We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous and stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Otley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous and stunning”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed two nights at Willowbeck, the second night being our wedding night. The location was superb for our Gretna wedding and Willowbeck was peaceful and relaxing. We were able to take lovely pictures with privacy in the beautiful surroundings. The inside was spotless with hosts paying great attention to detail. The food was diviine and upon hearing of our forthcoming marriage on arrival, a bespoke evening meal was prepared with a wedding card from the owners and fresh flowers on the table. John and Liz are the perfect hosts in a perfect venue. Our stay was heaven and we would not hesitate to recommend Willowbeck Lodge.

Room Tip: Willow room was very spacious with a wonderful view, ample storage space and good size bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
114
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I were travelling back from a trip to Scotland ,where some expensive and highly hyped B & Bs were somewhat disappointing, We broke our journey in Carlisle, having made a previous internet booking for Willowbeck Lodge. What a delight awaited us...all the website info was correct and the place exceeded our expectations. We were made to feel like old friends and after a beautiful meal cooked by Liz we settled down for the evening with a few drinks with the hosts and set the world to rights. The house is extremely stylish and very clean - we had a lovely ensuite bedroom and a great cooked breakfast the next morning. I can't find a negative thing to comment upon! From the warm welcome and excellent service to the stylish ambience and catering, this is indeed a 5 star establishment. If we return to stay in Carlisle, this is where we will be.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire U
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Willowbeck Lodge has set the standard for all other establishments to emulate.
The term "Bed and Breakfast" doesn't convey the luxury, comfort and delicious food provided by its charming hosts John and Liz McGrillis.
I would recommend booking dinner as you will not be disappointed.
I have no hesitation in recommending this 5 Star establishment.
Dave & Kath.

Room Tip: Book dinner, they are great cooks
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I travelled up to Carlilse on the Settle to Carlisle Railway, staying over at Willowbeck Lodge. This B & B certainly lives up to it's 5* award and the hosts, Liz & John are extremely welcoming. Willowbeck is in a very tranquil setting and the rooms are extremely spacious with everything you could want. We had a lovely evening meal on the Saturday and breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious and plenty of it. We were going for our train directly after breakfast and asked Liz and John if we could have a taxi, however John insisted on driving us to the station. Not only, that, before the train left Liz came running down the platform with my glasses which I had left in the room. Above and beyond the call of duty and we would certainly make a return trip to this B&B if we go up to Carlisle again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beverley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2012

What a fantastic place! The rooms are warm, comfortable and immaculate with super bathrooms. Have stayed in many hotels and resorts in the USA and have always been impressed at how clean, fresh and spacious they seemed compared to the UK. Well, having stayed at Willowbeck I am delighted to say that good old Blighty is well and truly back on the map for me. This place takes "B&B" to another level. Stayed three nights with my wife and two kids and we were made to feel as welcome as old friends. John and Liz do a fantastic job looking after their guests and I was amazed by their energy and genuine pleasure at looking after us. The breakfasts are magic, but I have to say that the awesome roast beef we were served on the Sunday afternoon was the best I have ever had anywhere! Location is great, only a few minutes from the M6 and access to the Lakes etc. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickrick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Together with my wife, daughter/husband and toddler, we stayed at this lovely place from the 29th to the 31st January 2012. Both proprietors made us very welcome and the smile from Liz
(one of the proprietors) was genuine. John (Liz's husband) kept on asking us if we wanted more food at breakfast and I think we have all put weight on because of this short stay near Carlisle !! The place is quite elegant and stylish throughout. But the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The pond opposite the main building brought up a pleasand bucolic feeling to the place. In spite of the cold, the ducks were moving about quite happily. But one, was quite still and would not move at all (later on we found out it was made of plastic !! a gift from a satisfied client some months ago !!).
Finally the rooms were all very clean and comfortable and we are now planning to go back in the Summer to better explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Our rooms had under floor heating which was very welcome in these quite cold days we spent in Carlis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carioca15001906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2011

With a wonderful setting, and an appealing architect designed property, we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts. We feel the hosts went beyond the call of duty, and helped with many of our additional arrangements. With all the necessary facilities, and stylish décor giving a warm and friendly atmosphere. We are very happy to recommend Willowbeck.

Room Tip: Adjoining cottage with kitchen good for a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
936 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
920 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Property: Willowbeck Lodge
Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbeck Lodge Scotby, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing