We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a Gamble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 25 May 2010

The Copthorn is a 10 minute drive from Gatwick Airport. As the title says its a bit of a gamble, I have stayed for numerous single nights and they have vaired depending on the room they have given me.
Some of the rooms are down a rabbit warren of corridors these all tend to be clean however the corridors have a strong stench of cleaning products. They have also put me up in some family rooms, these rooms have tended to be older and dirtier. Finally every now and they you get given a Club room, these rooms are all very nice large and clean although without the air conditioning. The staff are not bad but wouldn't say they are great. the sleep quality has varied depending on the room generally its been very good but the large family rooms have poor old beds.
The nice features of the hotel are the public areas, the bar and the restaurants are all very good and they do dish up some very nice food throughout the day. It is a little pricey but you would expect that for a airport hotel in the South East. They are linked to a fitness first next door that also has an excellent swimming pool free for guests.
Again this hotel is a gamble i don't know the advertised rate but I would say £50-£70 per night would be reasonable.
To conclude. Its not No Frills but its nothing special.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PilotReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel following your stay earlier this year. We are very pleased to note how much you enjoy the public areas and bars and restaurants in the hotel. As the building has been added to over the years we do have differenet styles and sizes of bedrooms, however, we were glad to note that you enjoy the club rooms. I do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel and while at first we were apprehensive (due to the many negative reviews) our three night stay was a great success. On arrival there were no queues at check-in and the process was very efficient. We were both very pleased with our ground floor room with a beautiful view of the gardens and did not find the decoration shabby like mentioned in previous reviews. The room was equipped with a mini fridge and Jacuzzi bath- both of which we had not been expecting. The shower/bath was spacious and powerful making an excellent addition to the already well decorated bathroom.

The bar food was fine although prices were a bit high, particularly for the sandwiches and panini’s. The restaurant food was absolutely delicious and service was excellent, although prices were still a bit on the high side. I have to agree with previous comments that drinks were also expensive however we choose to avoid drinking too much in the hotel bar. Breakfast was highly satisfactory with a wide range of tasty food, and at £10 we felt this price was justified (£10 voucher available from reception instead of normal price of £15.75).

The Copthorne Hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and I found the building to have real sense of character, therefore I am surprised by the negativity brought by previous comments. The LA Fitness leisure facilities were also of a high standard and well-worth using.

The only negative point we would like to highlight would be the poor attitude of a male member of staff in the bar area called Nello. On one occasion he rudely asked my boyfriend to “speak up” and the previous day he had ignored our request to order food by waving his hand at us! After waiting 15mins my boyfriend and I left and had lunch in the nearby town instead.

Overall we were both really pleased we stayed at the Copthorne Hotel and would definitely return in the future, and I would advise those considering staying here not to be too discouraged by the unfavourable reviews as I was expecting the worst, when in fact I had a brilliant weekend!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_the_world_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel following your stay in May. We were extremely pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay as well as the food and the faciltities. We were very disturbed to read your comments regarding the service provided by a staff member and this issue has since been addressed. I do hope you will return to us soon and we look forward to welcoming you both back to the Copthorne Hotel.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Stayed one night before early flight and left car for two weeks (£105.00). Room was clean, staff were polite and helpful, meals expensive but ok.
Our flight was cancelled, due to the ash cloud so we needed to get car back at short notice, it took them 15mins which was very good considering were the car was parked. Would we use them agian YES.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OPQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel following your stay earlier this year. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and hope we may look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel before our journey to America.

I wish we could have stayed there longer, the food was excellent, the location was excellent. Cannot fault the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleshell32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much for writing a review on our hotel. We were so pleased to read your comments regarding our service and facilities. I hope we may look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

excellent hotel but lack of staff both in the bar and reception lae to many complaints
from us and nearly all the customers we witnessed in the bar.
Food was being served to the wrong people and then being sent back because of the quality.Waited 1 hour 15 for the shuttle bus to the airport for a 10 minute journey.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel following your stay with us. We are extremely sorry we were short staffed in the bar the night of your stay. On checking this was due to a staff member calling in sick and another staff member that night being fairly new in the job. I do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The Copthorne survives due to it's location to Gatwick and parking facilities as far as we can tell. As previous reviewers have said, this is absolutely not a 4 star hotel - we spent our entire stay marvelling about how on earth it has 4 star status.
Reception staff were unhelpful, morose and at times downright rude. There had been a mix up with our booking which they admitted was their fault but then said if there were no rooms then we'd have to stay elsewhere which was a bit shocking. No apology, no bid to make amends. Outrageous and not a good start to our stay after a tiring journey late at night.
The room we were assigned to was in a wing which had just been the subject of painting work to it's large wooden beams - some sort of extremely strong smelling creosote or varnish. The smell was very overpowering and everywhere. No windows had been opened and it was a warm day so that just magnified things. Absolutely foul. We couldn't believe we'd been given that room especially given we had a young baby with us. We complained and were moved to another room in another part of the hotel which we were relieved to find had not been painted. However, our complaint was dealt with very poorly. No apology, no acknowledgement of the problem, just frowning silence and a reluctant room change.
Our new room was a club room - which was a joke. The decor in both rooms was tired and dated. The bathroom in the club room had a sink which was cracked from the edges to the plug hole on all sides and was fit for a skip. The jacuzzi bath had long sing packed up and it's jet holes were corroded and had been sealed very inexpertly with yellow filler. Oh and the bath was dirty. The bedroom windows in most of the hotel are single glazed very old critolin windows so although the hotel has a rural setting the airport sounds are still evident overnight. The second night of our stay there was some sort of function going on in the hotel and we heard every thump of the disco till the early hours.
Breakfast is fine, but nothing exceptional - hot food, pastries and fruit. Getting tea or coffee from the waiting staff proved more of a challenge and on the second morning didn't materialise at all despite our presence in the dining room for an hour. Our first morning we were charged for it despite our rate being bed & breakfast. Another trip to reception to complain eventually had the breakfast refunded. Everything seemed a battle.
As to the parking. It is paid for rather like a public carpark and worked out for us as £15 for a 2 night stay. We could find no explanation or signs as to how the parking is charged (is it hourly, is it daily?) and seems merely to be a way of ratcheting up the hotel bill. Some sort of pricing transparency is required there.
As to the staff, we could only surmise that the hotel does not run a happy ship as everyone we had contact with were miserable and negative.
All in all, a memorable stay all for the wrong reasons. We can only recommend that anyone looking for a Gatwick hotel looks elsewhere. Were it anywhere else it would have gone out of business years ago.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrisventreJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We have carefully noted all your comments which have been discussed and investigated with our management team. We are natually very sorry we did not meet your expectations. Thank you once again for taking the time to pass us your views.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

A number of uncomplimentary Tripadvisor reviews seemed to contrast with a very favourable one in The Times of 28.11.2009. We took a chance on The Times' report and were generally pleased with what we found. We had booked for one night outbound with 8 nights parking, plus one further night on our return. Our room for the first of these nights was very roomy, with a king-size bed, armchair and settee and a spa bath in the bathroom. On the other night, the room was slightly smaller, with no settee but again a king-size bed and spa bath - though the latter was missing a plug, so couldn't be used. Good hotels at a reasonable price near Gatwick are not easy to find and this one ticks most boxes. However, there are a number of things which could be improved, quite apart from the above-mentioned plug. Although many of the rooms are on the ground floor, we had an upstairs room on the first night and it was difficult to drag heavy holiday luggage upstairs in the absence of a lift - next time I shall specify a ground-floor room. Also, the shuttle service to the airport only runs on an hourly basis - many hotels offer a transfer every 15 minutes or even on demand - and the service from the South Terminal ceased at 9.25 p.m. As our flight didn't land until 10 p.m., it meant we had to take a taxi to the hotel at a cost of £15, compared with £6 for the two of us on the shuttle bus. Breakfast at £15.75 per person may be acceptable to business travellers on expense accounts but is hardly likely to appeal to many holiday travellers. There is an alternative, however, in that the bar offers coffee and croissants/Danish pastries as a cheaper option. Despite these reservations, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymro36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2010

Thank you for your review following your stay with us having read about the hotel The Times. We are very glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Next time we will be sure to allocate you a downstairs room. We are now offering £10 vouchers to guests for full English breakfast and these can be purchased on Reception at checkin. I am sorry you missed our last shuttle bus and had to incur the cost of a taxi. We do hope you will stay with us again next time you are flying from Gatwick. Thank you once again for your review.
Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.2 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick south terminal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £62 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing