We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay with parking included”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Lichfield
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Very good stay with parking included”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Quite impressed with the Copthorne hotel. Check in was quick and easy and the free parking was organised and explained, dead easy, just fill in a form and hand in your keys.
The room was decent and clean, the bed was nice and comfy and there are tea and coffee making facilities and also satellite TV.
We ate at the Swan inn attached to the hotel and the food was good but a little expensive for what it was.
The only down side to the hotel was the surcharge for internet connection, this is really a basic amenity in a hotel these days - we knew about it before we came as it was clearly stated on the booking confirmation but still, make it free!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnpritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for posting a review following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read your comments and how much you enjoyed your overall stay and found our parking procedures etc. all very straight forward. It is our company policy to charge for internet connection, I am sorry you seemed surprised about this charge. As you say, we do try to advise all guests in advance whether they book via the website or direct with the hotel. Please be assured your comments will be noted by our management. We very much hope you will return to us in the future, hoping you had a wonderful trip and returned home safely.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    513
    297
    161
    129
See reviews for
229
774
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a lovely place to stay. The buildings are really nice and interesting. The value for money isn't too bad. I can highly recommend eating here, both in the restaurant and the brasserie. The breakfast was fantastic. I was very impressed with the friendly, helpful and reliable staff in all areas.
Where I was very disappointed was the total poor quality of wifi. It was virtually non existent even in the bars and reception areas. As for the rooms, there was no wifi connectivity. Very poor.
I felt the hotel also let itself down with the tile repairs in the bathroom in my 'Club' room. Very poor repairs undertaken and in a facility of such high class.
I may stay again, but I felt let down. Shame.
A final note. There is 'secure' 'barriered' parking but the barriers were up all Saturday evening and through to Sunday morning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were very glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay although some areas let us down. We are very fortunate to have such a lovely building, parts date back to the 16th century, years ago the main building was a farm house. We are so sorry about the poor wifi connection you experienced, we are currently investigating this and looking at various options in order to improve the service, our sincere apologies. We have noted and asked our Chief Engineer to look into the tiling in your bathroom, as you say, for a Club room this workmanship is not acceptable. Lastly, regarding the barriers being open, we can control these from our Front Desk, we occasionally leave them open if we have a function taking place and there is a lot of traffic going to and fro, we completely understand your concerns regarding security if the barriers are open. Please be assured your comments have been passed to the Manager concerned. We do hope you will return to us in the future.
Thank you once again for your valuable comments.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although my stay was for only one night, I was impressed by the quality of the hotel and facilities.
I couldn't fault the room or the various restaurants. Even the bar food was excellent and I am hoping to stay again soon.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your nice words following your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed the hotel and the surroundings. Thank you also for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is great news and will be shared with all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took advantage of the park and stay package - We arrived and had a drink and a Pizza ( warning Very large) and started to chill into the beginning of the holiday.
They prebooked the taxi for 0315 and it arrived on time and was there when we returned.
definately a hassle free way to start the holiday and we would definately do this again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane01030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay (and the pizza !) and that all went well with your transfers to the airport etc. Hopefully, we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
With kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed with friends both prior and on return from flights to Vienna. Parked the car here for 10 days and used Crawley Taxis for travel to and from airport. We booked a club room as advance purchase at very good rate including breakfast. Rooms very comfortable but maybe furniture looking a litte tired but that did not detract from stay.

Breakfast was very good with Gluten free bread available which suited my wife. We had dinner in the Lion D'Or restaurant on our last night which was superb.

Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: club rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review following your stay with us prior to your trip to Vienna. As you can imagine, it is fantastic when a guest awards 5 stars for their stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed your meals and the surroundings we offer, also that you were well looked after by our staff. We hope you had a wonderful holiday in Vienna and that we may look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel soon.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Margaret our Nan is 80 years old in a few days time so we booked afternoon tea for her as a suprise at The Copthorne Hotel in Copthorne, Sussex. Family and friends turned up early and suprised Nan when she walked out into the gardens. We all had a wonderful afternoon, the hotel provided sandwichs and cakes that were delicious. Tea and coffes was served at our tables. The Birthday cake was brought out and candles lit ready for Nan to make a wish. It was all very nice and the staff most attentive and responsive to our requests.

Thank you so very much for making our afternoon with Nan so wonderful, special mention to Dan you managed the event faultlessly on behalf of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2005paulbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kindest words following your nan's surprise birthday tea with us here at the Copthorne Hotel. We were so glad to read all your family had such a nice time and it was a wonderful day for your nan. Please be sure to wish her happy birthday from all the staff at the hotel. Thank you very much for awarding us five stars, that is fantastic, thank you. Hopefully, there will be another family occasion soon and you will return to us.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

1 night stay with airport parking incl 2 course dinner for 2, the hotel is large and we'll located to airport, staff efficient and transfers easy to airport, rooms clean and dinner was reasonable. Ideal for our needs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much indeed for posting your review following your stay with us. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel and location to be enjoyable. We are very fortunate to have some beautiful surroundings and yet we are only 10 minutes from the airport. We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Hoping you had a most enjoyable holiday.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing