We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place of total relaxation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skirr Cottage

The old walled cottage garden with its ancient willow tree and abundance of indigenous flowers.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The old walled cottage garden with its ancient willow tree and abundance of indigenous flowers.
 Board games and a glass of local mead wine in front of the log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The old walled cottage garden with its ancient willow tree and abundance of indigenous flowers.
Board games and a glass of local mead wine in front of the log burner.
Skirr Cottage was the home of the acclaimed writer Henry Williamson.
Please leave your comments in our visitors book; we love to hear about your experience.
Relax in the cozyness of a thatched Devon cottage, after a hard day at the beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Georgeham, Braunton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LynchLond...
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A place of total relaxation”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

A beautiful thatched cottage in an outstanding position. I cannot recommend it more highly. Super comfortable beds, a huge dining table for entertaining (although you have a wonderful pub just up the road) even an outside shower (as well as an inside one). However who would not want to shower looking at the moon and hearing the church bells with a babbling brook running alongside. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, with easy access to wonderful beaches, walks and pubs, look no further than this cottage. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Better than advertised
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmite46
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Writers Retreat”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed at Skirr Cottage with some other lady writers and we had a wonderful time. Local walks, meals at the pub, bought essentials from the Georgeham shop and of course wrote simply 1,000's of wonderful words! The cottage itself is gorgeous and you simply MUST have an outdoor shower, regardless of the weather - it's bliss!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open fires
Liked least: My rubbish fire-lighting skills
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave G
Tattenhall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Character filled cottage in a terrific location.”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in April 2015

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's chock full of character, you won't be disappointed with this cottage. Well appointed too with everything you'd expect make you stay as comfortable and relaxed as possible. A stones throw from a very good pub with great beers and even better food! Easy access to two fabulous beaches (I'm biased here as I enjoy surfing!!) with some spectacular coastal paths.
All in all, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will definitely be booking again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thanks for your kind words about our cottage, we hope to see you there again soon. Alan and Clara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
“I'll be back”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Just like the pictures,a really beautiful old thatched cottage with gardens and parking.
All very clean in a lovely village near to the beaches of Croyde.
The cottage is a stones throw from the local pub which had a great atmosphere and good food.I stayed with friends but it would be good for families or couples.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your trip to our cottage and the local pub ( which we believe is the best in the area ) We hope you can make a return trip soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cf0z
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Real Devonshire Charm”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a beautiful place!! This is the quintessential Devonshire cottage. The lovely garden with a small creek running through one side was a big hit with my 6 year old. The beautiful old world furnishings and cozy feel was a big hit with my wife! The fact that I could walk home down the country lanes from my surf session was a big hit with me (not to mention the nearby pubs)!

Georgeham/Croyde is probably my favorite part of the UK and this cottage is the PERFECT place to stay there.

Many thanks to the Bones family for a a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Old world charm
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thanks for your kind words about our cottage and village, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you can visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing