We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todhills
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

we are a famiy of four and needed to break a long journey with an overnight stay. We were not after a luxury week-end stay but needed a comfortable, clean and convenient place to stay. This hotel provided everything we need, and other than the towels maybe not being the best quality, everything else was great. The Receptionist on arrival was very welcoming and helpful as was the Receptionist when we left the next morning. Overall we were very happy to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    102
    43
    8
    16
See reviews for
91
102
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here to break up our road trip as we were travelling with my 9 month old son. To be honest I didn't expect much with a Travelodge, however I was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, modern and spacious. We took our own Travel Cot and had plently of room to set it up. The bed was comfortable, for the rpice it it is more than worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTootin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooball Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Little inconvenient to get to going north by having to backtrack south but room was spacious and nice new look, including 2 comfy chairs. Downside was being on a ground floor room and hearing footsteps overhead from room above for a good part of the evening - something obviously wrong with the floor soundproofing. Also our room had a lock which looked as though it had been hacked out (a bit scary) and then replaced with something that didn't fit. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and everything worked as expected. Nice to have an opening window looking out onto farmers fields. No traffic noise and for the price very good value.

Room Tip: Maybe choose upstairs so you don't have the overhead noise that downstairs experiences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CowTails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Location: By a petrol station on a motorway, convenient if you have a car, plenty of spaces.

Check In: There was only 1 receptionist, she was very polite and friendly, as the reservation was pre paid, the whole procedure was very quick and easy. Check out was a breeze too as I just left the keys and walked out.

Room: it was a large, clean room, with a large bed and comfy pillows. There was a medium sized flat screen TV, 2 chairs, ketle and mugs/coffe/tea/milk. Sadly the room was freezing cold and it took hours to warm up. Another good feature was the window that could be opened to get fresh air if necessary. But the worst feature was the loud thumping noise from the people walking over our room. It felt like an elephant was running around, sometimes we could feel the building shake. We were too tired to request a room move as the noise only started around 8pm.

Bathroom: It was clean and mostly in good condition, but the bathtub was old and full of stains, so much that I decided not to have a bath and opted for a shower instead. The absence of a bath mat is a false economy, as towels end up being used to mop the floor and look a bit grey.

I must add we didn't get this room cheap, and although I'm prepared to make allowances to budget hotels, there's no excure for a cold room and the lack of suitable soundproofing. I would avoid staying in Travelodges in future.

Room Tip: top floor if you want to sleep in peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our first time in a travelodge and it was great. The hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The only downside is if you are using it to go to a wedding in Gretna it's a pain to get to it. Would definitely use Travelodge again :) x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiejtbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here for a night, during the weekend as the price was cheap.
The usual travelodge stuff, same layout rooms, room nice and clean. The staff member on reception at arrival was polite, but they seemed abit short staffed as there was hardly anyone on reception at any other time during our stay.
The location isn't the best unless it's a stop off during a south bound trip, but I was happy to stay here as it was only a short drive from Carlisle via Gretna, and I wanted to go to Gretna anyway.
They have a Costa coffee and a petrol station on site.

Room Tip: They have no elevator, so not good for disabled. If your wanting more amenitys where your staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PopcornLover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Travelodge has fallen on it's knees. We stopped here for a Gretna wedding and found that there is NO OVERPASS. Therefore, in order to go to Gretna you must head to Carlisle first. Also, if returning from Carlisle, you must return via Gretna.
Completely inconvenient unless you're stopping in on a journey south. Stay clear if you're planning on stopping and seeing the area!
Also, the toiletries were very limited. No soap or shampoo, just a cheap and tiny body and hand wash. X

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank TheRaveReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Todhills
11.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
3.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,359 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stobart Truckstops Ltd
Stobart Truckstops Ltd
#18 of 20 in Carlisle
40 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Carlisle Todhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Carlisle Todhills

Property: Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Address: A74 Southbound | Todhills, Todhills, Carlisle CA6 4HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Todhills
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Todhills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Carlisle Todhills 2*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Carlisle Todhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills Hotel Todhills
Travel Lodge Carlisle
Carlisle Travel Lodge
Carlisle Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing