We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an excellent place to stay”
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Back for a second visit to this lovely little village and gorgeous B&B. Once again visiting family in the area and were made very welcome. My husband ate far too much of the breakfast!. but we had a wonderful nights sleep in their really comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Willowbeck Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

Vsited last year with friends - we were so impressed we returned this year in spite of living fairly locally. We had the searate cottage, with 2 ensuites(small), and lots of space to relax in.
The evening meal was worthy of a very special occasion - excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I had an overnight stay here on our way from the Midlands to the Isle of Arran. Willowbeck is a few minutes from the M6, but could be in another world, it is so peaceful. Our stay was perfect, from the moment we arrived until our departure after breakfast the following morning.
The owners were themselves away, but we were welcomed by Sue, who showed us to our room, the Willow, which was fresh and clean, with a large bathroom and a Juliette balcony, overlooking the garden and lake. A while later, Sue earned extra brownie points by producing a killer vodka based cocktail - not what you would normally be offered in your usual B & B. She then went on to produce a delicious dinner, all freshly prepared. The following morning, we had an amazing breakfast, again freshly cooked to order, by Hazel. We have stayed in many B & Bs in the US, but have never found any to equal them in the UK, until now. Willowbeck is a wonderful place and is a credit to all concerned. Congratulations.

Room Tip: I imagine all rooms are good here, but it was nice to be in the Willow, where we were able to open t...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed two nights at Willowbeck, the second night being our wedding night. The location was superb for our Gretna wedding and Willowbeck was peaceful and relaxing. We were able to take lovely pictures with privacy in the beautiful surroundings. The inside was spotless with hosts paying great attention to detail. The food was diviine and upon hearing of our forthcoming marriage on arrival, a bespoke evening meal was prepared with a wedding card from the owners and fresh flowers on the table. John and Liz are the perfect hosts in a perfect venue. Our stay was heaven and we would not hesitate to recommend Willowbeck Lodge.

Room Tip: Willow room was very spacious with a wonderful view, ample storage space and good size bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My husband and I were travelling back from a trip to Scotland ,where some expensive and highly hyped B & Bs were somewhat disappointing, We broke our journey in Carlisle, having made a previous internet booking for Willowbeck Lodge. What a delight awaited us...all the website info was correct and the place exceeded our expectations. We were made to feel like old friends and after a beautiful meal cooked by Liz we settled down for the evening with a few drinks with the hosts and set the world to rights. The house is extremely stylish and very clean - we had a lovely ensuite bedroom and a great cooked breakfast the next morning. I can't find a negative thing to comment upon! From the warm welcome and excellent service to the stylish ambience and catering, this is indeed a 5 star establishment. If we return to stay in Carlisle, this is where we will be.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Willowbeck Lodge has set the standard for all other establishments to emulate.
The term "Bed and Breakfast" doesn't convey the luxury, comfort and delicious food provided by its charming hosts John and Liz McGrillis.
I would recommend booking dinner as you will not be disappointed.
I have no hesitation in recommending this 5 Star establishment.
Dave & Kath.

Room Tip: Book dinner, they are great cooks
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I travelled up to Carlilse on the Settle to Carlisle Railway, staying over at Willowbeck Lodge. This B & B certainly lives up to it's 5* award and the hosts, Liz & John are extremely welcoming. Willowbeck is in a very tranquil setting and the rooms are extremely spacious with everything you could want. We had a lovely evening meal on the Saturday and breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious and plenty of it. We were going for our train directly after breakfast and asked Liz and John if we could have a taxi, however John insisted on driving us to the station. Not only, that, before the train left Liz came running down the platform with my glasses which I had left in the room. Above and beyond the call of duty and we would certainly make a return trip to this B&B if we go up to Carlisle again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
244 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
268 reviews
2.2 mi away
Warwick Hall
Warwick Hall
#12 of 61 in Carlisle
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range: £125 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbeck Lodge Scotby, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing