We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gatwick hotel with non chain hotel feel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
sussex england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gatwick hotel with non chain hotel feel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel, booked by my company a few times now. The rooms are a good size, they are clean and comfortable. The staff are all helpful. Yesterday I stayed for one night, my room had twin beds, I went back to reception and asked if I could have a double bed, changed in 2 minutes no problem. Last time I ordered room service, the menu is a bit boring so asked if I could have something from one of the restaurants. I was told he needed to check, rung me straight back and lovely food was sent up very quickly from the restaurant. Yesterday I ate in the restaurant, lovely service and food. Holiday Inn and Best Western please take note, you are not a patch on this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the old part, on the 2nd floor, the room I last had was ground floor and overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zarkava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your complimentary review of our hotel and also for awarding us the top level of 5 stars, that is great, thank you. Yes, the rooms in the old part of the hotel or main building are just like home from home. We are so glad our staff were nice and flexible and able to provide you with food from the restaurant in your room. Customer service is our most important area, all our staff observe this and want to help our guests in whatever way they can.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    507
    291
    159
    128
See reviews for
224
766
67
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Copthorne before travelling to Gatwick airport the following morning and found the rates very reasonable for 2 rooms and parking.
The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated but it is very difficult struggling with suitcases up stairs- no lift!
This is our 3rd visit to the hotel and last year enjoyed a lovely meal in the pub area within the hotel but this time none of the staff seemed to know what they were doing. The drinks took ages to be sorted and I was served my drink in a pint glass, I was not drinking beer! We ordered fish and chips and mushy peas and when the food eventually arrived there were no mushy peas. We queried this and were told the kitchen had run out of them but they had not told the waiter! The food also was only just warm. As I said no one seemed to know what they were doing.
When we returned from holiday our car was parked at the front of the hotel ready for us so that was good.
We would still use the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernsoftie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and that you have stayed with us before. We have naturally passed your comments regarding your meal on to our Chef and Food & Beverage Manager. Please accept our sincere apologies. We normally receive compliments regarding our food and service, we can only assume there may have been some new staff looking after you. Whichever way, this is very unusuall and we are very sorry as our food and customer service level is extremely high.
Thank you anyway for taking the time to post a review.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Really nice hotel, setting, inside well furnished. Staff very welcoming if not knowledgeable. Room was very nice and more than adequate. Restaurant very nice, but food and wine average. We used the leisure facilities which were run by a different company and made a feedback comment that the pool was dirty with a thick dark brown grease mark all the way around the top edge. It was possible to scrape it off where it was so thick. No acknowledgement received on our feedback questionnaire.

However, on our return from holiday and on collecting our car that had been left in the care of the hotel, we found scratches on the offside mirror that was definitely not there when we parked the car. We pointed this out, and one of the staff took photographed the damage and told us someone would be in touch with us regarding the incident. After a week we twice tried to contact them and finally received an email to say that as no member of staff could confirm this damage had occurred whilst the car was in their care, they were sorry they were not responsible in any way and that was the end of the matter. We felt that the hotel was making us to be liars. Its left a bad taste in our mouth and although it is convenient for Gatwick Airport, we will not be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review. While we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel, we are very sorry about the damage to your wing mirror. I beleive you will find nearly all the hotels near the airport offer car parking and have an "open" car park which is used by other hotel guests and members of the public using the hotel. I am very sorry but in a situation such as this we cannot be held responsible, however, we do appreciate how upset you felt. I am very sorry if this isolated incident has deterred you from staying with us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Copthorne the night before catching an early flight from Gatwick. The staff all made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. There was plenty of choice of where and what to eat at different price points - we chose a bar snack from a comprehensive menu. A highlight for us was that we could sit outside on the lawn in the late afternoon sunshine and wander round the grounds and garden.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Banhadlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your very nice words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's surroundings. Thank you also for awarding us 5 stars, that is great news, thank you.
We are so lucky to have beautiful gardens to enjoy and yet we are only 4 miles or 10 minutes from the airport. We hope to welcome you back next time, thank you once again.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Hotel is well located for Gatwick and the rooms and facilities are good. Unfortunately when I returned from holiday my car was damaged. The staff were very understanding and took photos of the damage. I was advised that the hotels CCTV would be checked and even told by a member of staff that the hotels insurance would take care of it.
A week on I received an email from the hotel to tell me that they were sorry but they had not been able to find out what had happened and they hoped my car could be repaired under the cost of my insurance. There website T&Cs makes no mention of parking at your own risk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry about your car being damaged. This occurred when your car had been brought round from our long term car park to our pick up car park. Unfortunately, under the circumstances we were unable to accept responsibility as your car must have been damaged by another vehicle parked alongside. We are very sorry you returned from holiday to this damage. It is something that might happen in a big, busy car park and I am very sorry we could not help you. I wish to add this is a very unusual occurrence.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed before a long haul flight. We arrived on a sunny afternoon & instantly started to relax. The courtesy bus stop times from Gatwick were a little confusing but luckily our travel agents details were correct. Although described as an "airport" hotel. it was actually quite far away, about 15 minutes in the mini bus, which meant it was very quiet and in beautifully kept grounds.We managed to use the pool at the adjoining spa, which was lovely. We disliked being asked to upgrade our room, on arrival, for wi-fi & extras which should have come as standard. We went out to relations for dinner, breakfast was busy but efficient & delicious. We felt it was a great start to our vacation

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review. We were very glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We are actually exactly 4 miles from the airport, as you say, it is very quiet and peaceful. Our staff ask all guests if they wish to upgrade their rooms on arrival, we hope you did not feel pressurised to do so, we just like to make sure everyone is aware of the different types of rooms we have. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time and thank you once again.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely oldy worldy hotel situated in well kept and manicured grounds overlooking beautiful gardens.
The staff are to be commended for their committment to a high standard of customer care and satisfaction.
The welcome is always a pleasure to receive and service is second to none.
This place definitely is value for money and time well spent. It's tranquil and peaceful, relaxing and has a romantic setting for a great dining experience.
We will definitely be returning with friends and family members.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonJ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you so much for your really nice words about our hotel and the staff as well as the surroundings. We are so glad you had a nice time. You would never think we are only 4 miles from the airport ! Hoping you have had a good trip and that it wont be long until you are back with us.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing