We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My boyfriend and I booked to stay at this hotel because of the cheap deal they have for airport parking. I have previously stayed at Copthorne Effingham Park twice and regret not booking that hotel instead.
We arrived at around 9pm having already checked in for our flight with Thomson at Gatwick a day early. Check-in was quick and easy. When we arrived at our room we discovered it had an unpleasant damp stale smell so we returned to reception and requested a change of rooms. The receptionist said there were not many rooms still available and suggested the only option was a twin room. He then said he had a small double which we decided to give a go. Having found our way to the second room we discovered it was actually a small single room with a 3ft bed (it did not smell bad though). Not wanting to face an uncomfortable night's sleep we returned to reception to request a different room. We were then offered a twin room which we accepted although it was tempting to drive back to Brighton and take a taxi to Gatwick next morning instead. The room was not particularly nice and the beds were uncomfortable so neither myself or my partner were able to sleep very well.
The next morning we checked out at 6am before breakfast was served (so cannot comment on the food) and took the shuttle bus to the airport. The airport parking service at this hotel was very good. There were no problems retrieving the car on our return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank als76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations as far as your room was concerned and that you were forced to move rooms. We are, however, very glad to read that you found the hotel convenient for the airport and parking. We hope you will return to us in the near future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,525 - 1,531 of 1,718 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2010

This hotel could be very nice as generally the facilities and what it has to offer are ok but it is out dated rooms and the food is not good and over priced. Upon arrival we were put in a family room on the first floor, now given that we requested a travel cot we would have assumed the hotel would realise we may have a pram with us, we were unaware that there is not a lift and therefore we had to leave our double pram in reception and carry our babies up and down the stairs. The other problems with the room were, single glazed windows with mould all around the frames, wall light not working, tv not working, cold tap on the sink not working, mould around the bath, low shower, shower has hardly any water pressure, chipped paint on the walls, no nets on the windows. The problem with the food, seriously overpriced sandwiches in the bar, stale bread. The problem with the food in the brasarie was hardly any choice on the salad bar and not much food on the carvery, and we had to serve ourselves and slice the meat. The tables were not cleared after the starters and so we had to request they were removed. The food at breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice. Now, there are good aspects to this hotel ie, nice staff and the public areas are nice and clean etc. but the rooms need updating, windows replaced and the food need to be reassessed for value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdaviseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your review on our hotel following your recent stay with your family. All comments made by our guests are treated very seriously indeed. As you can imagine, at this time of the year we are very busy with family rooms,families going on holiday. Several of our family rooms are upstairs and we have no alternative but to allocate these when we are busy. We agree you should have been offered help with your young babies and it must have been a struggle going up and down the stairs, please accept our apologies for this. We have also taken on board your comments regarding your room and the standard of food on the carvery. We were naturally happy to read your comments about our staff and the choice of food at breakfast. Please be assured that our Property Maintenance Manager is actioning your comments with regard to your room.
We are aware you have given us your feedback via our website and will be writing to separately.
Thank you very much for your honest and constructive feedback.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

This was meant to be the first day of our honeymoon on our way to Jamaica. What a disaster. The resturant and reception areas is of a good quality. The rooms are dated with shabby decor and mould in the bathroom. The food at the hotel on 21/5/10 was a disaster. The first meal we ordered a ham and cheese pannini and cajun chicken and red pepper pannini. If there was 7 flakes of cheese we were lucky and there was only 1 strip of pepper, It was also cold. I returned the food in disgust. Second meal in the pub Gammon, egg, and chips and sausage & mash with gravy. Chips were cold, eggs were uncooked, the mash was so cold it was if it had been taken straight from the fridge. I returned them both only to be sent the plate of gamon, egg and chips back out in 2 mins thy had grilled the chips and they were burnt and the eggs were as hard as stones. Needless to say I returned it all. Third time lucky I tried the bistro and was reassured thed food would be excellent it wasnt it was still luke warm. I cant tell you how dissgusted me and my wife were with the hotel. The food standars agrency would have a field day here. I would appreciate a call off the manager to discuss. Tel 07779145849

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thank you for your review on our hotel following your recent stay with us at the beginning of your honeymoon. We were extremely upset and sorry to read your comments regarding your meals in the hotel. We have already passed your comments to our Head Chef and our Food and Beverage Manager is going to telephone you. We normally receive many compliments regarding our food so please be assured we have taken your comments very seriously. We do hope you had a wonderful honeymoon and that you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I would like say that the Copthorn Hotel Gatwick was amazing & Beautiful first we met Sandra upon checking in she was wonderful and a great help.The hotel is a 17th century barn that has been added on and converted the white swan bar is the oldest part of the hotel & the grounds are simply relaxing, romantic & wonderful. Everyone from the Maid staff to the management were helpful, understanding & very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas the cab ride from the hotel into either Crawley or Three bridges range from 6 to 8 pounds. The hotel is close to the Gatwick airport and a train ride from London.

I would recommend the Copthorn Highly to anyone

p.s if your really up for an adventure ask about the ghost lol

pictures will follow later

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thank you very much for your review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful and friendly, especially our Front Office staff, Sandra in particular. We do hope you will return soon and we look forward to welcoming you then.
Kindest regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I am responding to many a negative review...Not that this will be a problem to this very busy well located Hotel!!!!
We were booked in here as we were attending the 1st day of The Royal International Horse show at Hickstead!!!
We knew where it was..so, not a problem locating it...Car Parking is easy and free. Check in was very efficient..Hotel Grounds and Reception are in First Class condition. The staff were VERY Pleasant, Smart, Welcoming and in Full Uniform!!!
The room has everything required of a Hotel Bedroom..It was quiet and clean and comfortable.
We went out for Dinner to a Local Restaurant at Shipley Bridge..But came back to The Hotel for coffee.
Breakfast was Amazing!!! nothing here to complain about at all!!!
I MUST mention the Young Lady who starts work at 5.30am to set-up breakfast which was available from 6.30am..The other staff start at 7.00am. She had set-up the whole place to a fantastic standard..it was immaculate!!! She was very efficient, clean and Happy in her job...unusual nowadays????
Check out was no problem and the hotel was Fully Booked!!!
We stayed last year in a very expensive Executive Room at The Crown Plaza in Crawley..The Copthorne will be MY choice in the Future!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for posting a review on our hotel following your stay this weekend when you attended the Royal International Horse Show at Hickstead. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the facilities and service provided over what is always a busy weekend for us with so many guests attending the Horse Show. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, in particular our Restaurant Supervisor. Your comments will be passed on to her. Thank you once again for recommending our hotel to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back again for next year's Horse Show.
Kind Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I stayed here for one night after a business meeting and to be honest I wasn't impressed with the hotel. The reception and the check-in staff left a good first impression, check in was quick, smiling staff etc. However the room wasn't the most pleasant. I was told I had been upgraded to a 'club' room, however I couldn't really see any benefits. The room was a bit of a trek from the main reception - this wasn't an issue for me, however could be for an elderly couple. The room was quite small, the carpet on the floor had a few stains and the appearance in general was rather dated. Added to this I couldn't get the TV to work
I think the majority of the trade comes from people wishing to stay close by to Gatwick and on that basis they will always have a steady flow of people. So not much money has been spent upgrading the rooms, as there will always be business.
I'd say that if you wanted a quick visit, overnight for a flight the next morning, then this place is OK. But definitely no longer than overnight.
As a previous reviewer has said, location is great, hotel leaves a lot to be desired!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellover6128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We were pleased to read you were greeted by our friendly reception, however, we were naturally disappointed that you felt your Club room did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been passed to our General Manager and Head Housekeeper. We are aware our hotel may appear slightly 'old fashioned' compared with some hotels in the Gatwick area and we do have a refurbishment programme which is carried out in stages. Thank you once again for posting your review and we hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I was disapointed with this hotel.
I had to change rooms 3 times upon arrival. Two rooms had air con that did not work. Finally had a room on the first floor. Room is dated and run down. Paint flaking off the walls and mould around the bath and sink. The shower in the bath is low, i'm not tall about 5'8 and it reached my upper back. The roof in bathrooms on the first floor room slope, so even I had to bed in the shower to use it!
First floor room are also without net curtains, so you can't have any daylight in the room with out others on the same floor being able to see in your room. They are arranged in such a way that they look out with a courtyard like arrangement.

Staff are fairly friendly but have to be pushed to resolve problems!
Breakfast is one of he worst I have had at any hotel! Dried fried eggs and over cooked and dry bacon. You almost have to tackle a waiter to have them bring tea and coffee to your table.
The internet access is SLOW! Please do not waste money on it.
This hotel could do with a huge renovation it get it back to modern standards. I'm not sure how it got it's 4 stars!
I have stayed at the hotel several times over the past few months and, alas the quality of the stay has remained the same.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyin_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We were very sorry to read that you had to move rooms several times and that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. A copy of your review has been passed to our Maintenance Manager who will examine the room you occupied. Please accept our apologies for your disappointing stay. We have also passed your comments to our Food and Beverage Manager and General Manager. We naturally hope you will reconsider and return to the Copthorne Hotel Gatwick when you are next in the area.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
3 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
2.4 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza London-Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing