We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campsite in the Lake District area.”
Review of Drybeck Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Armathwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drybeck Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Best campsite in the Lake District area.The Yhurts and the facilities make this a holiday to remember. It is handy for visiting Ambleside, Windermere, Bowness, Coniston and the Lakes. Steve is the perfect host for people who love walking, climbing, fishing or riding or just touring in the area, as he has a lot of local knowledge and is very helpful. The surroundings are beautiful and you will not find a better camp site in this area. Paul Davies MBM

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulDavieshistorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

A group of six of us packed ourselves off to Drybeck Farm for a long weekend and had an amazing time! Firstly, we can not fault the service, Steve & John were so welcoming, friendly and helpful, making our stay so much better! The setting was so beautiful, the yurt was lovely, the kitchen area was cosy, inviting and very well equipped, and the showers, including the eco-friendly products were great, all of which were added to by the cleverly selected furniture & furnishings! A few of us struggled with the compost loo's at first but soon got over it, and we learned that the wood burning stoves were a little tricky (though help was always at hand). We loved the hot tub, Steve sourced us cycles for hire and recommendations for local pubs were well accepted! Oh, and the breakfast hamper had some delicious goodies! We are already thinking about a return visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GemH1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just to thank the owners for the most relaxing place we have ever stayed in and the setting, yhurts and facilities were perfect for people who love the outdoors.

We really appreciated my son having a look around to see the animals even though you are busy. As my son has issues, it was amazing to see him have so much freedom without worry and enjoy drybeck.

It has been a memorable holiday and we just loved cwmbria and being so close to Scotland (1.5 hour breathtaking scenery to Edinburgh and Lake District.

We will definitely be back again next year on our travels to Scotland or the Lake District. There was so much to explore nearby and Carlisle is fantastic for shopping and Cathedral.

We wish you all the success with drybeck as its never easy as my husband was in business for 23 years and unfortunately lost his business to unforeseen circumstances. It was the perfect place to unwind think about our future and start planning again and for us as a family just to enjoy each others company without interruptions or stress of busy lives.

The hot tub made the holiday and we have told all our friends about it and the breakfast hampers/food fresh from the farm were amazing.

We loved the aga and had amazing experiences cooking fresh pizzas using vegetables from the garden and the secret of aga cooking turn the food constantly.

Thanks again Sharon, Dave and Marcus

Ps missing the peace and big night skies with amazing star shows and hearing the owls.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon196933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just returned from our four day break at Drybeck staying in one of the two available yurts. We have had a fantastic experience. The yurt was very comfortable and other facilities included an excellent kitchen area, complete with electric lights and overhead heaters (if required), shower facilities and composting toilets. The site is beautiful and the breakfast pack provided two superb breakfasts. It was a wonderful experience to fall asleep to the sound of the river flowing by and then waken to the sounds of birds and farm animals coming to life. Drybeck is very well placed to explore the northern lakes and we had enjoyable walk up Skiddaw and Catbells. I would not hesitate in recommending Drybeck to our family and friends. Wonderful hosts, excellent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband, his teenage brother and our dog stayed in the big yurt for two days and were joined by our newlywed friends for the second night who stayed in the gypsy caravan.
We had a fantastic time, and all of us wished we had booked for another two nights at least!
The setting is absolutely gorgeous, the staff are amazingly friendly and professional (something I find the UK usually lacks!) and the facilities are lovely.
If you can tear yourself away from a tv for a bit and enjoy the outdoors this would definitely be a place for you to visit.
The river is simply perfection on a scorching day.
We had actually planned a few outings for the two day stay it ended up cancelling all of them just to chillax on site instead.
The breakfast hamper that comes with your stay is excellent. Probably the best bacon I have ever tasted!
I did find our yurt a bit cold during the night but there is a wood burning furnace (maybe get some tips though how to keep it on throughout the night) and they also provide nice warm blankets.
The caravan is very small but it's obviously just to sleep in and not to hang out in. Our friends said they slept great and that the bed and duvet were really comfy.
The showers are great. Enough power for a girl to wash your hair and always enough hot water.
The kitchen included everything you need; tin opener, cork screw, BBQ utensils etc.
the compost toilet (that's a toilet that has no water, and you cover your business with sand dust) isn't great of you are a bit squeamish but it's really not as terrible as I thought it would be. If you really can't stomach it there are two pubs a few minutes drive away.
Lastly, for me the cherry ontop is that there is mobile network on the farm so you can make and receive calls. The Internet on my phone was slightly more difficult to get, but it is there you just have to find the right spot. I'd recommend taking some games or books with you cause otherwise you might be a bit stuck especially if you are taking kids.
Overall myself and the rest of our group would absolutely recommend staying at Drybeck Farm. It's great!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsD3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had an amazing evening and mornings stay at Drybeck in their beautiful Gypsy Caravan. Fantastic location, lovely welcome and a great experience with our own cooking area, fire pit, gorgeous river to swim in and a chance to help out feeding the animals in the morning, before a very tasty breakfast made from the farms own produce. We would highly recommend this site for couples and families looking for a perfect countryside retreat. By Mike and Alison

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJTetley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Just got back from a wonderful weekend at Drybeck Farm!

Myself and a few friends decided to book a weekend away in the lakes with our husbands and just came across Drybeck and decided to give it ago. The location is stunning and we were lucky enough to choose a sunny weekend so we actually went into the river which was amazing!

The yurts are brilliant, decorated beautifully, very comfortable and they have exactly what you need in there. There was 8 of us which was a bit of a squeeze at night but we were only in there to sleep as the weather was so nice, so it didn't really matter, if you are good enough friends, then its just cosy.

The kitchen area is great and again has exactly what you need. As everything is eco friendly and runs on burning wood, I would recommend cooking some food before you go to save you time, but we managed just fine.

John who works on the farm was lovely and couldn't be more helpful as were everyone else.

The breakfast hamper was amazing, the sausages were to die for! The piglets were very cute too....!

I have already recommended Drybeck to several friends and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Drybeck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drybeck Farm

Address: Drybeck Farm, Armathwaite, Carlisle CA4 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Armathwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Armathwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing