We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,778)
Filter reviews
1,778 results
Traveller rating
491
603
343
188
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
603
343
188
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslion d'orlibrary barwhite swanhealth clubtaxi servicecar parkinglondon gatwickdays parkingshuttle busbuffet stylestayed here for one nightstandard roomlong haul flightpre flight staypark and flyan overnight staynight's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
1,581 - 1,586 of 1,778 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed one night and left the car there for two weeks. This hotel is well past its best.. Its dark and basically depressing, not a good start to a holiday. Will certainly try some where different. Also found that on return to home a pair of sunglasses had gone missing from the car albeit a cheap pair. Go somewhere else.!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaguar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Myself and my girlfriend were on our way from the United States for vacation/holiday in Germany. We had to make an unexpected stop in the Gatwick area before our flight departed to Geneva. The Copthorne, London Gatwick on the Expedia.co.uk website looked inviting with pictures of the rooms etc. We duly booked one night's accommodation.

We waited at Gatwick's North terminal for over 40 minutes for a shuttle bus to find out from the hotel that they only ran every 1 hour 10 minutes, we then elected to pay the 11 pounds for a taxi to the hotel, as the bus was at least another 30 minutes away and was also 4 pounds per person. I would suggest that anyone was wants the convenience that they book a taxi, also anyone with a family that consists of 2 adults and 2 children it may be more economic to book a taxi direct than wait for the bus. The taxi company is called United taxis and the phone number is [----]. That's if you decide to take the risk or have already booked at the hotel.

Our disastrous stay started off with the over inflated price for wireless internet access for our laptops that was priced at 12 pounds for 24 hours, not only was it totally inflated, there was no wireless coverage in our room and the wireless coverage only extended to lobby areas.

The drinks prices again were over inflated and a pint of strong lager such as Stella was 4.30 a pint which is more expensive than Central London prices.

Our worst nightmare was yet to come when we booked a wake up call at 5.30 am in the morning, the wake up call did work, but luckily we had set our phones for a back-up alarm. We tried to take the reception up on this and they blabbed a load of crap excuses that contained no merit. Once that was sorted we then started to take showers to find out that there was no cold water feed to the shower and only hot water!!
We were given another key for another room, were there was cold water but the cold water was of very low pressure and the shower was still very very hot when the least amount of hot water was selected and the maximum amount of cold water was added. Far far to hot to shower a child.

Other bad experiences included the staff not knowing any good Indian restaurants in the local town. When we asked the concierge staff about the Indian restaurants there answer was sorry we don't eat Indian. They did not have the intellect to ask someone or do some research, How totally pathetic.

As for everything else the hallways were musty, the outside of the building around the accommodation was in desperate need of refurbishment, the hallways spelt of damp, there was no air conditioning in the room, and also no elevator in the building.

When we eventually checked out the staff were uninterested and I advised them that I did not want too pay for my room until I had spoken with the management. the aggressive staff advised me that I could not leave the building until I paid. they are obviously well trained and highly versed in dealing with irate customers as the majority of there Millennium hotels training must be focused on this sort of issue as the hotel is a complete dump. We also noticed stacks of cars parked in a field in the hotel grounds when we went for a walk, maybe they park your car in a nice car park then when you get on your flight move it to a cow field, to keep the cows company, then the day before you get back they will move back to a nice car park. However this is only speculation may I add

Please do not stay there, you have options this hotel has a captive audience with it been near Gatwick and we are lucky enough to be able to afford to travel on regular basis. I don't even want to think what an experience like this could have done to a family if they had saved up for a long time and this was the start of there holiday that they had worked so hard for!

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jerseygirl080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband and two children aged 8 and 11 had the unfortunate experience to stay at this hotel .The rooms are nothing like their website describes .Words like old, smelly ,mouldy and small spring to mind . After the night porter squeezed in the forth bed we were unable to open our cases. and probably could have boiled the kettle ,turned on tv and answered the door without even getting out of bed.The worst hotel Ihave ever stayed at.Apart from the reception area it needs to be knocked down and rebuilt

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
3  Thank jamesmullan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your review on our hotel, we are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. It would appear you were allocated a room which was designed for two adults and one child so we apologise most sincerely for this and your disappointing stay.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My boyfriend and I booked to stay at this hotel because of the cheap deal they have for airport parking. I have previously stayed at Copthorne Effingham Park twice and regret not booking that hotel instead.
We arrived at around 9pm having already checked in for our flight with Thomson at Gatwick a day early. Check-in was quick and easy. When we arrived at our room we discovered it had an unpleasant damp stale smell so we returned to reception and requested a change of rooms. The receptionist said there were not many rooms still available and suggested the only option was a twin room. He then said he had a small double which we decided to give a go. Having found our way to the second room we discovered it was actually a small single room with a 3ft bed (it did not smell bad though). Not wanting to face an uncomfortable night's sleep we returned to reception to request a different room. We were then offered a twin room which we accepted although it was tempting to drive back to Brighton and take a taxi to Gatwick next morning instead. The room was not particularly nice and the beds were uncomfortable so neither myself or my partner were able to sleep very well.
The next morning we checked out at 6am before breakfast was served (so cannot comment on the food) and took the shuttle bus to the airport. The airport parking service at this hotel was very good. There were no problems retrieving the car on our return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank als76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry we did not meet your expectations as far as your room was concerned and that you were forced to move rooms. We are, however, very glad to read that you found the hotel convenient for the airport and parking. We hope you will return to us in the near future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This hotel could be very nice as generally the facilities and what it has to offer are ok but it is out dated rooms and the food is not good and over priced. Upon arrival we were put in a family room on the first floor, now given that we requested a travel cot we would have assumed the hotel would realise we may have a pram with us, we were unaware that there is not a lift and therefore we had to leave our double pram in reception and carry our babies up and down the stairs. The other problems with the room were, single glazed windows with mould all around the frames, wall light not working, tv not working, cold tap on the sink not working, mould around the bath, low shower, shower has hardly any water pressure, chipped paint on the walls, no nets on the windows. The problem with the food, seriously overpriced sandwiches in the bar, stale bread. The problem with the food in the brasarie was hardly any choice on the salad bar and not much food on the carvery, and we had to serve ourselves and slice the meat. The tables were not cleared after the starters and so we had to request they were removed. The food at breakfast was lovely and there was lots of choice. Now, there are good aspects to this hotel ie, nice staff and the public areas are nice and clean etc. but the rooms need updating, windows replaced and the food need to be reassessed for value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdaviseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your review on our hotel following your recent stay with your family. All comments made by our guests are treated very seriously indeed. As you can imagine, at this time of the year we are very busy with family rooms,families going on holiday. Several of our family rooms are upstairs and we have no alternative but to allocate these when we are busy. We agree you should have been offered help with your young babies and it must have been a struggle going up and down the stairs, please accept our apologies for this. We have also taken on board your comments regarding your room and the standard of food on the carvery. We were naturally happy to read your comments about our staff and the choice of food at breakfast. Please be assured that our Property Maintenance Manager is actioning your comments with regard to your room.
We are aware you have given us your feedback via our website and will be writing to separately.
Thank you very much for your honest and constructive feedback.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews