We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Read Tripadvisor and stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Read Tripadvisor and stay somewhere else”
Reviewed 29 November 2009

My wife and I stayed for 1 memorably unenjoyable night in September.
We checked in with lots of baggage prior to a long holiday and had to search for some time for a porter. Our room was cold, since the heating system didn't work and eventually a receptionist brought us an electric fire.
The building, furniture and fittings were old and tired (like us after a night there.)
Next morning,the bus service to the airport (at extra charge) was disgraceful. Standing room only and - illegally - the gangways filled with suitcases.
I asked the management to contact me to discuss my complaints, but they never did - probably too busy fighting off angry customers.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank grambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 January 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay. All your comments have been noted and discussed with members of our management team. We have notified our shuttle bus operator regarding the loading of the luggage on the bus. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and for your constructive feedback.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    509
    293
    160
    129
See reviews for
226
769
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Stayed one night at the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick Airport. Superficially, the hotel looks olde worldy but in closer inspection it is a budget hotel that is sold on the antique charm. Parling and check-in were straight forward. The decor at Reception was pleasant.

I was allocated a room on the ground floor that was reached via probably the longest corridor I've ever seen, with a strange step/ramp arrangement halfway along. The room itself, although quite large, was nothing special. In fact, it was very dated with respect to appearance, furnature and fittings. The TV remote worked only intermittently. The long, narrow bathroom had that 'damp shower curtain' aroma. Also, somewhat strangely, the vanity worktop was very high which was unusual. But the room was quiet, very clean and the bed was comfortable.

Drinks in the bar were not particulary inexpensive and neither was the bar food. In fact, the bar food was dreadfully over priced and the quality very poor, so much so the management should seriously investigate this service. Also, the waiting staff should allow ALL members of a party to finish eating before clearing the table.......

Breakfast was either the usual continental or full English. The offerings were probably only average, not particulary fresh, just OK. The breakfast room was really hot.

All the staff were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_vostok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and comments which have been discussed with members of our management team. Thank you very much for your compliments regarding our staff. We hope you will return again soon.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

From the moment I arrived at my "luxury" room with whirlpool spa bath and the smell of rising damp hit me, and i spotted the peeling wallpaper and stained paintwork - i knew this was going to be sub-optimal. The bathroom was an absolute joke of fading glory and peeling varnish, the carpet was threadbare and dusty - the windows streaming with condensation. The beer in the bar, Boddingtons, was disgusting the food was passable if sparse - the staff were reasonable but had obviously heard it all before - i can't begin to say how disappointed I was. If you need a reminder how bad hotels were 20 years ago - book the Copthorne. If you want a comfortable and restful hotel stay - try just about anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boudinblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

witham, essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

stayed here for 2 nights in August, got a good deal on e-bay=two nights with dinner and breakfast 2 mornings, stayed in one of their club rooms, with jacuzzi and other extras, rooms are a little dated, need bringing into the 21st century, but were clean and practical. Queen size bedlovely and comfortable. breakfasts here are lovely-everything you could wish for-yogurts, cold meats, pastries, full english, preserves, toast, tea/coffee etc...yum yum
dinner service was great too, a good value 3 cours meal with wine and the 2 nights b&b only cst me £150.....bargain-check out the e-bay deals for this hotel, well worth a go
have been here several times now and wouldnt hesitate to go back.
plenty of things to do in the area, cant understand people who just use it as a car park for a couple of weeks and expect the ritz for one night!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger2002636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Thank you very much for your compliments following your stay with us. We hope we may look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Best wishes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T3TCA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

we stayed at this hotel on route to barbados . I can not fault this hotel at all it is a great for a stop over on route to Gatwick

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3TCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Thank you very much for your feedback on the hotel, much appreciated. We do hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Best wishes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed here for one night as we had an early morning flight from Gatwick. First impressions were the staff are very friendly and helpful. We had to be at the airport for 4am - before the hotels shuttle service started - but a taxi was only a 10 minutes drive and cost £8 so it is really handy for the airport. The room was ok, basic and in need of a lick of paint but it was quiet. We ate in the hotels sports bar, but it wasn't nice at all, a very limited menu, we had fish and chips, but the fish was coated in some strange breadcrumb mixture and it just didn't seem very fresh! There was a bistro in the hotel as well though, which we thought a bit pricey, but the food may have been better there. Overall, we thought it the room was good value for money but I wouldn't recommend it for anything more than an airport overnight stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepokadots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay prior to your holiday and that we provided good value for money. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Firstly, I love to stay in hotels that are not the standard Marriot or Sofitel, something with a bit of character. This hotel could be just the choice. But it's not. Set in a lovely old house, nice bar area and food and dining is fine. The fake fire place is a bit of a atmosphere killer, but a little detail.

The real problem are the rooms. They are dated. The beds need to be binned. The decor is from 30 years ago. The plastering of the walls is uneven and unfinished. They have tried to create a old look, but it just hasn't worked.

The bathrooms stink of mould and damp. (mould on the ceiling). There is no extractor fan so the moisture just builds up.

The rooms are a disgrace and I advise no one to stay here, unless your desperate or some one else is paying!

What a real pity, with a bit of time and money this hotel could easily be the best in the Gatwick area. At the moment it's the worst. Missed opportunity.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaysinahotel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay. We are extremely sorry we did not meet your expectations, however, thank you once again for your comments which have been addressed.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing