We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would have been rated good BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Great Malvern
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would have been rated good BUT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Nice place, good accommodation, good parking and nice wine and food in the bar. Would have rated this above average BUT,on arrival, we were told the double room we had booked was not available (despite being confirmed) due to them being busy. We were offered a twin room or, for a discounted rate, they would 'upgrade' us to a superior room which was a double. We refused and insisted on a double. If they've overbooked that's their issue not ours and it was our twentieth wedding anniversary after all. They therefore gave us the upgrade without extra charge which they should have done in the first place without trying it on.

Room Tip: Take your confirmation with you and take no prisoners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnroe1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. We are were very sorry to read about the problems you experienced regarding your double room, we have made sure your comments have been read by our Front Office Manager. We agree if you have booked a double room this is the type of room which should be allocated. We were very glad you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and do hope you will return to us in the future.
Thank you once again.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    509
    293
    160
    129
See reviews for
227
769
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, the room was small and it smelled really badly, i'm not sure what was it, but it smelled of recently burned out room, or really old house, i needed to keep my windows open through all stay. Oh, windows, I've never seen old style windows like that. My room view was on the car park, the noise levels were really high, there was a guy who was cleaning the fallen leaves all day long and i had to be on conf.calls all day, closing the single glazed windows didn't help.During my stay there were quite a lot of old people, they liked to gather in the hallway and chat starting from 7am.
on the website of hotel its described as modern hotel, this is definitely not the case.This hotel definitely needs an upgrade. The staff was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine, but the Brasserie buffet was awful, very basic and cheapest English food, seafood paella was the driest and tasteless dish i ever had.
Hotel is good for one night stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the parking side are noisy during the day, if you have luggage please ask for assistance as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZintaPastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am only sorry we did not have the opportunity to offer you a room move to a more suitable and quieter room, we are very sorry you were disturbed by the gardener and other guests in the corridor. All guest comments are treated very seriously and are passed to the management team. We are very sorry you did not enjoy the food in the Brasserie and confirm your comments have been passed to our chef. I am just very sorry we did not manage to make improvements to your stay while you were with us. Many thanks for your comments, we hope you will consider returning in the future.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochwinnoch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

stayed here between 5th and 7th July 2014. Accomodation great, with comfy bed and pillows. Staff very helpful, nothing was a problem. Breakfast was lovely with many choices, cold and hot food.Lovely setting for hotel .Near motorway and Gatwick Airport.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanLochwinnoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review following your stay with us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and thank you also for awarding your stay 5 stars which is the highest mark, our staff will be so pleased. Thank you. We hope you went on to have a lovely trip and we very much look forward to welcoming you back next time you need accommodation near Gatwick.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here the other day for a wedding and stayed in a "Club Room", which is supposed to be a premium standard of room. First of all I found the check-in service poor, particularly the check-in supervisor, "Sophie", the reasons for this I won't go into as it's complicated and involves details of the wedding reception but she was not very helpful and either intentionally or not, did not give us the 2 complimentary drinks vouchers we were entitled to with the room, we were not made aware that we were entitled to, or even that there was a spa for use.

Our first impressions of the room were not good! First of all the awful smell of what I can only describe as "wet dog smell" reeked throughout, and the sheets and towels stank too! The room itself and the hotel generally looks like it has been allowed to remain unchanged for many years and looks in need of updating/modernisation. The room appliances like the phones and hairdryers look about 30 years old, and the furniture including old fashioned TV cabinet look 20-30 years old too! As do the discoloured/faded wall pictures! I was rather pleased to find no hairs in the bed, however the bed was quite shockingly lacking a mattress protector! The one on the bed was the size of a single and just plonked in the centre as if we wouldn't notice! The bathroom was dark, dingy and run down looking, the grouting on the tiles looked as though done by cowboys and the radiator rusty/worn with electrical wires exposed! I'd be very surprised if we didn't wake people up that night as the wardrobe was VERY loud and needing some oil!

In the morning I was not even able to wash properly due to the very crappy shower which barely trickled out water. And tried to phone reception in the morning to ask what time breakfast was but no answer for over a minute so we gave up! Very poor, aren't phones supposed to be answered within 10 seconds?

Anyway, breakfast... Very very very poor quality! Literally a limited selection of Sodexo/Eurest £2 quality worker canteen food, disgusting! And as vegetarians we were disappointed to learn that we were not catered for! Also for some reason the "orange juice" tasted like orange squash! so it had either been watered down or mixed with squash! Absolutely pathetic for a so called 4 star spa hotel! And to think for room only rates they were charging £12 for this inedible crap! Also the staff in the breakfast room were very rude to us!

On check out we were not asked about our stay and the guy tried to charge us an extra £5, claiming that we had an outstanding balance on the room rate, the validated parking ticket didn't work on exit at the barriers, and when we pressed the help button all I heard was two staff chatting amongst themselves before the barrier opened, didn't even acknowledge me!

Either way I DON'T recommend this hotel to anyone, and considering the prices, over £140 a night for the "club" room, this place is an absolute joke and utter rip off! Stay somewhere else, unless you want to be disappointed and waste good money...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are sorry you did not enjoy so many aspects of your stay. It is very unusual for us to receive a review such as yours, you will see 20 reviews posted prior to yours have awarded their stay either 4 or 5 stars. However, we appreciate every guest has their own opinion, however, we found some of your comments to be unfounded when so many guests enjoy their stays with us.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stopped here at the start and finish off our holiday flight times not good and its 200 miles back to Sheffield,our stay here was very nice the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was very good, it came with parking this a great way to travel
My only compliant the first bedroom we had smelled i guess cresote due to alot the construction being what looks like old railway sleepers, they did move us rooms but thought it strange

Room Tip: great for Gatwick and with inclusive parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stays as part of your holiday. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed yourselves and were well looked after by our staff. Regarding the smell you noticed, we can only think this may have been due to some wood preservative which was used some time ago and if the weather is warm it becomes more noticeable, we are very sorry you had this inconvenience. Thank you once again for your nice words and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before our early morning flight at Gatwick. We found the hotel excellent all round - lovely rooms, easy check in and parking, lovely pub for evening drinks and the taxi transfer to and from the hotel went smoothly-no problems at all- we would definitely use this hotel again without a doubt

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us before your flight. Thank you also for awarding your stay 5 stars, that is fantastic. We are so glad everything went well with your stay and your transfers to the airport. Hoping you had a wonderful holiday and that we may look foward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at the copthorne the night before we travelled to mexico and had a lovely night.
Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room and initially we said no because we had paid £150 already but went back and upgraded.
It was £30 extra to upgrade which i thought was a good deal really as we always have a breakfast in the airport before we fly which costs us on average £10 each.
You can eat what you want in the breakfast and we didnt eat again until food came around on the flight.
Also in the price you get a bigger bed, free wifi and a nights car parking but we didnt need this as we had booked the car in for 12 days.
1 of the reasons for staying here was the swimming pool but we did not use it after all because we booked a meal in the restaurant and was too late.
The meal was included in the room price and was 3 courses. It was a fantastic meal.

Room Tip: Upgrade upon arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your review and your nice words. Comments such as yours are informative and helpful to other guests so thank you very much and also thank you for awarding your stay with us 5 stars, that is fantastic. We hope your holiday in Mexico was just as nice ! Yes, a £30.00 upgrade is very well worth considering as it includes breakfast and wifi, many of our guests decide to take up this offer, as you say, you dont need to worry about food when you are at the airport then. We hope you had a wonderful time and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing