We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR SERVICE ALL THE WAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 9 July 2014

stayed here between 5th and 7th July 2014. Accomodation great, with comfy bed and pillows. Staff very helpful, nothing was a problem. Breakfast was lovely with many choices, cold and hot food.Lovely setting for hotel .Near motorway and Gatwick Airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jeanLochwinnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review following your stay with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and thank you also for awarding your stay 5 stars which is the highest mark, our staff will be so pleased. Thank you. We hope you went on to have a lovely trip and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you need accommodation near Gatwick.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,595)
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here the other day for a wedding and stayed in a "Club Room", which is supposed to be a premium standard of room. First of all I found the check-in service poor, particularly the check-in supervisor, "Sophie", the reasons for this I won't go into as it's complicated and involves details of the wedding reception but she was not very helpful and either intentionally or not, did not give us the 2 complimentary drinks vouchers we were entitled to with the room, we were not made aware that we were entitled to, or even that there was a spa for use.

Our first impressions of the room were not good! First of all the awful smell of what I can only describe as "wet dog smell" reeked throughout, and the sheets and towels stank too! The room itself and the hotel generally looks like it has been allowed to remain unchanged for many years and looks in need of updating/modernisation. The room appliances like the phones and hairdryers look about 30 years old, and the furniture including old fashioned TV cabinet look 20-30 years old too! As do the discoloured/faded wall pictures! I was rather pleased to find no hairs in the bed, however the bed was quite shockingly lacking a mattress protector! The one on the bed was the size of a single and just plonked in the centre as if we wouldn't notice! The bathroom was dark, dingy and run down looking, the grouting on the tiles looked as though done by cowboys and the radiator rusty/worn with electrical wires exposed! I'd be very surprised if we didn't wake people up that night as the wardrobe was VERY loud and needing some oil!

In the morning I was not even able to wash properly due to the very crappy shower which barely trickled out water. And tried to phone reception in the morning to ask what time breakfast was but no answer for over a minute so we gave up! Very poor, aren't phones supposed to be answered within 10 seconds?

Anyway, breakfast... Very very very poor quality! Literally a limited selection of Sodexo/Eurest £2 quality worker canteen food, disgusting! And as vegetarians we were disappointed to learn that we were not catered for! Also for some reason the "orange juice" tasted like orange squash! so it had either been watered down or mixed with squash! Absolutely pathetic for a so called 4 star spa hotel! And to think for room only rates they were charging £12 for this inedible crap! Also the staff in the breakfast room were very rude to us!

On check out we were not asked about our stay and the guy tried to charge us an extra £5, claiming that we had an outstanding balance on the room rate, the validated parking ticket didn't work on exit at the barriers, and when we pressed the help button all I heard was two staff chatting amongst themselves before the barrier opened, didn't even acknowledge me!

Either way I DON'T recommend this hotel to anyone, and considering the prices, over £140 a night for the "club" room, this place is an absolute joke and utter rip off! Stay somewhere else, unless you want to be disappointed and waste good money...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy so many aspects of your stay. It is very unusual for us to receive a review such as yours, you will see 20 reviews posted prior to yours have awarded their stay either 4 or 5 stars. However, we appreciate every guest has their own opinion, however, we found some of your comments to be unfounded when so many guests enjoy their stays with us.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stopped here at the start and finish off our holiday flight times not good and its 200 miles back to Sheffield,our stay here was very nice the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was very good, it came with parking this a great way to travel
My only compliant the first bedroom we had smelled i guess cresote due to alot the construction being what looks like old railway sleepers, they did move us rooms but thought it strange

Room Tip: great for Gatwick and with inclusive parking
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stays as part of your holiday. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed yourselves and were well looked after by our staff. Regarding the smell you noticed, we can only think this may have been due to some wood preservative which was used some time ago and if the weather is warm it becomes more noticeable, we are very sorry you had this inconvenience. Thank you once again for your nice words and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before our early morning flight at Gatwick. We found the hotel excellent all round - lovely rooms, easy check in and parking, lovely pub for evening drinks and the taxi transfer to and from the hotel went smoothly-no problems at all- we would definitely use this hotel again without a doubt

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kirstyjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us before your flight. Thank you also for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is fantastic. We are so glad everything went well with your stay and your transfers to the airport. Hoping you had a wonderful holiday and that we may look foward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the copthorne the night before we travelled to mexico and had a lovely night.
Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room and initially we said no because we had paid £150 already but went back and upgraded.
It was £30 extra to upgrade which i thought was a good deal really as we always have a breakfast in the airport before we fly which costs us on average £10 each.
You can eat what you want in the breakfast and we didnt eat again until food came around on the flight.
Also in the price you get a bigger bed, free wifi and a nights car parking but we didnt need this as we had booked the car in for 12 days.
1 of the reasons for staying here was the swimming pool but we did not use it after all because we booked a meal in the restaurant and was too late.
The meal was included in the room price and was 3 courses. It was a fantastic meal.

Room Tip: Upgrade upon arrival
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your review and your nice words. Comments such as yours are informative and helpful to other guests so thank you very much and also thank you for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, that is fantastic. We hope your holiday in Mexico was just as nice ! Yes, a £30.00 upgrade is very well worth considering as it includes breakfast and wifi, many of our guests decide to take up this offer, as you say, you dont need to worry about food when you are at the airport then. We hope you had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is an excellent hotel for people to stay in. The food is at an excellent standard. The rural setting is better than being in the centre of Crawley or Gatwick.There is a relaxed ambience in the evening to relax and unwind in the resturants and bar areas.The staff were all friendly and helpful. My only gripe was that the room was dated but this did not affect my stay. The bed was amazing in the Club room - very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much indeed for posting your recent review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our surrounding pleasant and relaxing and yet we are only 4 miles from the airport. All guest comments are shared with our staff so thank you once again and for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, we hope it will not be long before we see you again.
Very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here a few years back and again in January this year and are about to book again for our holiday in September! We were offered a £30 room upgrade on check in which we took and were very pleased we did, the upgraded room was fresh and a great size, also we had a nice breakfast and wifi chucked in with the deal!! The location is great and at just under £10 for a taxi to the airport we were very pleased, for a reasonably priced hotel close to gatwick this is as good as it gets I would suggest !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We were so glad to read you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and found our location to be convenient for the airport. Thank you so much for awarding us 5 stars for your stay, this is the top mark, thank you. Hopefully, we will welcome you back again soon.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £58 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing