birds sang. Checked out the menus and bars, still choice to eat or where you wish to eat, from the Swan pub, conservatory area, library bar, or the nice restaurant...We had a Bottle of the not overly priced wine sitting in the garden, then ate in the library bar in the evening.....again food was top class, service A1, setting awesome.....Took taxi to airport next morning for same price as shuttle bus, used taxi on return 2 weeks later same price again.....I cannot fault this hotel and the staff who run it.....Well done....and thanks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. Thank you very much for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is great, thank you so much. Once again, we are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and the hotel and that all went well for your transfers to the airport. We are very lucky to be only 4 miles from the airport and yet in the countryside. Hopefully, see you again very soon.
Best wishes and thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were helpful in arranging our transfer to the airport. The food and service in the restaurant were very good. The fly in the ointment - the meanest of cafes offers free Wi-Fi - why on earth do they charge £5?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryAla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. I am sorry you were upset to be charged for wi fi. This is a service we have always charged for and is part of our company polic. I am very sorry you expected this service to be free. I do believe you will find other hotels located around the airport also charge in line with ourselves. We are naturally very glad other aspects of your stay were enjoyable and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked a room via a Gatwick hotel/parking website, thinking this 4 star hotel would be suitable after reading the descriptions. It certainly was not, and certainly not 4 star at all.

The room we had was a huge distance from reception, and on arrival it was utterly outdated and disappointing. I genuinely don't know how these rooms have a 4 star rating - with a view over the car storage lot at the rear of the hotel, single glazed windows that open about an inch on broken fixtures, ancient noisy aircon that does not work at all, really dated bits of furniture, dated TV and TV unit, shabby small bed, bathroom circa 1965. Plus practical points, no room safe, no mini bar/in room fridge.

So we complained, and asked to change rooms - the duty manager was very polite and helpful - he showed as another identical room (except no view of the parking lot), otherwise the same, and also offered us the option of a £20 upgrade to a business room, which would include breakfast and some free crisps.

The business room was ever so slightly better, in so much as the furniture - weird fitted units from the 70's - was actually slightly better, giving the room a marginally nicer feel. But, the noisy aircon from a long-forgotten industrial age still did not work. Se we opened the window the 2mm it would allow. The crisps were the best bit, in fact.

On paper, the hotel sounds ok - gardens, a pub, a gym - in reality, these are all really poor - the attractive looking pub (outside) has no warmth or ambience whatsoever, the gardens are pretty dreary. We didn't try the gym, but it may be ok as it's run by a separate company.

There were some good points - the staff were quite good and helpful, and the food was actually pretty good, breakfast was good, too.

I have looked at some traveller pictures of the hotel, and it did appear to me that if you happen to book via an intermediary website at an 'offer' price, as we did, you get the worst rooms that I have described. It does look like there may be some decent rooms at the hotel, but we didn't get to see these to comment.

Overall we felt mislead by the hotel description - this hotel did not have what you expect of a 4 star hotel - and really disappointed with hotel and its accommodation - it really needs updating.

Safe to say we won't be back, with so many better options in that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to construct such an informative review. We are naturally very sorry how disappointed you felt with standard of our rooms. Please note the manner in which you made your booking i.e. through another agent or website should have no reflection on the type of room allocated. We were naturally glad you were well looked after by our staff and that you were offered an alternative room. We were concerned about your comments regarding our TVs as we have recently installed updated flat screen TVs in all our rooms. Once again, we are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. Many guests compliment us on our gardens which lead out from the conservatory, also our Japanese courtyard garden. We wish to assure you your comments will be passed on and viewed and discussed by our management team, so thank you once again for taking the time.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

england
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night ...with parking for 8 days while away. Room very clean comfortable bed tea and coffee available. Had a good meal at the pub attattched to hotel. The whole hotel had a lovely atmosphere. Was good value for the money paid

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank south35byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you so much for your nice words, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for awarding the hotel 5 stars, that is great thank you. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing