We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay in a wonderful spot”
Review of Fox & Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fox & Pheasant Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Armathwaite B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a really comfortable stay - the hotel is in a great setting by the river, and the rooms are very modern and extremely clean. The Inn retains a lot of character, and is obviously popular with the locals for its real ale and good food. We had a good evening meal, a great nights sleep and a good breakfast to set us on our journey onwards (towards John O'Groats by bike). Also discovered on the way up the hill that it is on the Settle-Carlisle railway with a station in Armathwaite - have noted to return with the family.
Thanks for a great stay.
Tom

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cyclissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Once again a warm welcome from all staff at the Fox and Pheasant - it was really good to catch up with Kelly. This must be a least our sixth visit for a relaxing break. Stunning views of River Eden and if you venture out of the village to higher ground the views of the surrounding fells are breathtaking. Food is tasty and well presented, portions are ample to satisfy the most hungry appetite. We both ordered the smoked fish for the main course and this was delicious. Room was clean and comfortable. Best value for a short break - hope to return soon rather than later.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just returned from a break at the Fox & Pheasant. The location was wonderful with spectacular views. Our room was very clean and extremely comfortable - lovely bed. We stayed for two nights and ate both nights in the restaurant. The food was well cooked and very tasty and their tomato and red pepper soup was fabulous. Everyone was extremely helpful and chatty and made us very welcome. Breakfast was extremely good with lovely coffee. We are looking forward to staying at the F&P again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a wonderful peaceful location with multiple fabulous walks as soon as you exit the building.
The staff and locals are equally as friendly so there is no real excuse not to mingle.
We ate both nights in the restaurant and although it's clearly not gourmet food it's locally sourced and seasonal and well cooked.
The wine list was a little dated for my taste but a quick inspection showed that most other diners were taking advantage of the many real ales instead.
The website actually does not do the bedrooms justice, the room we had was very clean and light and a wonderfully finished bathroom...stunning views from all angles.
We shall return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was my second time at the Fox & Pheasant - this time I stayed for five nights. The location is superb, the rooms are tidy and clean, the food excellent and the beer is always very good. Sarah and Bill and the rest of the staff are always happy to help. In terms of location, the F&P is all you could ask for. The riverside walk is a delight. All in all, the F&P is the perfect country inn and great value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just stayed at the lovely Fox and Pheasant in Armathwaite The owners and staff are great cant do enough for you.This place is spotless .Room 2 in which we stayed was ideal .Food is great but be sure to book.Would recommend this place to anybody looking for nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Anyroom all quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having stayed in a number of hotels, B&B's, etc I have never really been moved to write a review. However after booking the Fox and Pheasant for myself and two of my colleagues for a one evening stay, we were all so impressed, I feel the need to share a few words. The hotel is of excellent standard, reasonably priced and most importantly clean and well maintained. We ate in the restaurant and found the menu offered provided an excellent choice of both meat, fish and vegetarian dishes. I myself run a catering company and feel well placed to say the food was of high standard and plenty of it. The F&P offered a good selection of real ales, and although we found the drinks to be a little on the expensive side it would be churlish to say this affected our stay in any way. Well done keep on keeping on..............

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Armathwaite
0 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,074 reviews
0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,054 reviews
0 mi away
Dukes Head Inn
Dukes Head Inn
#2 of 2 in Armathwaite
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
196 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fox & Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox & Pheasant Inn

Address: Armathwaite, Carlisle CA4 9PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Armathwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Armathwaite
Price Range: £87 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fox & Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox And Pheasant Inn
Fox & Pheasant Hotel Armathwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing