We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Travelodge - Let down by other residents”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todhills
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent Travelodge - Let down by other residents”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is one of the nicest Travelodges we have stayed in. The rooms are a good size, the staff are friendly, and the value was excellent as normal. The only criticism is the lack of a link road from the Northbound services.

Unfortunately we chose to stay on the same night as a wedding party who had booked half of the hotel. It was hard to believe that anyone could be that loud, drunk and inconsiderate after midnight in a public hotel, but those were the selfish cretins that we were dealing with. Did I mention the blatant smell of smoke in the corridors? After 2 complaints to the front desk (the latter after two males had started a fight outside our door), the police were finally called. So sometime around 2.30am we were finally able to get some sleep. Exactly what I needed with an early start and a long drive the next morning.

The staff did make an effort, but it's a shame they weren't thrown out and the rest of us had to suffer. Disgusting.

Room Tip: Avoid drunken idiots arriving from Gretna Green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Carlisle Todhills, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Skye100, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the staff to have provided high levels of service. However we are sorry to learn that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to being disturbed by customers in the nearby rooms. We ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay and try to avoid larger groups from being allocated rooms together away from other guests to avoid disruption. Our hotel staff will be made aware of your feedback so that they can address these issues and we do apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    102
    43
    8
    16
See reviews for
91
102
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed in a few Travelodge and this is one of the best. It has been recently refurbished hence it's fresh, clean and the bed is most comfortable. It is excellent value for money somewhere as near to Lake District.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 2013SanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Excellent value, pleasant room, quiet, hassle free. We checked in very late at 23.30hrs went to the room; everything worked; had a shower and went to bed. Had an excellent night's rest and set off refreshed the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Used this to break up a trip to Scotland. Easy to access from either motorway (N or S). No food facilities , although couple of service cafes not far. Recently refurbished, and the quality of fittings and comfort was very high

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We needed 2 rooms to break journey to south England. Didn't want to stray far from motorway & somewhere close to Tebay for a good breakfast. Todhills perfect. Best bed & shower ever. Travelodge so no frills but everything needed, wifi extra but good value. Take ear-plugs if muted traffic noise disturbs you. Excellent price & excellent location. Would use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Glengibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Like most Travelodges, this was what you'd expect for what you pay for. Clean and spacious room. Not the place to go if you want to walk somewhere to find a bite to eat though! We had to drive in to Carlisle (~10 miles) and on returning had to go several miles up the motorway, past the hotel, to turn at the next junction before returning via the southbound carriageway. Costa next door was handy for breakfast in the morning though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

So it's a budget hotel, in the middle of nowhere, only accessible from the southbound M6 but it provided just what we wanted. The best price in the area, clean, comfortable, attentive staff and a countryside location. Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todhills
11.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
3.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stobart Truckstops Ltd
Stobart Truckstops Ltd
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
40 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Carlisle Todhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Carlisle Todhills

Property: Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Address: A74 Southbound | Todhills, Todhills, Carlisle CA6 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Todhills
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todhills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Carlisle Todhills 2*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Carlisle Todhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills Hotel Todhills
Travel Lodge Carlisle
Carlisle Travel Lodge
Carlisle Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing