We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing getaway for friend/classmates”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Kilmun, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John F
1 review
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The following is a list of problems at Old Kilmun House.

water leaks from the kitchen ceiling when 1st floor bathrooms are used
side-table in dining room collapsed (It had been badly glued together and collapsed when one of the children touched it. The child could have been hurt.)
chaise lounge in the living room is unstable, a pile of books has been used to support one leg
Jacuzzi does not work
Loose toilet seat
dishwasher runner broken
ground floor hall radiator not working

no dishwasher tablets
not enough coal and wood provided (which meant we had to buy these immediately after arriving)
light bulbs missing in entryway
light bulbs missing in bathroom
no batteries in any of the remote controls
only 4 toilet rolls provided for the whole house
no bathmats
no handtowels
no hairdryers

stereo in games room does not work
fishing rods not usable

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2017
Really horrible to read this. But also very odd, and unnecessary. We say in all our literature, "Please let us know if there are any problems while you are there, so that we can sort them". We heard nothing from this party during their stay, and so we couldn't sort anything out for them. We had extra coal, wood, toilet rolls, handtowels, bathmats, dishwasher tablets, lightbulbs and batteries actually IN THE HOUSE, or shed. And we would have been able to get a plumber out the same day they arrived - it took him three minutes to solve the problem with the shower, and bleed the radiator, when he came out later. I am very sorry they had a bad time, but I wish they had given a chance to resolve the issues. Thank goodness most of our guests rate us as 5 / 5. And thank goodness those that find problems, usually give us a chance to solve them. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for this party, and that they haven't replied to any of our texts and emails since. We really don't like disappointing people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing getaway for friend/classmates”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Old Kilmun House is the perfect escape. 12 friends/classmates from Edinburgh ventured across the loch and spent an amazing time (3 days, 2 nights) in this picturesque and exceptionally comfortable home. We felt very welcomed, it was immensely spacious, cozy and a perfect amount of space for good meals, bonding, and indoor fun (the games room was well used ... as was the lounge for cards, board games, etc.). The location was unbelievable (definitely worth a walk through Puck's Glen!), and the host (John) was immensely hospitable, funny and friendly.

100% recommend! Already planning a reunion for the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Awwww. Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive review. I am so glad you had a good time, and really pleased you brought your fantastic group of international graduate students over for the "Independent Learning" week. You were a credit to Edinburgh Uni, your countries, and your families.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madge01
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Difficult to find needs to be signposted, desperately in need of some TLC
as a bit tired. Beautiful house but the small things are important, light bulbs in hall not working, could be dangerous as there is quite a step coming out of kitchen, security lighting outside not working again very dangerous coming down the steps in the dark, toilets seats were broken, could not clean up as Hoover blocked had to get down on hand and knees with a dustpan and brush. Bedrooms were lovely, clean and warm. The view was lovely over the loch,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
This is a very disappointing review to receive (although we know we did make a mistake in the admin of this booking which might have made a difference to party member's persepctive.) We still hoped they would review us positively, but obviousy we still appreciate the feedback. Sorry if we didn't deserve better. We say in our information folder, "please tell us if anything is wrong, so that we can fix it" and we would have fixed all these things if asked. Although it is a self-catering house with a supply of lightbulbs in the cupboard, we would always come out if required to change bulbs for people or fix a loo seat, or unblock a hoover. We give very accurate directions to the lead person in every party, but we do rely on them to pass those on. I am sorry that you were disappointed. There is no lack of TLC lavished on Old Kilmun House; we spend a fortune keeping this 16th century property as comfy and well-equipped as it can be, which is something the majority of parties appreciate. Sorry again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rldrum
2 reviews
“Amazing hen party weekend”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Couldnt speak highly enough of the accomodation! Spacious, clean, tidy,comfortable, everything you could need (even with cooking for 16!)

It was a weekend in novemeber when we visited but it was warm and cosy and the beds were very comfortable! Would definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review. Glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frazer D
1 review
“Great time spent at property”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

ecently spent 3 days away at this house and couldn't have been better. Plenty of space and activities available in the property to keep you occupied along with stunning views right on your door stop. This place is an ideal getaway location for some time away from the busy lifestyles of day to day life. Dunoon is a short drive away for food and drink options. Quadmania is close for quad biking trails and clay pigeon shooting and also believe there are several golf courses nearby.

I imagine I'll be returning to this property again in the future for a family getaway since, although my first visit was for a stag doo, it caters for all types.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
We don't take many "stag" style parties, because we charge a high deposit against damage to put groups off. I am glad you enjoyed the house and area and we would welcome you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhardiegb
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with lots to occupy a large group”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed for a long weekend with a large group of 15 guys. Great facilities with a big TV room, a games room with darts, table football and a 3/4 size snooker table, a separate large lounge and a panelled dining room able to seat all of us comfortable.

We also did some clay shooting and some quad biking at "Quadmania", about 15 mins drive away.

Owner is able to arrange an in-house chef to prepare and serve a meal for large groups.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
GLAD YOU ENJOYED IT. THANK YOU FOR COMING!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappystar
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing weekend and lovely house”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My friends and I had an excellent stay at Old Kilmun House over a long weekend in November.

The house was easy to access by car after landing at Glasgow airport, the journey taking around 1.5 hrs including short ferry crossing. There was plenty of parking space for the convoy of vehicles which transported our group.

The house is spacious and elegant inside, with wooden furnishings adorning the main dining room and front lounge. It is also practical - with modern kitchen fittings, a well equipped couple of rooms in the basement (with TV and games) and a small sauna which was enjoyed by many of our group. The bedrooms were of a good standard - I was in a shared 3 bed room and found it to be comfortable. Overall, the house had everything our large group required for a comfortable stay.

The location of the house is excellent - you are close to the water, have ample room for activities in the garden, and other nature based activities are close by (we had a hoot one day quad biking and clay pigeon shooting). The house is also well connected by the main road to Dunoon should you need to stock up on food, petrol or other supplies.

Overall, I would say this house gives you beautiful surroundings and the flexibility to enjoy the type of stay you set out to have - be this relaxed and idyllic or action packed. On this basis I would recommend it to large groups looking for a getaway to this great part of Scotland.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thanks for coming to stay and for a lovely review. We would welcome you back at the drop of a hat.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing