We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

What a find! At last a guesthotel that lives up to its website and reviews. The house is so clean ( I am very fussy about cleanliness) and beautifully furnished. Liz and John make great hosts and make you feel so very welcome into their home. The breakfast was superb and cooked to order. The evening meal was excellent value for money. The fillet steak was the best ever. Whilst we only stayed one night as we were travelling to a wedding in Scotland which was in a 5 star hotel the Willowbeck outshone the hotel by miles in service, value for money and welcome . Reading the visitors book - I am not alone with my comments as to how good this place is...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helly63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Willowbeck Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

The warm and generous nature of the family who run this fantastic guesthouse ensures that a stay here will leave you feeling completely relaxed and well rested. They manage to achieve a perfect balance of privacy for their guests whilst making you feel completely at home and looked after. The food was delicious too! A really exceptional place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable and beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becks_76_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Have just returned from 2 night stay at this lovely place with beautiful surroundings and a touch of luxury. My husband and I were looking for stop-over on way to visit relatives in Glasgow and we couldn't have chosen a better place, Rooms and furnishings tasteful and to very high standard. The owners Liz & John are friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us. We did not eat dinner here, but the breakfast was lovely with excellent choices. They also suggested nearby places to eat. A pleasant 1.5 mile walk to next village (Wetherall) where you will find an excellent pub called "The Wheatsheef" serving excellent food with a welcoming atmosphere. There is a bus which runs hourly between villages, but the weather was lovely so we enjoyed the walk. A lovely evening walk in the summer, but perhaps not in the winter! Just 3 miles from Carlisle but far enough away to be quiet and secluded and a short drive from Hadrian's Wall. We did the 6 mile circular walk from Steel Rig which was lovely. Close to Carlisle where Liz & John had recommended a lovely Thai Restaurant "Ruen" again, excellent food and service. A very relaxing few days in a lovely setting and hope to return again. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for relaxing few days and nice walking.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms and tastefully decorated
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizandJim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Beautiful house which reminded me of Santa Fe, New Mexico. Wonderful hospitality, friendly owners, beautiful room with fab bathroom and comfy bed. Pristine with care and attention to detail. Quiet and cosy. Best of all terrific food made by Liz with fantastic supper and breakfast which surpassed hotel quality with great. wine. Great value in lovely setting. Will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quierosaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

July 23rd 2011, We stayed whilst visiting relatives and were delighted with our room, breakfast, service etc. The gardens are lovely and the owners do everything in their power to give you an enjoyable stay. Can't wait for the next visit

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My Husband, son and I stayed in Willowbeck Lodge last weekend while looking for accommodation for our son who will be attending the University in Carlisle in September. Everything about Willowbeck Lodge is perfect and we found the welcome, the setting, the accommodation, the people and the breakfasts faultless. John, Liz and their son Andrew were the friendliest and most helpful hosts we have ever met. Willowbeck Lodge is a beautiful house and the accommodation provided for guests is superb. We could not recommend it more highly and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

My husband booked the oak room at willowbeck for us to spend our wedding night in and I have to say it was the most beautifulest place I have ever stayed...
From the moment we arrived I was blown away by the beauty of such a tranquil, peaceful home in a fabulous location..
We had a bottle of champagne with the rest of the bridal party whilst getting ready and it was reasonably priced. The room itself was so comfortable and immaculate to say the least, the bed was really comfortable too.
The breakfast choice and quality was astounding, we thoroughly enjoyed it and just sitting overlooking the small lake was lovely.
I cannot commend the owners enough it really was a pleasant stay and I hope to return with my husband sometime soon..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chellebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
242 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,009 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Warwick Hall
Warwick Hall
#12 of 61 in Carlisle
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range: £124 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbeck Lodge Scotby, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing