We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family get together”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Curious Pig in the Parlour
Ranked #2 of 3 Copthorne B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family get together”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This used to be The Hedgehog and under new management has been refurbished. It is now has a very pleasant feel and look. The service was good if a little slow, but the food was a little mixed. The pizzas were lovely with a wide choice of fillings. The fish and chips was tasty and freshly cooked. Unfortunately the butternut rissoto was dry and bland. I had to ask for Parmesan to add flavour.

I can't say there was anything special about this pub but if you just want a quiet reasonably priced meal, then this place will fit the bill. We did notice a very appealing garden, which perhaps during the summer would be an attraction.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozziegrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    68
    22
    11
    16
See reviews for
27
96
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I invited my aged parents (in their 80's) and sister for a birthday lunch time meal. My parents travelled for one and a half hours to the venue on a cold day (10.12 13). The pub was FREEZING and we were told the heating had broken down. It went from bad to worse. The food was served in batches.. 3 starters then a long wait for the other two dishes (The soup spoons arrived late). This happened with the mains and the desserts.. Requested butter took a LONG time to appear as did the cranberry sauce. All the meals were very poor. A teaspoon full of carrot and swede puree (yes really) yesterday's roasts and dry parsnips, over cooked pig in blanket...... very small portions. The braised beef seemed to lack the roast shallots and stout and chestnut sauce being instead served with a 'thin gravy' , uncooked cabbage (NOT al dente ..raw) and cold mash ....nothing else A 'mean' meal Crowning glory was the cheese plate which looked good (but not as advertised-no apple..grapes instead OK) BUT the wedge of stilton, when turned over was in fact rind...yes not cheese but rind!!!!!!!!!!! INEDIBLE...........The manager in charged provided free coffe/tea (no latte spoons available) and took the price of the bottle of wine off the bill.
I DON'T THINK WE WILL BE RETURNING TO THE CURIOUS PIG..........the meal was poorly presented and very badly served... can't think of anything they got right.... Not good to freeze while you eat either.............

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StickySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Having been told by many people how good this place was we though we would pay a visit, but wish that we had not bothered. We went at lunch time and it was not particurly busy but we had to wait over 45 minutes for our food, while the seafood linguine was very nice (but nothing special) the pizza was very poor. Was cracker thin, very dry and very little topping. There were many complaints about the wait from the majority of the cutomers some even refusing to eat or pay their bill when the food did eventually turn up, no explanation given as to what the issues might have been. Could just have been a bad day but we definately won't be rushing back. Also found some of the very young staff to be a tad sacastic and rude when talking to other customers

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank care_blondbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great menu, nice staff, ambient atmosphere .....was originally The Hedgehog, which had a good reputation , so a lot to live up to!! but food was excellent, service was quick , despite being quite full and an enjoyable time was had

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CSD747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It's not easy to go out for your 10 year anniversary when you have a 10 week old baby. What we needed was a restaurant with rooms so that we could beat a hasty retreat if the baby couldn't cope with the noise or the noise the baby made wouldn't agree with other customers! This place was perfect - we had a room very close to the pub bar/restaurant and the staff were very accommodating to our needs! The room was very comfortable and cute [king size] and the restaurant was cosy and inviting. We went for a pizza starter to share so that we could manage a steak each. The spicy prawn and chorizo pizza was deliciously thin, crispy and without a soggy bottom. The only thing that was wrong with it was the chilli jam - one ingredient too far & too sweet! The steaks were made to order and spot on. Sides were forgettable as was the sauce & the weird tasting mustard. Wine list was brilliant and we retired to our room with the baby straight after dinner along with our bottle! Most of all the awesome service made it all worthwhile. Happy baby. Happy parents. Thanks Curious Pig for enabling our anniversary to be a memorable one that included our baby!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My Wife and I had a meal here on 12th October after hearing good things about it. The service was excellent as was the food which cannot be faulted at all other than perhaps a little expensive. What spoilt the evening was the group of people propping up the bar (I assume they were "regulars") being extremely loud and allowing their kids to run around the tables of the diners and at one point the loudest in the group started singing a football song. Our waitress on two occasions tried to tell the children to stop running around (the Parents clearly didn't care) but they took no notice. This place has everything going for it to make a really nice restaurant but the management need to decide whether it's a pub/restaurant or a restaurant and, either way, take control of its customers and their behaviour......we eat out frequently but won't be going back in a hurry!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernsoftie800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family went for a family meal here on Sunday evening. We had previously been told when we called to book they are "far too busy" or "fully booked" so were all excited to eat here when we managed to get booked in. The exterior is gorgeous and the interior is very modern yet welcoming and warm. That's were my positive comments end I'm afraid. Our waiter was very strange and also sarcastic and rude. 3 main courses we selected weren't available which we weren't told when brought our menu. The portions were small, tasteless and very disappointing. One dish out of 6 was nice which was a £25 steak so you'd hope so too. Won't be back here in any rush that's for sure. Maybe there should pay more attention to customer service and food quality rather than appearance and decor .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyDanny36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copthorne
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel London Gatwick
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
2.0 mi away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
Regency Hotel Gatwick
#24 of 28 in Crawley
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
3.1 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
4.5 mi away
Arora Hotel Gatwick / Crawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Curious Pig in the Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Curious Pig in the Parlour

Property: The Curious Pig in the Parlour
Address: Effingham Road | Copthorne, Copthorne, Crawley RH10 3HY, England (Formerly Hedgehog Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Crawley > Copthorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Copthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Curious Pig Pig in the Parlour is a new pub with beautiful accommodation, only 7 miles from Gatwick airport. Offering expertly cooked, charcoal oven steaks - including 28 day dry-aged Black Angus cuts, and homemade pizzas cooked in our imported Italian wood-fired pizza oven - The Curious Pig really does cater for all. With accommodation starting from £85 a night, in newly refurbished rooms complete with premium bedding, fluffy towels and White Company toiletries - we offer a super-comfortable stay, with added homemade luxuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Curious Pig in the Parlour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Curious Pig In The Parlour Copthorne, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing