We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, experience marred by poor service from taxi firm providing their airport transfer service.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Folkestone
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, experience marred by poor service from taxi firm providing their airport transfer service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Found a really great value deal via HolidayExtra's for a single night at the Copthorne with a couple of weeks parking for the car whilst we were on holiday flying to and from Gatwick. Hotel is lovely, friendly attentive staff, beautifully appointed room, nice choice of eateries on site, and the gardens were a lovely place to while away the evening before our early morning flight with a few drinks and a light meal.

Hotel partners with a Taxi Service (RoadRunners) which provides a regular shuttle service for a nominal extra cost to and from the airport from 4.15am to midnightish. I'm sure this service is fine. However beware if your return flight is outside these hours. The hotel does provide the number for the taxi firm and on collecting our luggage at about 2am we called and booked a taxi. Unfortunately the call was cut off (dodgy mobile signal) towards the end, but we had provided all our details and been told where to wait so naively assumed the booking was made. 30 minutes later no taxi so called again - OK the booking wasn't complete because the call was cut off - a bit annoying - they could have called back surely? Rebooked.....and still waiting an hour later - absolutely furious having watched a number of empty taxis belonging to the firm sail past empty having dropped people off, ignoring our attempts to flag them down. Four or five increasingly annoyed phone calls later and we eventually got a taxi at about 4am. Not the best way to end the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us booked through Holiday Extras. We were naturally glad to read you enjoyed the hotel and facilities, however, we are very sorry and upset with regard to the service provided on your return by Road Runners, our preferred taxi company. We have copied your review to them and asked for their report. We are extremely sorry as you must have been very tired and just wanted to get on your way home. Thank you, anyway, for your feedback. We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    507
    290
    159
    127
See reviews for
224
766
66
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last night on return from a week in Spain, it took us half an hour to check in when we parked our car and another 20 mins to check in hotel, the reception staff spoke very limited English. We got a bottle 75 cl water from the bar to take to our room which cost £4.30!!!!! Our room was so hot you could hardly breath with no air con.
We purchased breakfast and as we are dieting I made it VERY clear I wanted a low fat omelette, the waitress clearly did not understand a word I was saying so I repeated at least 4 times 'low fat' only a little oil!! When the cook brought it out he said he didn't know what she said, he thought she said 'laid flat'!!!
My omelette was smothered in cheese and I couldn't eat it. I have nothing against foreign staff but I think it's important they speak a little English!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank coastalrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry you felt so disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. I am very sorry we only provide air conditioning in a proportion of our bedrooms, this is owing to the nature and age of our building I am afraid. With regard to our staff and their level of English, like many hotels we employ staff from all over the world. They all have to pass a certain level of English so we were very surprised and sorry to learn you had such communication problems in the restaurant. Thank you for your feedback and once again our apologies.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just return from at stay at this hotel with my party of 28 after a day at lingfield races. The hotel is beautiful, rooms were spotless and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning again with my party next year..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much indeed for your recent review, fantastic that you awarded your stay 5 stars, thank you so much. We are so glad you all enjoyed yourselves and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends and family back next time.
With very best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Staying in hotels most working days of my life, staying here after work is just so relaxing. Very quiet and peaceful, rooms are spotlessly clean and decor is excellent. Being a finishing manager for 15yrs my eye for quality is very keen. Booked on net for only £47! Would stay here Everytime I'm near this location, staff can't do enough to help you and the hotel in General is first class. A ++++

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review and for awarding our hotel 5 stars, that is the top mark so thank you very much. We are so glad we provide you with a nice, quiet environment after your working day. Of course, we are also very pleased our staff look after you and that the rooms are clean and comfortable. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next time. Thank you once again, your nice words will be circulated to all our staff.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The key reasons for choosing this hotel were the transfers to the airport and cheap long stay car parking.

The shuttle is booked through but not run by the hotel. A local taxi company runs the shuttle service, which means you need to pay them in cash and cannot include this on your hotel bill. The service needs some tweaking.

We were first to book a spot on the shuttle but it was preparing to leave without us five minutes before the scheduled time and was full. Two passengers that had not booked seats had taken our place, and it was us that were left to arrange another car with the reception desk, rather than the passengers without a booking. The driver was no help whatsoever.

On return our car had been moved and clearly been driven badly by the hotel staff. The sump guard had been damaged (probably due to being driven too fast over their speed bumps) and there was a smell of clutch burning. I wouldn't leave my car with them again.

We had dinner in the Lion D'or restaurant, and the food was very good value for money (we'd prebooked the set menu dinner) and the staff were very friendly.

The room was clean, tidy and exactly what you would expect from a decent airport hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desigoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us. We are very sorry the organisation of the shuttle to the airport did not go so well, please accept our apologies, we will certainly notify the operator. Normally, when a guest leaves their car with us for the duration of their holiday it is moved to our long stay car park at the rear of the hotel. Great care is taken of all our guests' cars, as you can imagine, we look after hundreds of cars during the holiday period. We do not have any humps in our car park, however, if you have concerns about your car please contact us. We were very glad to read you enjoyed your meal and your overall stay, please do return to us in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

just had a 2night stay here great food lovely room nice and clean staff helpful .andhotel set in lovely surrounding. but please tell antonio to make MORE puddings you ran out of peacan tart too early BUT your chocolate panocotta (sorry about spelling) was to die for.on firday night.
would stay again at this hotel. ps the pool etc needs up dating

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel and surroundings and also the puddings ! Hopefully, we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Thank you once again.

Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Just had 3 days at this hotel with a group to go to the Hampton Court. Flower show and it Has great potential but needs some TLC. First the plus points..... Nice rooms, good sized bath towels, nice public areas,nice gardens,position is good,lots of parking good breakfast.. Quiet rooms with smart bathrooms with good toiletries. shuttle to the airport ( but not back).coffee and tea facilities ( but no biscuits) .......Now the bad points, WiFi. Poor TV sad lack of Channels, Brasserie food at dinner really poor, some rooms are quite a hike from reception. No air conditioning in the rooms. This hotel is totally redeemed by its staff, all but one of them was friendly helpful and charming, I was annoyed at that 'one',who was on reception and insisted that there was no drinks reception for our group and no paperwork and tickets left for me. She insisted there was only a dinner at 7.30 because of this I missed the introductory talk and I got the paperwork and tickets later shame. At the little things that spoil it. Under oar for a 4 star hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on your stay following your visit to Hampton Court Flower Show. We found your comments very constructive and informative, thank you. Please accept our apologies for the poor communication you received from our front office staff as well as your comments regarding the Brasserie food. Your feedback has been passed to both departments, we are currently working on our wi fi strength, this should be improved in the near future. We do hope you will consider returning to us next year and hope you enjoyed the Flower Show.
With best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing