We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”
Review of The Old House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Copthorne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We were travelling through Europé by car. One night we had not booked a room and found this place on booking.com. We did not know anything about it and expected nothing. We met the employee Steven who wolcomed us and our little dog the kindest way. He stayed after working and was very serviceminded. The next day the owner Tim carried on with the good service. After there weeks on the road and staying at a lot of hotels and B&B this was one of the best, maybe the best stay of our trip. The food,the room and the hospitaity was the best. Our dog thought it was great too. the Wifi worked excellent.
We will definitely stay here againg.
Johan, Kristine and Ransom(the dog)

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Needed accommodation and food for one night whilst visiting Horsham. This venue proved ideal . "State of the art" accommodation and a good restaurant. Cask ales as well which was a true bonus as we are CAMRA members.

Room Tip: All rooms situated in annex to hotel at rear away from the road and all overlooking beer garden. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BobC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Thank you so much to Tim for such a brilliant stay at Old House Inn for the start of our honeymoon. We had a brilliant welcome despite being quite a bit later than promised, our room was really gorgeous and we were then whisked downstairs to enjoy our 3 course supper, which was absolutely delicious. What we enjoyed most is how relaxed and at home we felt, which is just what we needed following an exhausting weekend. It's such a brilliant spot, which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. It's also extremely convenient for Gatwick (initially why we chose it), so next time we've got a flight from there, we will definitely be staying at the Old House Inn. Thank you so much Tim - as you know, we loved it and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms, up a small flight of external stairs, are particularly spacious. We did not see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iml0vinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed overnight whilst passing through the area with work,
I usually stay in Horley in a guest house as that is all there is there but on this occasion decided to pick a pub with rooms.
Its a lovely little pub with some rooms on top and some rooms in a kind of add on in the beer garden.
Check in was easy with the manager doing the check ins and the bar. He then tok us out into the beer garden and pointed us in the direction of our room.
It was on the Ground floor with full disabled access if needed with wide doors and a full wet room.
the only thing i found unusual was that whilst your getting ready the people in the beer garden can see right into your room so you have to close the curtains.
Had a couple of drinks in the bar (bit expensive) We didnt eat in the restaurant instead deciding to get a taxi into Horley as it was very quiet in the old house.
The manager was very helpful in getting us a taxi for a good price £6 each way as any firms i called wanted £11 each way.
We had to wait outside in the beer garden until they opened the doors to let us in for breakfast.
then had to wait a good while for breakfast to be served by the cleaner in the middle of her cleaning.
Would recommend The Old house for a quiet romantic night but its a bit far away from any other life.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend away at the Old House Inn and have been really impressed by the accommodation, cuisine and hospitality. It also has an impressive open space for children to utilise while parents get on with other things. Our room was spacious, clean and ultra-modern and the bed was huge and comfortable. The only issue preventing a 5-star review was the fact that, on the first night, there was no hot water. This was quickly remedied by resetting the boiler when we drew it to the attention of the management the following morning. Unfortunately, no form of compensation was offered and we didn't press the point as it was a small inconvenience to boil the kettle in order to shave.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms would be a little noisy on warm nights if late-night revellers chose to use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jontine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lovely to visit after recent floods - lovely location and great atmosphere. Very friendly and attentive service - good food - well priced - and a lot of variety. Gardens are lovely for, hopefully, the forthcoming summer months.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Thickchick6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having made a booking on 14th November and paid £130 for a luxury double room we arrived on 29th December having driven for 5 hours to find the place locked up not a soul around broken bottles everywhere ...we walked around following handwritten signs but nothing or nobody! The rubbish bin had a full sack of onions on top..most weird! We tried calling the phone number but it was cut off! What a dump and so unloved.
We ended up driving to gatwick and booking into a hotel there.
At least they could have called us!
Disgusted

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosalindAymestrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Sofitel London Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
2.8 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
0.1 mi away
The Curious Pig in the Parlour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House Inn

Address: Effingham Road, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Copthorne
Price Range: £77 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old House Inn, despite its name and age, is actually a new country dining pub with rooms. Situated just minutes from Gatwick Airport yet with a surprisingly remote feel, the Old House Inn has been recently renovated to an exceptional standard and has been transformed into a wonderful country pub offering outstanding food, drink and accommodation. Whether you are looking for a quick lunch, a delicious evening meal, a private party, a business meeting, an overnight stay before your flight in Gatwick or a relaxing weekend away, the Old house Inn is the perfect destination pub. The Old House is part of 'Pub group of the year 2016' by the Good Pub Guide and also received a Dinner award and 4 Stars Silver for our accommodation by the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House Inn Copthorne, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing