We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great night there”
Review of Linchens

Linchens
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linchens
Ranked #3 of 3 Copthorne B&B and Inns
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a great night there”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a lovely place in a quiet area. The owner is hospitable, the room comfortable and clean. The cook has a wonderful little boy who entertained us with his cuteness and the breakfast was very tasty.

We woke up to birdsong. Idyllic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hobbit303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked in here for an overnight stay after returning from holiday and not wanting to drive the 250 miles home after being on the go for 15 hours. The reason we chose ti was it's just over the road from APH car park.
We were made very welcome by Sally. The room was warm, beautifully decorated and spotless.
We were tired ad hungry so Sally directed us to The White Star, a pub about 5 minutes away where we had a very good meal.
Linchens is tucked away from the main road and is very quiet so we had a really good nights sleep.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.
This was a perfect stopover for us after flying into Gatwick and we will go back if the need arises.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Truck_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This was the second time we have had the pleasure of staying at the Linchens. Each time we have been there to visit nearby relatives, but if ever we fly from Gatwick, this would be my first choice of an overnight stay.
Sally, our hostess, could not be kinder or more welcoming and we were served a splendid breakfast - making provision for my coeliac husband too. I had warned Sally in advance, and she not only provided gluten free bread, but biscuits and GF breakfast cereal too! Many large hotels provide less well for their coeliac guests than this little bed and breakfast, with its peaceful position and lovely garden.
We are not particularly dog lovers, but Sally's dogs were never obtrusive.
We were grateful too for the recommendation to eat in the evening at the nearby Duke's Head - a 5 minute drive with excellent food, a wonderful atmosphere and very attentive service.

Room Tip: Apparently the upstairs room has limited head clearance in the shower - but our downstairs room had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bownfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Linchens Bed & Breakfast was a fantastic option when traveling into London on a stop over for a few days. Hostess Sally was extremely helpful as she worked with the local taxi company to ensure our travel by car & transfer needs were met. Sally took much time in sharing the best places to visit, and how to utilize our time for sightseeing. I stayed with Linchens on two different stop overs, therefore in two different rooms at the B&B. They were both beautiful, comfortable and breakfast was FANTASTIC! Highly recommended ... Sally rocks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpicyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

When we arrived there had been a mix up with the booking (fault of internet booking company) but the owners at Linchens did everything possible to accommodate us and make our stay perfect.
Lovely family run guest house, honest people and happy to chat and know their clients.
Great cooked breakfast, perfect for the travel ahead.
Would definitely return again for service and very reasonable prices. Nice find!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markiberica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Linchens the night before flying out of Gatwick and were met with a lovely, friendly welcome from Sally who was a superb host.Nothing was too much trouble, the room was very comfortable and included all the complimentary toiletries you could wish for.Breakfast was superb, great selection of good quality items, the cooked breakfast we had was delicious, served in a lovely, homely dining room.Overall this was a cracking overnight stay, ample parking if you want to leave your car there whilst on holiday, lovely house in a great location and we will return to stop here the next time we fly from Gatwick.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

After a week in the hustle and bustle of London, it was so nice to have a change of pace in the lovely Copthorne area. The whole area is just beautiful, and is enchanting leading to a nice relaxed feeling. Sally is lovely, and so are her two adorable dogs who we made friends with very quickly. The room was neat as a pin, and had tea and coffee facilities in the room, a nice view over the back garden, good quality linen and finishings, and great air flow and so clean and fresh. The bathroom felt like you were in a home, and not a hotel, and was set up with little comforts to be used in case you forgot something. We stayed for two nights and had fresh towels each day. Breakfast was very nice, and was flexible to our needs which was great. Sally has a lot of local area knowledge, and made us feel very welcome and at home with her. The house is currently having a little bit of work done, however this was no disruption and caused no difficulties for us during our stay. Would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
2.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
2.6 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.6 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linchens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linchens

Property: Linchens
Address: Herons Close | New Domewood, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Linchens 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run 3 bedroom B&B which really cares individually for our clients, we offer a free transfer to Gatwick for our guests leaving a car in our long term car park. We offer return transport if you stay two nights or on your return. All our rooms are en-suite and furnished beautifully, we emphasize your comfort with a well stocked courtesy tray and all the bathroom extras and more that you would expect in a 1st class hotel. We are situated in a 3 acre woodland garden so it is very quiet at night and only having 3 rooms we do not have the noise of some larger establishments. Our guests like our friendly approach and it shows in our reviews. We would be delighted for you to stay in our en-suite rooms and enjoy a personally cooked and served English breakfast to either start or finish your break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Linchens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linchens Copthorne, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing