We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average rooms, poor food and bad parking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Average rooms, poor food and bad parking!”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here through HolidayExtras - 1 night and then 8 nights parking bout £80. Cheap admitedly but we stayed at the Courtyard Marriot last time (soooo much nicer for the same price!).
Our room was on the second floor and there was no lift - so with rather heavy holiday suitcases it was not fun! The room was average - a bit odd to be honest. But seemed clean (we arrived and left in the dark)....
As we had just driven 2/3 hours to get there we decided to eat at the joining pub (The White Swan) - it was v expensive (drinks esp - I lived in London for 4 years so used to high prices but this was more than that) - my steak and ale pie was luke warm and v salty! The choice of food was also v limited.
The hotel was quiet enough to get some sleep before the early flight - which was the main thing.
The thing that really got me was that when we returned to the hotel to collect the car you get told to go left through the hotel car park and into the field - and they are not joking! With heavy suitcases after a long day travelling the last thing you want to do is lugg all of your stuff through 2 car parks and then into a field full of cars with no idea where yours is (we were lucky - there was a guy coming out who told us were all the departure cars were)! Also our car was not locked - I am sure it had only been moved the night before or something but still I dont think that is acceptable.
Oh and one last compliant (I know I am going on) - the bus to the airport is every hour starting at 5am - so didnt suit us at all - also every hour seems infrequent to me, with 2 travellers it was only £3 cheaper in total than a taxi - I'll let you guess which one we took!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Although as we understand you found your accommodation satisfactory, you were dissatisfied with your meal and the parking arrangements. Firstly, may we apologise for your disappointing meal in the White Swan Pub. We have passed your comments on to our chef, it is a shame as normally the steak and ale pie is one of our most popular dishes. Regarding your return from holiday and the collection of your car, we do park cars in our long term car park at the rear of the hotel. The cars are then brought round by our car parking attendants to a pick up area. I am very sorry you had to go and find your car in the long term car park. I have asked our Car Park Manager to explain how this could have happened. With regard to our shuttle bus and transport to the airport, we found that when we operated a more regular service so many buses were running with no passengers so we reverted to an hourly service which generally suits most people. We have also negotiated a very good price with a local taxi company therefore giving our guests the choice. When there are two or more travellers they may certainly select a taxi rather than the bus as this is more economical. I hope I have answered your questions and hope that we may look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    512
    296
    161
    129
See reviews for
229
772
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Were told to check in after 2pm, Got there at 3pm and no family rooms available; went to have lunch and got back at 4:30pm. Still no Family Rooms available and we were given a story about "we say arrive after 2pm but don't guarantee the rooms will be available" The staff were helpful in getting us a room fixed up but only after we'd complained; they also expressed a certain impatience with our questioning this policy.

Not a pleasant experience and everything else about the place is mediocre: avoid if you can.

The swimming pool is a rather unclean little pool in the nearby LA Fitness, don't expect a great workout.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewartkrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel following your recent stay. We are very sorry you had to wait for your room which should have been available at 2.00 p.m. Although the summer is a busy time for us for family rooms this is no excuse for you and your family to have waited so long, please accept our apologies. The level of customer service you experienced at our Front Office has been discussed with our Front Office Manager. We have also passed your comments on to the Manager of L A Fitness who provide our Health and Fitness Club. We are very sorry you felt disappointed with your stay and hope that you will reconsider and return to us in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I were booked on a flight to America and decided to stop at the Copthorne the night before. The holiday was our honeymoon and we wanted it to start on a high and it did. On arrival at check in we met Donna who was excellent. She was chatty, friendly and incredibly helpful.

Once checked in we went to the room which was very nice. We also ate in the pub attached to the hotel and found the meal to be reasonable priced and tasty. The hotel is also perfectly located for Gatwick airport and transfers where quick and easy.

Overall an excellent start to our honeymoon,

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel following your stay at the beginning of your honeymoon. We were so glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay and hope you have had a wonderful honeymoon, also that you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Best Wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

It's not often we ask to change rooms but when the fan in the room is encrusted with grim and clearly not cleaned for months then that is the last straw; also had to pay £5 unexpectedly for leaving the car over night in the hotel car park. The swimming pool opened 1 1/2 hours after the advertised time - long after we had left.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the poor standard of cleanliness in your room which necessitated a room move. Cleaning and checking of fans is part of our maintenance programme, we are therefore investigating why the fan had not been cleaned. With regard to the £5.00 car parking charge, we are very sorry you were not informed of this charge, details regarding this charge appear on our website under Guest Services. We are very sorry you were disappointed not to have a swim, although our Health Club is operated by LA Fitness, they would normally advise us if for any reason the club had to open late, once again our apologies.
We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future when I hope we will be given the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Stayed one night and left the car there for two weeks. This hotel is well past its best.. Its dark and basically depressing, not a good start to a holiday. Will certainly try some where different. Also found that on return to home a pair of sunglasses had gone missing from the car albeit a cheap pair. Go somewhere else.!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaguar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Myself and my girlfriend were on our way from the United States for vacation/holiday in Germany. We had to make an unexpected stop in the Gatwick area before our flight departed to Geneva. The Copthorne, London Gatwick on the Expedia.co.uk website looked inviting with pictures of the rooms etc. We duly booked one night's accommodation.

We waited at Gatwick's North terminal for over 40 minutes for a shuttle bus to find out from the hotel that they only ran every 1 hour 10 minutes, we then elected to pay the 11 pounds for a taxi to the hotel, as the bus was at least another 30 minutes away and was also 4 pounds per person. I would suggest that anyone was wants the convenience that they book a taxi, also anyone with a family that consists of 2 adults and 2 children it may be more economic to book a taxi direct than wait for the bus. The taxi company is called United taxis and the phone number is [----]. That's if you decide to take the risk or have already booked at the hotel.

Our disastrous stay started off with the over inflated price for wireless internet access for our laptops that was priced at 12 pounds for 24 hours, not only was it totally inflated, there was no wireless coverage in our room and the wireless coverage only extended to lobby areas.

The drinks prices again were over inflated and a pint of strong lager such as Stella was 4.30 a pint which is more expensive than Central London prices.

Our worst nightmare was yet to come when we booked a wake up call at 5.30 am in the morning, the wake up call did work, but luckily we had set our phones for a back-up alarm. We tried to take the reception up on this and they blabbed a load of crap excuses that contained no merit. Once that was sorted we then started to take showers to find out that there was no cold water feed to the shower and only hot water!!
We were given another key for another room, were there was cold water but the cold water was of very low pressure and the shower was still very very hot when the least amount of hot water was selected and the maximum amount of cold water was added. Far far to hot to shower a child.

Other bad experiences included the staff not knowing any good Indian restaurants in the local town. When we asked the concierge staff about the Indian restaurants there answer was sorry we don't eat Indian. They did not have the intellect to ask someone or do some research, How totally pathetic.

As for everything else the hallways were musty, the outside of the building around the accommodation was in desperate need of refurbishment, the hallways spelt of damp, there was no air conditioning in the room, and also no elevator in the building.

When we eventually checked out the staff were uninterested and I advised them that I did not want too pay for my room until I had spoken with the management. the aggressive staff advised me that I could not leave the building until I paid. they are obviously well trained and highly versed in dealing with irate customers as the majority of there Millennium hotels training must be focused on this sort of issue as the hotel is a complete dump. We also noticed stacks of cars parked in a field in the hotel grounds when we went for a walk, maybe they park your car in a nice car park then when you get on your flight move it to a cow field, to keep the cows company, then the day before you get back they will move back to a nice car park. However this is only speculation may I add

Please do not stay there, you have options this hotel has a captive audience with it been near Gatwick and we are lucky enough to be able to afford to travel on regular basis. I don't even want to think what an experience like this could have done to a family if they had saved up for a long time and this was the start of there holiday that they had worked so hard for!

Hope this helps

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerseygirl080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My husband and two children aged 8 and 11 had the unfortunate experience to stay at this hotel .The rooms are nothing like their website describes .Words like old, smelly ,mouldy and small spring to mind . After the night porter squeezed in the forth bed we were unable to open our cases. and probably could have boiled the kettle ,turned on tv and answered the door without even getting out of bed.The worst hotel Ihave ever stayed at.Apart from the reception area it needs to be knocked down and rebuilt

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank jamesmullan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 18 August 2010
Thank you for your review on our hotel, we are very sorry you were so disappointed with your stay. It would appear you were allocated a room which was designed for two adults and one child so we apologise most sincerely for this and your disappointing stay.
Yours sincerely
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing