We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definatly returning!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definatly returning!”
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We'eve stayed in many hotel in and around the area and compared to them this is the only one that we'd happily return to!

It was a leisure trip for us both and couldn't have been more pleasant. Arrived late evening and had a speedy friendly check in with no problems. The grounds are really really nice with its own separate pub next to a nice pond.

Rooms were really nice and clean, aswell as being reasonably spacious with the facilities you expect to be in the room (kettle, tea, coffee, biscuits, iron, wi-fi etc)

Rooms were decorated nicely with a clean, modern feel to them, bathroom was nice with a good shower/bath. Bed are nice and comfy and had a good nights sleep.

Service in the bar/pub was rather slow and frustrating. There were only two people in front of us and it seemed to take forever for the guy to complete the drinks order and take their money. Although it was nearly 10pm and coming to end of the shift, but no excuses to slack with minimum customers. Pub food was good, although a little pricey but the drinks prices were reasonable.

This was the only thing I can say that annoyed me slightly, apart from that....

-The hotel is in a good location
-lovely grounds
-Very clean
-Good food & drinks
-GREAT rooms

If this is compared to the rip off prices that the Ramada down the road charge and their disapointing rooms, service, prices etc then the Copthorne wins everytime.

I will be returning to this hotel again as we havent found anything that compares to this hotel FOR ONLY £55 PER ROOM IF YOU BOOK ONLINE!

This is what a hotel should be like, everything to be what you expect and a great price to keep happy customers returning over and over!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danboy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 2 October 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. We were extremely pleased to read how much you enjoyed the hotel and services provided. All guest feedback is reviewed by our General Manager and shared with the management team and staff, so thank you for your compliments. It is always good to know we are providing good value for money so other future guests may be made aware of this. I hope it wont be long before we welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    512
    296
    161
    129
See reviews for
229
772
67
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quinsac
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The staff are friendly but some have a problem in making themselves understood in English. Their training is sometimes clearly inadequate.

Over 3 days my keycard needed remagnetising times ( my wife's 4 times also) despite care being taken to keep it away from my mobile telephone.

There is no air conditioning in the room and the plumbing is in need of renovation/ replacement.

We were here fo a Reception on 23 Sept in the Garden Room following my Mother-in Law's funeral. This was excellent both in service and catering.

Mobile telephone network is very weak in the area of the hotel.

Check in/out times are too long. Even when queues form all desks are not manned.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obelix584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Thank you for posting a review on our hotel following your recent stay and also for raising some valid points which we have taken into consideration. All guest feedback whether positive or negative is reviewed by the Manager and his team. We are very sorry you had the inconvenience of having to have your keys reprogrammed several times and also some problems with mobile phone reception. We are aware this is dependant on your mobile provider but some networks do experience problems. Thank you for your comments regarding the catering and service at your mother in law's funeral reception. Please accept our condolences for your loss. We do hope you may have the opportunity to return to us in the future under happier circumstances.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed at the Copthorne Hotel for one night before our honeymoon, and our stay was more than we could have asked for. Everything was just perfect from check in to check out .

We found a car park space close to the main doors, and check in was very quick and the reception staff were friendly and professional.
Our room was great, it was spotlessly clean and very well presented, there was plenty hot water and a spa bath.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was to die for and very reasonably priced.
As we travelled from the North East that afternoon there wasn't enough time to try out the leisure facilities, but I am sure if the rest of the hotel is anything to go by then it would definitely be worth a look.

After a cracking night sleep we were greeted with a fantastic buffet breakfast and a fast and seamless check out.

For us the Copthorne Hotel is everything we could have asked for, the hotel is clean with very professional staff and lovely grounds steeped in history, some parts of the hotel are over 600 years old.

We travel a lot and we will definitely be staying at the Copthorne hotel Gatwick again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 27 September 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the services and food provided. I am glad we were able to provide you with such a happy start to your holiday and it goes without saying how much we look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.
Best wishes
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

stayed at this hotel for the night before flying from Gatwick to Jamaica we were looked after the food was brilliant a nice start to our holidays we would be using them again,sandra was extremely helpfull and we hope to see the staff again carole and terry

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Hello and thank you very much for your great review on our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay on your way out to Jamaica. All our staff will see your review, so thank you once again and thank you for the nice comments about Sandra, our Reception Manager. Hope to see you both again soon. Kindest regards, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night, I am glad it was one night only. The hotel is actually ok with good facilities. The problem is when you get to the room. Although it was a non smoking room it was obviously once was a smoking a room as it stunk. Once I got past the smell I got into the bathroom. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling and it appeared that it had not been updated for many a year.

Then at 5.30 in the morning I had an early morning call from the bathroom above bathroom with a running tank. The bed was also very soft.

So all in all not a good nights sleep and not what you expect from such a good liooking hotel from the outside.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorks-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very sorry you felt disappointed with your overall stay and that our accommodation did not meet your expectations. We were very surprised to read about the smell in your bedroom as all our bedrooms have been non smoking ever since the smoking law came in. It was most unfortunate that you experienced a running tank in the bathroom above. We do hope that after consideration you will consider returning to us in the future.
Best regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copthorne hotels

Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

In fairness we only paid £85 for one nights residency and two weeks parking. For this and the location, the hotel is excellent value and we could have done much worse.

The good bits....
- Great price / value
- Good location to airport
- All staff were friendly and helpful
- Choice of three restaurants / bar to eat.

Considerations...
- The room felt tired
- Food and drinks expensive (£35 for two drinks and two small bar meals)
- Not due to the hotel, but the taxi £11 for a single trip was expensive as the hotel is so close to the airport.

I wouldn't want to stay for any longer than one night but would stay again to avoid an early start to the airport and also to get extremely reasonable parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCT333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are very glad you found the hotel value for money and convenient for the airport as well as offering car parking during your holiday. All guest comments are reviewed by our management so thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We booked the Copthorne, Gatwick because it seemed from their website good quality at a good price for a one night stay + up to eight days parking included for under £80...

All seemed ok from the outside, and got a close to hotel car park space easily. First impressions also upon walking into the hotel were ok and reception appeared friendly and efficient enough.

We were allocated a room on the far side of the hotel, which we thought was quite funny as it was literally miles to walk as if the hotel had been designed to get people used to walking to some of the furthest departure gates at Gatwick itself!

Eventually found our room and upon opening the door were immediately glad that it was only the one night which we were due to spend there! Horrible horrible room with artexed walls (not just ceilings), old fusty carpet, old style bulky television, and associated tired furnishings and air conditioning which when adjusted merely increased the noise of the fan and made no difference whatsoever!

We settled in, and then discovered that there were no towels, so phoned reception to ask for towels along with a wake up call the following day. An hour later and still no towels so phoned housekeeping directly. 15 minutes later an apologetic maid appeared with said towels.

Then decided to use the health facilities which involved a good pre-workout walking to reception to collect some towels to use at the health club. The health club (a branch of LA Fitness) is located at the front of the hotel and involves walking past the hotel pub and some very rundown buildings (which we assume are staff quarters - poor souls!)

We found the health club staff friendly enough upon arrival, so we went off to get changed and use the pool, sauna and steamroom facilities. No complaints about steam room and sauna; both perfectly adequate, clean and functional. The small swimming pool itself was warm and seemed clean enough, the area it is in though was very shabby and needs a lick of paint and sprucing up.

Back at the room we had bought along our own food and drink, which judging by some of the other comments about this hotel saved us a bob or two! We had an early flight the following morning so had one final workout walking to the car in order to get rid of stuff not coming on holiday with us.

Wake-up call did come through on time after an ok nights sleep, bed was very saggy, but comfy enough. Had to fill out small form and handed car keys in at reception before catching 5am shuttle bus. Was told that my car would most probably not be moved!

Upon returning from holiday could see from the shuttle bus window that car was not where it had been left. Went into reception to collect car key (upon presentation of a small ticket which they gave us the week before, which we think is open to security issues, perhaps driving license should also be required?)

Their system looked utterly shambolic and consisted of what appeared to be a very large ice cream / tupperware container with literally bundles and bundles of car keys with paper tags in ( which could so easily be mixed up / become detached). After much grubbing about the young girl eventually found our car key (in a separate ice cream container on its own!)

We were told that the car was still in the bay where it was left, we said that we didn't think it was; but went out to look anyway. Could not find car anywhere in the main car park. Could see that there were also hundreds of cars parked behind the hotel.

Went back to reception exceptionally irate and asked 'where is our car?", was told that manager would sort it out, find car and drive it round to reception for us. Five to ten minutes later a bloke in a white t-shirt and possibly jeans (the hotel manager????) drove the car round to the front. Upon being challenged at their useless service he just walked off!!

Please don't stay at this hotel if you have any sense whatsoever, it will definitely be a disappointing start to your holiday (if you are using it to stay in before you fly), and it will be luck of the draw if you get your car back easily.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick8, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are extremely sorry you found your stay so disappointing. May we assure you that all comments made by our guests are treated very seriously indeed and are reviewed by our General Manager and the management team. Owing to the nature of our building, being just ground floor and first floor, inevitably some rooms are a distance from Reception and we apologise for the inconvenience you experienced walking to and fro. More importantly, may we apologise for the delay you experienced when collecting your car. We do have a precise system in place when cars which are moved to our long term car park are brought round to a pick up area the day before the guest is due back from holiday. Unfortunately, when you returned to collect your car a staff member had been absent from work due to illness and we were slightly behind our schedule. However, we are very sorry for the standards of customer service you received, particulary from our Front Office. We do handle hundreds of cars over the summer months and receive very few complaints, once again our apologies. Thank you once again for your constructive comments, we hope you will consider returning to us in the future.
Kind regards
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
1.9 mi away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
3.0 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
0.5 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick

Property: Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
Address: Copthorne Common, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3PG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Copthorne
Copthorne London Gatwick Crawley
Copthorne London Gatwick Hotel Crawley
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing