We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

What a lovely place. Following good reviews on Trip Advisor we booked in here for bed and breakfast, when travelling to a family wedding in Carlisle. We were looking for a quiet country place and a bit of luxury, and that was exactly what we found. Beautiful house with luxury and good taste everywhere. Elegant surroundings, fabulous bedroom with very comfortable bed, large bathroom lovely toiletries and coffee, tea, biscuits and chocolates in room.

The owners John and Anne couldn't have been nicer and even supplied us with complemenary tea and coffee whilst we were relaxing in their comfortable and very stylish downstairs rooms with views over pretty gardens and duckpond.

The breakfast was exceptional with lots of choice, all beautifully cooked. We felt thoroughly spoilt and so glad we had decided to stay two nights instead of just the one, for the wedding.
Would love to go back some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
113
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Willowbeck Lodge for 2 nights for a short break in March. Welcoming, friendly relaxed atmosphere. Excellent food (excellent value evening meal), great wine list and excellent breakfast choice. Good locatation for exploring nearby Carlisle, a short drive from Hardrians Wall and ideal for exploring the Scottish boarders in particular Gretna Green. We were made to feel very welcome, would definitely visit again and would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for one night, but from the very warm welcome on arrival to saying goodbye the next day, we had one of the best hotel stays ever! Liz and John are the perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble for either of them. Our room was just perfect, overlooking the pond in front of the hotel, so peaceful and quiet - truly idyllic. Dinner was first class, as was breakfast the next morning. This was a gem of a find and we will certainly be returning for another stay - only longer next time. Would have no hesitation recommending this beautiful hotel to guests of all ages.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Willowbeck for over a week, and the most overriding feeling was that its a home away from home. The welcome was wonderful, rooms were large and comfortable and the meals perfect for the traveller. I would recommend a stay here for either an overnight stay or for a few days.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Amazing place , perfect for a romantic weekend . Highly recommend to anyone . We have stayed in many 5 star hotels but this is by far the best with such a person touch and very lovely people who can't do enough to help you . We can't wait to go back , already planning the next weekend !! Thankyou

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlakarl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Having had family stay at this venue before and been here for a lovely meal, we spoke to the owners to discuss using it as a venue for a wedding. We were told it was possible as they have hosted weddings before, so we met with the lady owner to talk details as we wanted to book the entire place for 2 nights for a wedding with a wedding breakfast for 30. We were treated very badly, left to believe our ideas for our wedding day was poor and that we would just be a nuissance for the owners. After stating we didn't like the idea of having a line up and get served carvery style dinner which they wanted us to have, we were told we had to do it their way or not at all. When I mentioned it sounded like they were trying to put us off using them, we were also told it wasnt really worth their while as we were having the evening do elsewhere and they wouldnt get our money for that bit. The woman was rude, snobbish and extremely unhelpful, not wanting to compromise on anything. She regularly contradicted herself saying they didn't want lots of guests or a late night thing, but then moaned we were spending the evening elsewhere. As we left she had the audacity to ask if we would still use them for the accommodation for the wedding weekend. Not only will I not use them for the accommodation for that weekend, but I would strongly recommend no one else uses them for accommodation at any time.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank agoldie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willowbecklodge, Owner at Willowbeck Lodge, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Willowbeck Lodge is a 5-Star ,Gold Award establishment of which we are justly proud. Apart from offering award winning accomodation, we also offer a wedding venue for individuals seeking a serene and intimate location.
We have successfully hosted many weddings in the past and enjoy an excellent reputation.

The couple in question never actually stayed at Willowbeck Lodge as incorrectly stated in their review, but merely visited in the hope of using Willowbeck as a venue for their wedding party.
It is paramount that clients needs and expectations are exactly matched with the service we provide. Failure to achieve this, only leads to disaster.
In this case we could not accommodate all the demands made but we were happy to suggest alternative solutions. At no time were we ever impolite or discourteous.
Previous reviews attest glowingly to our friendly and welcoming treatment of our guests.

It is regretful that the reviewer should confuse her disappointment in not securing Willowbeck Lodge with a failure on our part.
It is saddening that the frustration and disappointment felt by the reviewer should be expressed in an exaggerated, untruthful and malicious way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is superb accommodation set in a most beautiful setting its also well located just of junction 43 of the M6 and 10 minutes from the centre of Carlisle. Room exceptionally clean and well appointed. The hosts John and Liz look after guest attentively and tirelessly. Can't fault anything.... A perfect 10 all round.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YON_FISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.8 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Property: Willowbeck Lodge
Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbeck Lodge Scotby, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing