We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice big hotel near airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Nice big hotel near airport”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stopped here at the start and finish off our holiday flight times not good and its 200 miles back to Sheffield,our stay here was very nice the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was very good, it came with parking this a great way to travel
My only compliant the first bedroom we had smelled i guess cresote due to alot the construction being what looks like old railway sleepers, they did move us rooms but thought it strange

Room Tip: great for Gatwick and with inclusive parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stays as part of your holiday. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed yourselves and were well looked after by our staff. Regarding the smell you noticed, we can only think this may have been due to some wood preservative which was used some time ago and if the weather is warm it becomes more noticeable, we are very sorry you had this inconvenience. Thank you once again for your nice words and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    512
    296
    161
    129
See reviews for
229
772
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before our early morning flight at Gatwick. We found the hotel excellent all round - lovely rooms, easy check in and parking, lovely pub for evening drinks and the taxi transfer to and from the hotel went smoothly-no problems at all- we would definitely use this hotel again without a doubt

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us before your flight. Thank you also for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is fantastic. We are so glad everything went well with your stay and your transfers to the airport. Hoping you had a wonderful holiday and that we may look foward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the copthorne the night before we travelled to mexico and had a lovely night.
Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room and initially we said no because we had paid £150 already but went back and upgraded.
It was £30 extra to upgrade which i thought was a good deal really as we always have a breakfast in the airport before we fly which costs us on average £10 each.
You can eat what you want in the breakfast and we didnt eat again until food came around on the flight.
Also in the price you get a bigger bed, free wifi and a nights car parking but we didnt need this as we had booked the car in for 12 days.
1 of the reasons for staying here was the swimming pool but we did not use it after all because we booked a meal in the restaurant and was too late.
The meal was included in the room price and was 3 courses. It was a fantastic meal.

Room Tip: Upgrade upon arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your review and your nice words. Comments such as yours are informative and helpful to other guests so thank you very much and also thank you for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, that is fantastic. We hope your holiday in Mexico was just as nice ! Yes, a £30.00 upgrade is very well worth considering as it includes breakfast and wifi, many of our guests decide to take up this offer, as you say, you dont need to worry about food when you are at the airport then. We hope you had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel for people to stay in. The food is at an excellent standard. The rural setting is better than being in the centre of Crawley or Gatwick.There is a relaxed ambience in the evening to relax and unwind in the resturants and bar areas.The staff were all friendly and helpful. My only gripe was that the room was dated but this did not affect my stay. The bed was amazing in the Club room - very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for posting your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our surrounding pleasant and relaxing and yet we are only 4 miles from the airport. All guest comments are shared with our staff so thank you once again and for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, we hope it will not be long before we see you again.
Very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here a few years back and again in January this year and are about to book again for our holiday in September! We were offered a £30 room upgrade on check in which we took and were very pleased we did, the upgraded room was fresh and a great size, also we had a nice breakfast and wifi chucked in with the deal!! The location is great and at just under £10 for a taxi to the airport we were very pleased, for a reasonably priced hotel close to gatwick this is as good as it gets I would suggest !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were so glad to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and found our location to be convenient for the airport. Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars for your stay, this is the top mark, thank you. Hopefully, we will welcome you back again soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Two nights in a suite to visit local National Trust locations.Why go elsewhere?
Dinner was also good.Judith Campbell Administration Manager must be the best help in the world & great credit to any top hotel.

Room Tip: Room 303 Knickerbocker Suite
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review following your stay with us while visiting National Trust properties. We are so glad you enjoyed your return stay with us and that you were well looked after by our staff, thank you very much for your nice words regarding our staff member, Judith. We believe you had lovely weather as well during your stay. Of course, it goes without saying we are so looking forward to welcoming you back next time and thank you so much for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is fantastic.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed overnight to be close to Gatwick Airport and found the staff to be pleasant, the room comfortable and the food offered to be very good indeed. We ate an evening meal in the Brasserie -nothing was too much trouble for the waiters and waitresses and the set-price menu (choice of 1 - 3 courses) was tasty, well-cooked and substantial. The desserts in particular all looked delicious but the chef's vanilla panna cotta with chocolate topping and the raspberry cheesecake were perfect. Great start (or finish) to a holiday. We will be using the Copthorne again.

Room Tip: A room upgrade gives you some good extras at a modest cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidFJ8127CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for posting your review of our hotel and your stay with us. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Your review has just been circulated to all our department heads so everyone will see your comments including our chef.
Thank you so much for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is fantastic. We hope you have had a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing