We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent apart from sleep quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todhills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This refurbished Travelodge (although not a shower one) is back up there again as a great value stop. Unfortunately the window did not shut properly in our room (112) and had it done so we would no doubt have found it even hotter. As a result it was noisier that most. The new specially made beds are excellent and you can even order one. Despite that because of the above reasons we did not have the best of nights' sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simono1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

Also clean and everything (except TV) worked. I go shopping at Gretna Green and do family history research in this area for which Todhills is handy. TV needs expertly adjusting. Staff always willing to help if you need anything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

On the plus side, the staff were friendly. professional and engaging on arrival and departure.

Conveniently situated just off the A74 - but the next door Costa closed at 7pm (despite the poster saying 8pm). So - unless you want to head out again down the A74 (and back up the A74 and then back down) to get something to eat after 7pm - sandwiches/rolls/snacks from the nearby BP Petrol Station is your only option!

The double bed was comfortable but the overwhelming smell of room deodoriser on arrival was a little stomach churning (yes, the windows were open) and the constant traffic noise meant I couldn't get any sleep with the windows open (gave up at 3am and closed them - helped but still quite noisy). Far from ideal on a hot summer evening.

To end on a positive, the room was spacious and clean and had a pleasant outlook (field with cattle and calves). No lift - so be warned if you have a heavy suitcase/plenty of luggage to bring in from the car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangarookards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This lodge has just been refurbished and will be nice to know that it stays so for a long time. It is summer a little fridge in the rooms will be helpful. I am quite satisfied with the staff on site they are well trained.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Godwin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Booked this Travelodge as a stopover on the way to Scotland. The lodge was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The childrens beds were a little bit hard but my son did manage to sleep.We ordered breakfast boxes and they were very adequate. Would definitely use a Travellodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Twhite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

stop over on way to and from holidays with my wife who is disabled and in a wheelchair find the staff very helpful and friendly and rooms very clean and comfortable.. only problem is hotel on south carriageway of M6 so traveling north you have to drive 6 miles to Gretna then back down to hotel still find this a minor detail

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Went to this hotel on a tour of northern England. As a previous comment said it is on the south bound section of the M6, however the next junction is a mile down the road, so it's easy to turn round and head back the other way, and Gretna Green is only a mile north.
Hotel was pleasant, we had an LED TV in our room, staff were very pleasant, however there were a couple of problems.
Another family were staying at the hotel, and their two sons decided to play cricket - yes cricket in the car park!!!! They had a wicket set up, were bowling the ball and hitting it hard with the bat, mostly towards the cars and hotel windows next to them. It was fortunate there was no damage. Their parents saw them playing there and did nothing to stop them, neither did the staff, who walked past them at one point.
Another problem I had, after arriving at the hotel, I found a voice mail message on my mobile, asking if I still wanted my room! Of course I did! Despite asking to pay on the day, Travelodge debited my account as soon as I booked the hotel, so seeing as I had paid for it of course I wanted it! My fear about this was what would have happened if I'd been an hour later, they'd have given my room to someone else??
No restaurant on the site, but there was a Costa next door, where we were able to get breakfast, and provide a 20% discount to people staying in the hotel, however they were down to one breakfast roll when we went in. Costa isn't open 24 hours though.
Travelodge - in future please can you make a rule to ban ball games, especially cricket from the car parks of your hotels! Also if people have paid for their rooms, they should not be given out to others!
Parents - please can you find some other entertainment for your kids, and don't take cricket sets on holiday with you!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of your hotel so you can keep an eye on your car, just in case some other...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todhills
4.6 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,400 reviews
11.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
214 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
2.0 mi away
Stobart Truckstops Ltd
Stobart Truckstops Ltd
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
45 reviews
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Carlisle Todhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Carlisle Todhills

Address: A74 Southbound | Todhills, Todhills, Carlisle CA6 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Todhills
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todhills
Price Range: £36 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Carlisle Todhills 2*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Carlisle Todhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills Hotel Todhills
Travel Lodge Carlisle
Carlisle Travel Lodge
Carlisle Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing