We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We were more than happily surprised to find this perfect hotel when we were stranded after a cancelled flight back to Copenhagen! Not in your wildest dreams could you imagine such staff and such a good hotel in the middle of nowhere! So, whenever you’re looking for an incredibly friendly and obliging staff, tidy and comfortable rooms, splendid breakfast plus quick and close access to the Gatwick Airport you’ll find Copthorne Hotel being the best choice. To us, ending a wonderful journey in such a stressful situation, it was worth a fortune to be treated as king and queen by the best staff we’ve ever met!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstridandHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much indeed for writing such compliments regarding your short stay with us when your flight was delayed. We were very pleased to read how well you were looked after and your comments will be shared with all our staff. Thank you once again, we hope to see you again under different circumstances - thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,467 - 1,473 of 1,651 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

i could not fault the service, the room or the location this is a country style hotel with a good choice of food served to a high starndard by polite helpfull staff
the room was a club king with loverly veiws of the grounds and more than ample space, the jacuzzi bath was a bonus and the leisure facitilltys on site helped us relax and unwind
the management where helpfull and welcoming and i have recomend this to many of our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamedos60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the service and facilities provided. We hope you will return again soon and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Hotel is a sprawling 2 floor hotel without a lift. We had to change rooms before we even arrived at our first room as it was so far from reception and there was no lift. The second room was grim and dark and in desparate need of renovation. The TV picture was so dark and there was no way to adjust it. All in all a very disappointing experience and not a good start to our trip!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank _suewells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We are very sorry you found our accommodation to be below your expectations and that overall you felt very disappointed. May I assure you your comments have been noted and we wish to apologise most sincerely for your inconvenience.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed at the hotel for a business conference which also took place at the hotel. First of all, the hotel is in the middle of a huge parking lot. I think they offer "stay and park"... The surroundings are nice and so is the bar/pub. The hotel is a labyrinth and it can be tricky to find your room or the reception. The rooms are nothing special - they really need a refurbishment. My room was very hot and since the only security when opening the window was a strap, I had to keep it closed (my room was on the ground floor). The breakfast was okay but the various foods were emptied and not filled again. The lunch was quite good and the conference arrangement too. Staff was helpful but the reception was understaffed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your conference with us. We are very sorry the accommodation provided was very hot and you were forced to close your window. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager for his attention. We were naturally very pleased to read you enjoyed the surroundings and our gardens and that your conference was well cared for.
Thank you once again for your reivew.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

As my flight connection times were too short, I decided to stay overnight near Gatwick and then opted to spend two nights at Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel. The reception area and Library Bar are a most welcoming entrance and the front desk personnel pleasant and efficient. The room and bath were both top notch, clean, well-stocked, even to the point of extra towels. The shuttle bus from the airport is a separate concession and is scheduled (as the airport info desk person told me) to run every hour which it did. The price had so recently increased to 4 pounds from 3 that on my return to the airport, the driver told me 3 and had to correct himself. I ate in the buffet for breakfast, the Library for lunches, and the pub for evening meals - never tried to main restaurant as I really didn't want so large a meal. All food was as advertised (someone commented on "mushy peas" - the menu indicates "mashed peas"), good, well-served, and reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StJohnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much for writing a review following your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you extended your stay to two nights and that you enjoyed the hotel, food and service provided. We do hope you will return in the near future and thank you for recommending our hotel to family and friends.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed for one night on 31st May 2010 prior to flying to Barbados and left the car until our return.

In summary - upon arrival one of the children sat down on the double bed and it tipped up - the reason.......the bed only had three legs! We changed rooms and pleasingly secured a bed with a leg at each corner this time......shame some of the light switches were broken and the bathroom was grubby.

We had a meal in the evening which despite being simple fare was largely inedible - cold mushy peas, lumpy gravy etc. but as we were about to fly out on holiday we decided to let this pass and concentrate on going away.

However upon our return the pick up bus did not arrive when expected. When we called up to find out where it was we were told that it had changed timetables and now arrived on an hourly basis - despite being told when we left the car at reception that it was every half hour.

We joined others waiting for the same bus who had been there for an hour and a quarter. This hotel charges for you to use this bus in addition to charging you to stay at the hotel and charging you to park there - when we attempted to pay the driver (who was quite rude) we were told that prices had gone up by over 30% whilst we were away! Not having much choice but to pay this, we boarded the bus only to find out that it was a normal passenger bus with nowhere to store suitcases so we had to basically leave them with everyone else's at the front of the bus. As soon as we pulled away the cases began moving all over the place, hitting passengers legs everytime the bus braked and getting knocked all over the place. I'm pretty sure this breaks health and safety laws......

The most shocking thing was that attitude of the Copthorne manager when we escalated this to him - he dismissed us straight away and told him that the bus service was nothing to do with the hotel and handed us a scrap of paper and told us to call the bus company manager and take it up with him. When we told him that we booked the parking through the hotel web site as a package he still said it was not his problem and nothing to do with the hotel. In short the manager would not apologise, empathise, refund or even hint at caring.

I have travelled all over the world, have stayed in many hotels and used other long stay parking services offered. I consider myself reasonable and have never written a bad review on tripadviser before - however this hotel is shocking and the manager if he actually cares or takes any pride in what he does should be thoroughly ashamed of himself.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juschillin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for writing a review on our hotel following your stay with us at the end of May. We apologise for the delay in responding to your review. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused when you had to wait for the shuttle bus and then found the price had been increased from £3 to £4. Unfortunately, the company who operate our bus service gave us very little warning regarding this change, we apologise most sincerely and hope you will consider returning to the hotel when you are next travelling from Gatwick.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I liked everything about this hotel. Its location is great and just a few minutes to Gatwick Airport with regularly scheduled bus service. My room was very clean, comfortable and well furnished. Service was excellent. I was getting the bus to the airport just before 6 AM. I called for a porter. He was there in minutes, took my luggage to the bus pick up point and waited until the bus arrived and put the luggage on the bus. Very much enjoyed lunch as well as a light meal in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlagt2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much for your comments on our hotel, we were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly. I do hope we may look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £59 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing