We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice close to Gatwick Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed at the Copthorne Hotel the night before our trip to Florida in July, and found everything to be great. We arrived early (about 1.00 pm) and found that our room wasn't ready so sat in the conservatory for about 90 mins. (I had phoned the Hotel in advance to ask if we could arrive early & was told that if the hotel wasn't too busy we'd be able to take our room immediately). The wait was slightly longer than expected as the front desk implied that it wouldn't be too long as the cleaner was just finishing off. However, we were happy just to chill as this was the start of our holiday. My fiance and son went for a swim but found it to be a bit of a trek and situated at a nearby Gym. However, once there they enjoyed themselves. The room was very nice with a four poster bed, and two single beds in the adjoining part of the suite. Ideal for us and our two teenagers. The staff were polite and friendly, and the journey to the airport was only about 10 minutes (£12 by taxi). Overall a great choice and we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We were so pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a wonderful holiday and that we may look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Best wishes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,599 - 1,605 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

Our stay at the Copthorne got off to a shaky start. I had booked a break away for my husband and I just before the wedding... obviously we were on a tight budget(!) so were delighted to book the special deal on offer that included dinner, breakfast and refreshements in a special lounge that came with our lovely deluxe room. On our arrival we found that the package had changed, and was more aimed at business travellers. Now the room just came with internet access instead. This was explained to us once we spoke to the manager when we got a little confused about the changes. As the deal had only changed during the two weeks since we booked, the manager very kindly instantly offered to honour it and give us a better breakfast and free drinks too, which I thought was very kind.

The grounds were lovely, and you had access to the fitness centre and spa next door. And we had a jacuzzi in our room! You can also walk into the local village for a drink and a roast if you wish. It's only ten minutes or so and reception gave us clear directions.

The food at the hotel was delicious too. It was a lovely break from all our wedding planning... (except for the fact we found ourselves landed in the midst of two weddings when we were trying to escape!!)

I'd definitely go back, especially if i had an early flight from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lena1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2009

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after. As mentioned, we are a popular wedding venue, particularly in the summer when the gardens look so beautiful.
I hope we may look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

I stayed at the Copthorne Gatwick during Hickstead show under recommendation from the show, due to sponsoring at the event. However I would never go back, the actual stay was OK (hotel is dated and food was not great) but I managed to leave some clothes in the wardrobe and upon calling to reclaim them, was told that the maid was positive nothing had been left.

It's unbelievable that someone would want to pinch second hand clothes however to me it is a few hundred pounds to replace. I am staggered that the hotel markets itself as a four star hotel and yet if you are unfortunate enough to leave anything behind you will never see it again!!

I have tried calling on numerous occasions and contacted the hotel by email to which no one ever responds. I would not recommend it to anyone!

The shower was horrendous... full of limescale and hardly any water flow!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcguinnessShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are extremely sorry you believe your clothes went missing from the wardrobe in your room after you left the hotel. As soon as we received your call our housekeeper visited your room to see if we could locate the missing items and we could not find anything. We do object to being branded "dishonest" as there is no proof that these items have been removed from the wardrobe. We are surprised that one could depart from the hotel leaving three pairs of trousers and a cardigan and not become aware until some time afterwards. We do believe we responded promptly to your request via e mail.
Yours sincerely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Booked this for a night before flying out of Gatwick for a holiday mainly because of the on site parking(which has no security and is open to public access). It looks nice from the front but a walk around the back when strolling around the unkempt grounds was a different story !

The Restaurant is very expensive and the food in general was average. The room was ok for one night but not up to the 4* that the Hotel advertises.

We expected a romanitic country hotel but were very dissapointed.

I would not stay at this hotel ever again and niether would I recomend it to anyone.

In general the Hotel is tired and needs a complete make over and in my opinion is only 3*

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gibsonparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay and that we failed to meet your expectations. May we assure you all comments made by our guests are treated very seriously indeed and are discussed with members of the management team in order to see how we may learn from the guest experience. We hope you have had a most enjoyable holiday and that we might be given the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

If you're looking for old English atmosphere, you might want to give this a try. Otherwise, probably not! Sprawling complex with no offer of luggage assistance. We stayed after arriving and before departing through Gatwick. The first night the room was okay. There was a booming wedding reception adjacent to some rooms, though; I'd glad we were a little further away. The departing night we were assigned a room on the second floor and directed to the stairs. I had to ask for the lift and wait an eternity for it to come. Then the room had some mystery banging noise that would have kept me awake, so I asked for a different room and was none-too-graciously accommodated. The food was okay (which is good, since the hotel isn't near anything to go somewhere else), but the servers were hard to understand (definitely ESL), and they screwed up our orders and misdelivered food to another party. --The hotel is near the airport with reasonably-priced shuttle service at regular intervals, though. Next to the bus stop is a filthy smelly pond with some of the saddest queen's swans you'll ever hope to see. The sign says the swans can be agressive; you would be too, to be mistreated like that.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaRHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel after your recent stay. All comments made by our guests are treated extremely seriously and discussed with our Management team. We were very sorry we did not meet your expectations and found shortfalls in our standards. We have asked our Front Office Manager to address the points you raised regarding your room and luggage assistance. We do not advertise a lift to the upper floor, I believe the lift you used is our goods lift which is not normally recommeded for guest use. Our pond attracts a great deal of wild life including ducks and moorhens and our swans are regularly checked by the swan sanctuary.
We are glad you found our proximity to the airport convenient with the added use of our shuttle bus and naturally hope you will consider returning to the hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We found this hotel on the hotel.com and thought it was perfect as we had an early flight from Gatwick to Italy. Upon arrival the service from reception was great and they were helpful.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi which was unexpected. The only downside to this was throughout the night it randomly made a noise. This could have been down to us not turning it off properly but was impossible to fix in the early hours.

The use of the swimming pool which was a short walk away was lovely as it was empty.

We didn’t use the parking service as we had already booked our car parking with APH. The hotel was only a 5 minute drive away which was very handy.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel to friends. It is quiet, the gardens are lovely and rooms are great.

The only downside to the hotel was we had a dirty try outside our room for a couple of hours. We informed reception and this was removed quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient to our partner, APH. Please accept our apologies for the tray being left outside your room. I do hope we
may look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

After a 90 minute drive there, and my wife having booked this hotel on the 9th May with the understanding that it had smoking rooms available, and having had emails on the 11th and the 12th May confirming that we had been allocated a smoking room from their own reservations in the hotel, we arrived just after 4pm on Friday 17th July to be told that the hotel had recently changed their policy on smoking rooms only 4 weeks earlier, and that the whole hotel now was non-smoking.
So the room that we had booked, we could no longer have. As sad as they may sound to non-smokers (and for clarification we are not chain smokers) we were looking forward to a relaxing few days away and if we wanted to have a cigarette in our room, so much the better. One member of staff was as good as she could be (and she was a trainee) but some other woman who we never saw face to face was rude and off handish, and the duty manager that evening did not even know that his hotel had now gone totally non smoking, and offered us as way of compensation a bottle of wine, which we refused.
We had to then ask them to give us a letter confirming that we would not be charged (the duty manager agreed this) because the woman we did not see (because she was too busy to stick her head around a corner) had said that we would be charged, and then when the trainee receptionist got the duty manager back on the phone to confirm differently, this woman then moaned at him and said he should have told them, which I find a bit disconcerting as I always assumed a duty manager was higher up the pecking order than the receptionists (No disrespect to receptionists I hasten to add).
The long and the short of this however is top marks to the trainee receptionist Vikki who was nice, and at least the duty manager Alok was pleasant even if he did not be aware of the hotel policy. So our gripe is 120 miles later, 3 hours driving and an hour spent there trying to say well you never told us of any changes even though you had our email address and must have realised that we (and probably others) had already booked smoking rooms as part of that package, is that we were totally unhappy and that a bottle of wine is a bit of an insult for compensation.
Oh to add, some sites still advertise your hotel as having smoking available which means that we won't be the only ones probably disappointed

http://airporthotels.essentialtravel.co.uk/airports/LGW/LGWCOP/Copthorne_Gatwick_hotel_details.htm
http://www.hotels.co.uk/hotel-united-kingdom/hotel-crawley/copthorne-hotel-london-gatwick/

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrTWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Public Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2009

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on our hotel. We are extremely sorry about the miscommunication regarding smoking rooms at the hotel and that you were not notified of this fact, causing you a great deal of inconvenience and disappointment. We have taken steps to ensure that other websites are not offering smoking rooms at our hotel and are very grateful for your feedback and wish to extend our apologies once again for your disappointment.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing