We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice location let down by a poor quality hotel.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice location let down by a poor quality hotel.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I was disapointed with this hotel.
I had to change rooms 3 times upon arrival. Two rooms had air con that did not work. Finally had a room on the first floor. Room is dated and run down. Paint flaking off the walls and mould around the bath and sink. The shower in the bath is low, i'm not tall about 5'8 and it reached my upper back. The roof in bathrooms on the first floor room slope, so even I had to bed in the shower to use it!
First floor room are also without net curtains, so you can't have any daylight in the room with out others on the same floor being able to see in your room. They are arranged in such a way that they look out with a courtyard like arrangement.

Staff are fairly friendly but have to be pushed to resolve problems!
Breakfast is one of he worst I have had at any hotel! Dried fried eggs and over cooked and dry bacon. You almost have to tackle a waiter to have them bring tea and coffee to your table.
The internet access is SLOW! Please do not waste money on it.
This hotel could do with a huge renovation it get it back to modern standards. I'm not sure how it got it's 4 stars!
I have stayed at the hotel several times over the past few months and, alas the quality of the stay has remained the same.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyin_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were very sorry to read that you had to move rooms several times and that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. A copy of your review has been passed to our Maintenance Manager who will examine the room you occupied. Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay. We have also passed your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and General Manager. We naturally hope you will reconsider and return to the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick when you are next in the area.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    506
    290
    159
    127
See reviews for
224
765
66
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I go on holiday a lot (around 7-10 times a year) and the thing I always look forward to most (in terms of hotel stop-off stays) is the Copthorne Hotel stay before flying with Easyjet, Virgin Atlantic etc at Gatwick.

It's a lovely airport hotel. Near enough to be able to reach the airport quickly, far enough away to be able to enjoy a quiet night's sleep.
Huge bedrooms, nice old-style decor and rooms, with everything you'd expect like desk, drink-making facilities and big bathroom. We had 1 room sleeping 4 of us so there were 2 double beds and a nice big window.
Loads of places to sit, lovely gardens to sit out in as well and you can have a drink (reasonably priced) from the bar.
We had a couple of problems with the TV, lighting and a bed (think someone broke it and they didn't realise), but they were sorted out ASAP.
I think you can park your car there and leave it when you go away but I always use Gatwick parking so I don't have to take public transport to far away from the airport just in case there's a problem.
Must have been there over 15 times, and never had a bad experience.
In fact, I often get nostalgic when talking about this hotel, especially now because I've got the holiday blues, because it holds so many fond memories of being excited before holidays and it's just a lovely hotel.

I would just say that I have also stayed at a Travelodge nearby and by comparison, the Copthorne is so much better in every way. But, when I go elsewhere, I do tend to use Premier Inns because they're very good value for money and if the Copthorne wasn't there I'd use a Premier Inn because they're lovely as well. However, this hotel is always a good start to the holiday and deserves 5 stars in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laulau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you very much indeed for writing such favourable comments about your recent  stay with your family prior to your holiday.     It is always most gratifying when a guest returns to us regularly and continues to enjoy the hotel and facilities we offer.     We do offer long stay car parking at the hotel for guests going on holiday and we provide a shuttle bus service to and from the airport (there is a charge for this).     We do hope you and your family had a fantastic holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.    Best wishes,Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed overnight before an early flight and the service was good and very efficient. Our room was very spacious but probably a bit dated compared to modern hotels. But there were good connections to the airport and including the parking it was pretty good value fo money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall and found the shuttle bus to the airport convenient. We have noted that you feel your room was a bit dated - this information has been passed to our General Manager as we are constantly looking to improve our product and we appreciate all constructive feedback from our guests. Thank you once again, I hope we may look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We were more than happily surprised to find this perfect hotel when we were stranded after a cancelled flight back to Copenhagen! Not in your wildest dreams could you imagine such staff and such a good hotel in the middle of nowhere! So, whenever you’re looking for an incredibly friendly and obliging staff, tidy and comfortable rooms, splendid breakfast plus quick and close access to the Gatwick Airport you’ll find Copthorne Hotel being the best choice. To us, ending a wonderful journey in such a stressful situation, it was worth a fortune to be treated as king and queen by the best staff we’ve ever met!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridandHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you very much indeed for writing such compliments regarding your short stay with us when your flight was delayed. We were very pleased to read how well you were looked after and your comments will be shared with all our staff. Thank you once again, we hope to see you again under different circumstances - thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

i could not fault the service, the room or the location this is a country style hotel with a good choice of food served to a high starndard by polite helpfull staff
the room was a club king with loverly veiws of the grounds and more than ample space, the jacuzzi bath was a bonus and the leisure facitilltys on site helped us relax and unwind
the management where helpfull and welcoming and i have recomend this to many of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llamedos60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you very much for posting a review on our hotel. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the service and facilities provided. We hope you will return again soon and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

Hotel is a sprawling 2 floor hotel without a lift. We had to change rooms before we even arrived at our first room as it was so far from reception and there was no lift. The second room was grim and dark and in desparate need of renovation. The TV picture was so dark and there was no way to adjust it. All in all a very disappointing experience and not a good start to our trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank _suewells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you for writing a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We are very sorry you found our accommodation to be below your expectations and that overall you felt very disappointed. May I assure you your comments have been noted and we wish to apologise most sincerely for your inconvenience.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

I stayed at the hotel for a business conference which also took place at the hotel. First of all, the hotel is in the middle of a huge parking lot. I think they offer "stay and park"... The surroundings are nice and so is the bar/pub. The hotel is a labyrinth and it can be tricky to find your room or the reception. The rooms are nothing special - they really need a refurbishment. My room was very hot and since the only security when opening the window was a strap, I had to keep it closed (my room was on the ground floor). The breakfast was okay but the various foods were emptied and not filled again. The lunch was quite good and the conference arrangement too. Staff was helpful but the reception was understaffed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 1 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your conference with us. We are very sorry the accommodation provided was very hot and you were forced to close your window. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet have been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager for his attention. We were naturally very pleased to read you enjoyed the surroundings and our gardens and that your conference was well cared for.
Thank you once again for your reivew.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing