We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time spent at property”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kilmun, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frazer D
1 review
“Great time spent at property”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

ecently spent 3 days away at this house and couldn't have been better. Plenty of space and activities available in the property to keep you occupied along with stunning views right on your door stop. This place is an ideal getaway location for some time away from the busy lifestyles of day to day life. Dunoon is a short drive away for food and drink options. Quadmania is close for quad biking trails and clay pigeon shooting and also believe there are several golf courses nearby.

I imagine I'll be returning to this property again in the future for a family getaway since, although my first visit was for a stag doo, it caters for all types.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
We don't take many "stag" style parties, because we charge a high deposit against damage to put groups off. I am glad you enjoyed the house and area and we would welcome you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhardiegb
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with lots to occupy a large group”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed for a long weekend with a large group of 15 guys. Great facilities with a big TV room, a games room with darts, table football and a 3/4 size snooker table, a separate large lounge and a panelled dining room able to seat all of us comfortable.

We also did some clay shooting and some quad biking at "Quadmania", about 15 mins drive away.

Owner is able to arrange an in-house chef to prepare and serve a meal for large groups.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT. THANK YOU FOR COMING!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappystar
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing weekend and lovely house”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friends and I had an excellent stay at Old Kilmun House over a long weekend in November.

The house was easy to access by car after landing at Glasgow airport, the journey taking around 1.5 hrs including short ferry crossing. There was plenty of parking space for the convoy of vehicles which transported our group.

The house is spacious and elegant inside, with wooden furnishings adorning the main dining room and front lounge. It is also practical - with modern kitchen fittings, a well equipped couple of rooms in the basement (with TV and games) and a small sauna which was enjoyed by many of our group. The bedrooms were of a good standard - I was in a shared 3 bed room and found it to be comfortable. Overall, the house had everything our large group required for a comfortable stay.

The location of the house is excellent - you are close to the water, have ample room for activities in the garden, and other nature based activities are close by (we had a hoot one day quad biking and clay pigeon shooting). The house is also well connected by the main road to Dunoon should you need to stock up on food, petrol or other supplies.

Overall, I would say this house gives you beautiful surroundings and the flexibility to enjoy the type of stay you set out to have - be this relaxed and idyllic or action packed. On this basis I would recommend it to large groups looking for a getaway to this great part of Scotland.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thanks for coming to stay and for a lovely review. We would welcome you back at the drop of a hat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
1 review
“Top Quality Country Manor”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Recently stayed at Old Kilmun House with a bunch of friends for a stag do. Everything you could ask for including Pool table, darts board and Sky tv. Aside from that the accommodation is top class and the location is beautiful. Would highly recommend to anyone considering a country escape or more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
We don't take many stag parties, partly because we are selective in groups we accept and partly because our policy on good housekeeping deposits puts some off; it was a pleasure to have your group and thank you for looking after the house so nicely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McSafe
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place, well kitted out”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The house is impressive from the outside, with a nice view over the water. Inside, it is really nicely furnished and has everything you need to enjoy a trip away. Pool table, darts, sky sports, outdoor equipment and even a sauna!

Overall, this was a great place for a long weekend, great value, and I would definitely come back.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size of the house and the various activities
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you for choosing Old Kilmun House. We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shardiegb
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic place. Book it now!”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friends and I stayed at Old Kilmun House for 3 nights in November 2016. The house is simply fantastic and perfect for a wintry getaway. Outside, the grounds and location are stunning. The views over the holy loch from the front bedrooms make for an amazing start to the day.

Inside the house, the living room is warm and bright, kitchen is well equipped - we easily cooked breakfast for 12 on 3 occasions. The fridge is big and the aga adds a homely feel. I highly recommend hiring a chef to cater, like we did, thus making full use of the brilliant dining room. Dineindulge.com had a fantastic menu and the team even laid the table and did the early dishes.

The bedrooms are all of ample size. It may be that I'm daft, but all of the rooms are much bigger in real life than the appear in the photos.

The owner, John, is a great guy. He checked in with us the week before our stay to ensure we would be catered for.

Old Kilmun House is the best holiday home in Scotland that I have stayed in and head-and-shoulders above the rest when you take account of the price. I would recommend it to anyone and will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post this lovely review. We work hard to make the house as comfy as it can be - and we aren't complacent, at all. Most people appreciate it, but not all take the trouble to post reviews saying that - so thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammiddy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome weekend!”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed here for a weekend in October with a group of friends. The house was beautiful and well set up. Stunning location! Would definitely recommend staying here. Everything you need for a fantastic break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
I am so glad you appreciated the house - we aren't perfect but we do our best. Thanks so much for taking the trouble to review us. Not all our happy and satisfied guests bother. We would love to have you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing