We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic from start to finish”
Review of Drybeck Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Armathwaite
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drybeck Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited last weekend, staying two nights in the Gypsy caravan and one night in the tourer.
Drybeck farm was easy to find and we were greeted by Steve who showed us around and made us feel very welcome. Both the tourer and caravan were warm (especially when we mastered how to build a fire and got the wood burner working!) and there we lots of warm cosy covers, even ones for sitting outside.
Didn't need to take anything with us apart from food and drink, they even provided washing up liquid! Kitchen area was very well stocked and the person kitting them out clearly has an eye for detail. Loved the fact there was a fridge which meant that we didn't have to worry about anything going off and waking up to a breakfast hamper of goodies on the first morning was lovely.
The thing that made a real difference to this trip was how friendly the owners were. Steve could not have been more accommodating and helpful. This is the first place I have been where there are no rules scattered around. He also allowes large groups and Hen Do's. There was a hen do there at the same time as us and it looked like they were having a great time. Don't let this put you off because you are quite spaced out between the other yurts etc. therefore everyone feels like they are alone but still being close enough for comfort.
Hot tab was fab as was location. Went up to Hadrian's Wall and also to Ullswater the next day plus into Carlisle and through Penrith. There are plenty of places to visit and the experience was great from start to finish. If you want total peace and serenity, a friendly atmosphere and relaxation - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our first wedding anniversary with a night in the old fashioned gypsy caravan, which we booked last minute. Communication via email was prompt and friendly.

We were greeted warmly on arrival and given a tour of the site, all the while Steve (the owner) chatted to us in a relaxed manner and made us feel very welcome.

The site was in a beautiful spot by the river, where we had a 'refreshing' wild swim! The caravans and yurts were well laid out so that you had your own space & privacy. We loved the eco-friendly touches like the homemade shower gel, shampoo & conditioner. The showers were lovely and clean, hot and had plenty of power too!

The caravan & adjoined kitchen area were well set up with running water, gas stove & grill and a fire pit. I liked that the gas and the first bag of wood were included in the price, as was a breakfast hamper of sausage, egg, bacon & homemade bread! The kitchen was well equipped, with lovely Cath Kidston crockery, tin opener, tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper, cooking utensils, cutlery & even a cafetière!

Inside the caravan, the bed was comfy and it was great not to have to bring bedding. We didn't light the stove in there but were lovely and toasty all night long!

Steve and Paula also sell a range of home produced meat, such as ribs and chops. We bought burgers from them, which they even defrosted in their microwave for us. They couldn't have been more helpful! Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank CatP_Lancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

What a wonderful place! We cannot recommend drybeck farm highly enough, it was the perfect setting with all we could have asked for and more, Paula and Steve were wonderful hosts and the yurt was so incredibly comfortable and snug, great place to escape to, we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Drybeck farm is a stunning site, my husband and I visited April 2014 and stayed in the gypsy caravan for a long weekend. The weather may not of always been at its kindest to begin with, but Drybeck is set in the spectacular backdrop of Eden Valley, the River flowing past your front door, an abundance of wildlife, a pleasure to be a part of. Breakfast, delivered as fresh as can be to your fridge, is delicious, and worthy of any restaurant, those sausages are so fantastic, we bought some to take home! Steve & Paula are perfect hosts, very welcoming, friendly and really quick to deal with the smallest issues that might crop up. Armathwaite is an adorable little village. The local shop/post office had everything we needed, we ate at The Dukes Head Inn twice, as recommended by Steve, and it was fantastic. This weekend was a trip to celebrate my birthday, I have no complaints whatsoever, other than the fact we had to come home!! My husband and I are camping fans, usually we camp in a tent, so to us this is luxury camping, camping without the work! Compost toilets are a brilliant idea, I really wish the coal fired hot tub hadn't of been booked up, that looked divine. The hot showers are excellent too, probably the best stand alone showers I've used at a camp site. The site and gypsy caravan had a lovely warm, welcoming cosy feeling to it. I'm so happy places like this are out there. Thank you Steve & Paula for a fantastic, luxurious, tranquil, stress free birthday holiday :@D

Room Tip: I'd love to stay in a yurt, however the gypsy caravan is fab! In my opinion had the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samibadger1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

following excellent reviews I decided to book a long weekend in the gypsy caravan for myself and my partner as a surprise birthday present and it was perfect. My partner had no idea where he was going but was blown away when we arrived! The caravan was right beside the river Eden on our own field. Inside the caravan the bed was really comfy and the wood burning stove kept us lovely and warm at night. Steve and Paula couldn't do enough for us and their rare breed bacon and sausages were out of this world! Hot tub capped off a really relaxing, totally peaceful weekend and next time we need to unwind we will be returning to Drybeck Farm. If you are looking for seclusion, peace and an open fire to cuddle up in front of I would highly recommend you give it a go!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deborahb744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Cannot recommend Drybeck Farm Yurts enough, we had a fab time despite the weather! The welcome from Steve was great, he walked us round to the Yurt, the Kitchen/Dining area, Showers and Loo. There is also a hot tub which we didn't use but looked fab.

The Yurt - we stayed in Croglin Yurt, you park your car on the other side of the little bridge and walk over to the Yurt, which is located on the Kitchen / Loo / Shower side of the area, so nice a close. The Yurt was fab. A double bed, two arm chairs, foldaway single bed, thick duvets, loads and I mean loads of blankets, a wood burner, electric light, some candle lanterns and a plug socket. Note: The plug socket is a double, but one socket is used for the light, we took a small 4 way extension lead to keep us charged up. There is a free basket of wood and kindling and some firelighters in the yurt also. We were nice and cozy inside and despite it being very cold outside the woodburner kept us toasty.

The kitchen/dining area is great, wood burning oven and hot plate, gas camping cooker plumbed in, toaster, belfast sink, pots pans crockery cutlery utensils and glassware. Fridge with freezer section, cupboards, even tea, and ground coffee. There was a dining table and a heater/light which was very handy. There are a couple of spare sockets in the kitchen if you need to charge things up. The kitchen dining area is split into two one side for each Yurt.

The showers (2) are great, nice and hot, decent sized cubicles for getting changed in.

The loos (2) are interesting, they are composting toilets, so don't flush, chaps have to sit down to wee and when you've done your business...you chuck a load of sawdust down the hole, sounds awful but genuinely isn't. Its actually quite quirky!

Hot tub looks ace but we didn't use it.

The location is spot on, the River Eden fows at the bottom of the field, a stream between the Yurts, Pheasants, Turkeys, Geese, Doves, Lambs, Pigs/Piglets, Horses, Chickens...all within 20 yards of your bed. A great way to be woken up in the morning!

They give you a complimentary basket with eggs, bacon, sausage and freshly baked bread on your first morning, lovely touch. They are very dog friendly, there is a small charge I think £5 per night for dogs, but thats very reasonable.

Overall it is the best camping experience we've had. The adults loved it, the 8 year old loved it and the dog loved it.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lipschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend break in one of the yurts with my husband and two young girls (4 and 2). It was an enjoyable family break and the girls loved every minute. The yurts themselves are extremely comfortable and spacious. There was a comfy double bed and some fold up camp beds for the girls. I was a bit worried about it being cold but it was surprisingly warm. We used the wood burning fire first thing in the morning and in the evening. The facilities at the farm are super and all well thought out and tasteful. We soon got used to the compost loo and the showers have plenty of warm water and all toiletries are provided. The kitchen is lovely. There's a dining table, sink, 2 gas rings, fridge and a wood burning oven. Plenty of pans, plates, cutlery, blankets etc are all provided. There's also dish cloths and washing liquid plus tea and coffee On the first morning you get a nice hamper with home made bread, eggs, sausage, bacon and beans. Just remember the basics as butter and milk. In the evenings we ate at the two local pubs in the village about a 20 minute walk away. We drove there, left the car overnight and strolled back with the pram. Both served nice food. I think if we went again in the summer months we would make the most of the kitchen on site though and do our own cooking. There's a handy store in the village that stocks most things.

Steve made us all feel very welcome. The girls had a tour of the farm and enjoyed seeing the lamb, pigs, turkeys and the dog.

In the summer it would be nice just to relax around the farm. The weather was mixed for us so we enjoyed a walk round the village and then headed off in the car to Askam Hall and Lowther Castle. The surrounding area has plenty of attractions.

Although we didn't try it there was also an outdoor hot tub on site which looked good fun.

In all an excellent weekend and something different. Good value for money and would definitely go again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Drybeck Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drybeck Farm

Address: Drybeck Farm, Armathwaite, Carlisle CA4 9ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Armathwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Armathwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing