We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rock Inn

The Rock Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Georgeham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wow ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We went here to see what all the hype was about. Firstly we were greeted by a very friendly barman/waiter. The food was stunning but we were too full off the very generous starter and main portion we couldn't manage pudding :-) highly recommended

Helpful?
Thank Krisbutler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    155
    45
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little Devon country pub for food & beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have visited this pub a number of times when we have been down holidaying in North Devon. Generally we have been walking and have called in for lunch. There has always been a good welcome and as well as having a good selection of proper beer, the food has always been very good. We have never eaten here in the evenings, but the full menu does look very inviting with some good fish dishes included!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redeye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait for overpriced , disappointing food ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Great staff, beer, ambience. BUT we waited 45 mins for poor starters, 1 hour for main & 30mins for ice cream pud ! It wasn't even that busy. We sat down at 6.30 with young children and didn't get out until 9.30. No apologies for slow service! No main under £12, most £15+ we had to send the risotto back as it had at least 2 tablespoons of salt in it and got an apology from the chef. The pork belly was more fat than meat and not crispy. We won't be eating there again ....but might go for a drink.

Helpful?
2 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Popped into this nice pub in georgeham near croyde for lunch.

Very friendly staff and excellent good, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rock On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great food, great service, Timothy Taylors Landlord. Well priced. Very busy counted 70 heads for a Tuesday night and no delays. What more can you ask for, the perfect retreat. Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rock Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing