We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
thurrock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

Stayed one night before early flight and left car for two weeks (£105.00). Room was clean, staff were polite and helpful, meals expensive but ok.
Our flight was cancelled, due to the ash cloud so we needed to get car back at short notice, it took them 15mins which was very good considering were the car was parked. Would we use them agian YES.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel following your stay earlier this year. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and hope we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    509
    293
    160
    129
See reviews for
227
769
67
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel before our journey to America.

I wish we could have stayed there longer, the food was excellent, the location was excellent. Cannot fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleshell32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you very much for writing a review on our hotel. We were so pleased to read your comments regarding our service and facilities. I hope we may look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benidorm
Level Contributor
154 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2010

excellent hotel but lack of staff both in the bar and reception lae to many complaints
from us and nearly all the customers we witnessed in the bar.
Food was being served to the wrong people and then being sent back because of the quality.Waited 1 hour 15 for the shuttle bus to the airport for a 10 minute journey.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you for writing a review on our hotel following your stay with us. We are extremely sorry we were short staffed in the bar the night of your stay. On checking this was due to a staff member calling in sick and another staff member that night being fairly new in the job. I do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

The Copthorne survives due to it's location to Gatwick and parking facilities as far as we can tell. As previous reviewers have said, this is absolutely not a 4 star hotel - we spent our entire stay marvelling about how on earth it has 4 star status.
Reception staff were unhelpful, morose and at times downright rude. There had been a mix up with our booking which they admitted was their fault but then said if there were no rooms then we'd have to stay elsewhere which was a bit shocking. No apology, no bid to make amends. Outrageous and not a good start to our stay after a tiring journey late at night.
The room we were assigned to was in a wing which had just been the subject of painting work to it's large wooden beams - some sort of extremely strong smelling creosote or varnish. The smell was very overpowering and everywhere. No windows had been opened and it was a warm day so that just magnified things. Absolutely foul. We couldn't believe we'd been given that room especially given we had a young baby with us. We complained and were moved to another room in another part of the hotel which we were relieved to find had not been painted. However, our complaint was dealt with very poorly. No apology, no acknowledgement of the problem, just frowning silence and a reluctant room change.
Our new room was a club room - which was a joke. The decor in both rooms was tired and dated. The bathroom in the club room had a sink which was cracked from the edges to the plug hole on all sides and was fit for a skip. The jacuzzi bath had long sing packed up and it's jet holes were corroded and had been sealed very inexpertly with yellow filler. Oh and the bath was dirty. The bedroom windows in most of the hotel are single glazed very old critolin windows so although the hotel has a rural setting the airport sounds are still evident overnight. The second night of our stay there was some sort of function going on in the hotel and we heard every thump of the disco till the early hours.
Breakfast is fine, but nothing exceptional - hot food, pastries and fruit. Getting tea or coffee from the waiting staff proved more of a challenge and on the second morning didn't materialise at all despite our presence in the dining room for an hour. Our first morning we were charged for it despite our rate being bed & breakfast. Another trip to reception to complain eventually had the breakfast refunded. Everything seemed a battle.
As to the parking. It is paid for rather like a public carpark and worked out for us as £15 for a 2 night stay. We could find no explanation or signs as to how the parking is charged (is it hourly, is it daily?) and seems merely to be a way of ratcheting up the hotel bill. Some sort of pricing transparency is required there.
As to the staff, we could only surmise that the hotel does not run a happy ship as everyone we had contact with were miserable and negative.
All in all, a memorable stay all for the wrong reasons. We can only recommend that anyone looking for a Gatwick hotel looks elsewhere. Were it anywhere else it would have gone out of business years ago.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrisventreJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We have carefully noted all your comments which have been discussed and investigated with our management team. We are natually very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thank you once again for taking the time to pass us your views.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

A number of uncomplimentary Tripadvisor reviews seemed to contrast with a very favourable one in The Times of 28.11.2009. We took a chance on The Times' report and were generally pleased with what we found. We had booked for one night outbound with 8 nights parking, plus one further night on our return. Our room for the first of these nights was very roomy, with a king-size bed, armchair and settee and a spa bath in the bathroom. On the other night, the room was slightly smaller, with no settee but again a king-size bed and spa bath - though the latter was missing a plug, so couldn't be used. Good hotels at a reasonable price near Gatwick are not easy to find and this one ticks most boxes. However, there are a number of things which could be improved, quite apart from the above-mentioned plug. Although many of the rooms are on the ground floor, we had an upstairs room on the first night and it was difficult to drag heavy holiday luggage upstairs in the absence of a lift - next time I shall specify a ground-floor room. Also, the shuttle service to the airport only runs on an hourly basis - many hotels offer a transfer every 15 minutes or even on demand - and the service from the South Terminal ceased at 9.25 p.m. As our flight didn't land until 10 p.m., it meant we had to take a taxi to the hotel at a cost of £15, compared with £6 for the two of us on the shuttle bus. Breakfast at £15.75 per person may be acceptable to business travellers on expense accounts but is hardly likely to appeal to many holiday travellers. There is an alternative, however, in that the bar offers coffee and croissants/Danish pastries as a cheaper option. Despite these reservations, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Thank you for your review following your stay with us having read about the hotel The Times. We are very glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Next time we will be sure to allocate you a downstairs room. We are now offering £10 vouchers to guests for full English breakfast and these can be purchased on Reception at checkin. I am sorry you missed our last shuttle bus and had to incur the cost of a taxi. We do hope you will stay with us again next time you are flying from Gatwick. Thank you once again for your review.
Kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

Ideal for the airport with the park up and shuttle option. Room ok but cold, no c/h, a small electric convector was just adequate. Avoid the curry in the brasserie, expensive and tasteless,£8 a glass for an average red wine over the top too. Breakfast again highly priced and indifferent. All in all it is a good deal - if you self cater.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank che777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Our apologies for the room being cold - we are naturally glad you enjoyed your overall stay and felt we offered goof value. Hoping to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

Check in was slow and staff not really very attentive.
However, the room was really lovely, spacious, clean and the bathroom with jacuzzi bath was great.
The room styles were 'traditionally English' which my European colleagues liked.
Nice grounds too
Only paid £65 ish on a corporate rate so a real bargain!
Free parking so close to the airport is a rare find too
Recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tired-bus-raveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Thank you for posting a review on our hotel. Apologies for the delay on check in. We were very glad to read you enjoyed the room styles and hope to welcome you and your colleagues back again soon.
Kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#23 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing