We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to start the holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took advantage of the park and stay package - We arrived and had a drink and a Pizza ( warning Very large) and started to chill into the beginning of the holiday.
They prebooked the taxi for 0315 and it arrived on time and was there when we returned.
definately a hassle free way to start the holiday and we would definately do this again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane01030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay (and the pizza !) and that all went well with your transfers to the airport etc. Hopefully, we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
With kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed with friends both prior and on return from flights to Vienna. Parked the car here for 10 days and used Crawley Taxis for travel to and from airport. We booked a club room as advance purchase at very good rate including breakfast. Rooms very comfortable but maybe furniture looking a litte tired but that did not detract from stay.

Breakfast was very good with Gluten free bread available which suited my wife. We had dinner in the Lion D'Or restaurant on our last night which was superb.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: club rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review following your stay with us prior to your trip to Vienna. As you can imagine, it is fantastic when a guest awards 5 stars for their stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your meals and the surroundings we offer, also that you were well looked after by our staff. We hope you had a wonderful holiday in Vienna and that we may look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel soon.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Margaret our Nan is 80 years old in a few days time so we booked afternoon tea for her as a suprise at The Copthorne Hotel in Copthorne, Sussex. Family and friends turned up early and suprised Nan when she walked out into the gardens. We all had a wonderful afternoon, the hotel provided sandwichs and cakes that were delicious. Tea and coffes was served at our tables. The Birthday cake was brought out and candles lit ready for Nan to make a wish. It was all very nice and the staff most attentive and responsive to our requests.

Thank you so very much for making our afternoon with Nan so wonderful, special mention to Dan you managed the event faultlessly on behalf of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2005paulbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you very much for your kindest words following your nan's surprise birthday tea with us here at the Copthorne Hotel. We were so glad to read all your family had such a nice time and it was a wonderful day for your nan. Please be sure to wish her happy birthday from all the staff at the hotel. Thank you very much for awarding us five stars, that is fantastic, thank you. Hopefully, there will be another family occasion soon and you will return to us.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

1 night stay with airport parking incl 2 course dinner for 2, the hotel is large and we'll located to airport, staff efficient and transfers easy to airport, rooms clean and dinner was reasonable. Ideal for our needs.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you very much indeed for posting your review following your stay with us. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and location to be enjoyable. We are very fortunate to have some beautiful surroundings and yet we are only 10 minutes from the airport. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Hoping you had a most enjoyable holiday.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel has a charming old county club look about it. The grounds are very pretty and the room was very nice. The check in was slightly longer than it needed to have been, due to the receptionist asking us quite a few times, if we wanted to upgrade our room or pay for internet. We also needed to give and spell out our whole address instead of just having to give the usual postcode and number.

We did not check in until late so did not get chance to use the sports club facilities but did walk around there and they looked very nice.

Our room was a bit of a walk from reception down a few winding corridors, this was not a problem for us as we do not have any disabilities, and had suitcases with wheels. If you do have any disability it might be worth mentioning it when you book so that you do not get a room too far away.

The 'pub' looks charming from the outside but from the inside is not quite as nice. The bar man was not very friendly. The food was ok. The omelettes were quite thin and unimpressive. We did not have pizza but the lady behind us seemed to be surprised to have hers delivered to her table in box. There are other places to eat within the hotel and we will try one of those next time as they looked really nice.

The parking was very convenient, we parked in the large car park and picked up the car again at the end of our trip. We got a taxi from the hotel to the airport and back again at a cost of ten pounds each way. We could have used the hotel transport at four pounds fifty each, each way but the taxi was more convenient for our early start. However the transport does start early and is very frequent. The time to Gatwick South from the hotel by taxi was about fifteen minutes, as the traffic was quite light.

Our room and bathroom was lovely and clean. The bath was super small, you would have to be a child or very short to enjoy a bath in it, but the shower was good. There was no shower cap in the bathroom which was a shame as I had forgotten mine and did not want to wash my hair as it was quite late by the time I had a shower. The bed was very comfortable.

Overall a very nice hotel, we will stay there again, and hopefully get there a bit earlier so that we can use the pool. Good value, pleasant accommodation, a good start to any holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your very informative review. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your details which are only very helpful to other guests. We just have a ground floor and an upper floor, we can always allocate rooms on the ground floor close to reception for anyone who might have problems walking. We have noted your comments regarding the food in our White Swan, some guests love to have the pizza in a box so they can take it outside into the gardens if the weather is nice.
We hope you have had a most enjoyable trip and wish to thank you once again for your very detailed review.
Hoping to welcome you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a treat it was to spend a night in the Copthorne Gatwick hotel before a long flight. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel valued and welcome. The young woman on reception was skilfully dealing with a slightly difficult situation, putting the guest at ease and smoothing troubled waters by finding an acceptable solution to the woman's concerns. I should hasten to add that there were not of the hotel's making. We were offered help with our baggage and a full explanation of the hotel' amenities. Our room was very large and extremely comfortable, with all the complementary toiletries, tea, coffee milk etc. the hotel was busy, but our room was quiet and we enjoyed an excellent night's sleep. Our evening meal in the restaurant was delicious and beautifully presented, served by courteous and competent staff. I recommend that you book a table, as most quickly filled up. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the food, which was exactly the right combination of familiar with that special, individual touch. Quantities were just right. In the morning our taxi arrived promptly, affording an excellent start to our journey. The bonus is that parking is provided for the duration of our holiday. We happened to spot the valet driving and parking our car with care and attention. We also noticed excellent staff training and close managerial supervision. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your complimentary review and particularly for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, thank you ! You appeared to enjoy every aspect of your stay, your accommodation, dinner and services, so thank you once again for your constructive comments and compliments.
We hope you had a wonderful holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stay every year when visiting family. This was our 3rd visit and as always it was fantastic!! Lovely, large room! Excellent food!! Friendly, attentive and hard working staff!!!! The reception staff are very experienced and check in/out always runs smoothly, the bar and restaurant staff really are top class! We had an excellent meal in Lion D'or, beautiful food and excellent service. We always feel very at home in the hotel, lovely bars to relax in. We will be back again next year for certain!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amylshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your recent review following your stay with us during your visit to family. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay once more and that you were well looked after by our staff. Thank you also for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, that is fantastic. We hope you have had a safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.
With thanks and kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £59 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing