We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed on 6th July as we were going to Carlisle Races Evening Meeting where Madness were playing in Concert ! We arrived at the Lodge in Early afternoon it was absolutely scorching hot ! We were greeted by Liz who was very welcoming and offered us a nice cool drink !Just what we needed after driving in the heat ! The ambience and surroundings are amazing and very relaxing.
Liz showed us to our room (Willow) where we were stunned by the quality of the furnishings and bathroom etc. The view from our room was picturesque ! The only down side was that we had to leave and attend the Races in early evening ! We would have loved to spend the evening at the Lodge and experience a nice meal and a few more drinks ! In the morning We were served breakfast by Andrew which was superb and his hospitality and friendly attitude makes this establishment very much a 5 Star !!

We will most certainly be returning in the near future to spend some quality relaxing time at the Lodge and savour some fine food and hospitality !

A massive well done to John, Liz and Andrew and Thanks again !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie1705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
117
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We recently spent a few enjoyable days at Willowbeck Lodge: the accommodation was excellent, the food very good [especially the breakfasts] and our hosts could not have been more accommodating or helpful. A 5* B&B to be highly recommended !
Ingrid & Joe M.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just off the M6 at J43 is probably not the most exciting start to a review but when one realises we have searched for a quality place to stay (just off the M6) for nearly 20 years and now have found it, this is one of the prime factors. Willowbeck Lodge is a large family home set in beautiful countryside. The owners Liz and John Mc Grillis have turned this gem into a sumptuous B&B with a very warm welcome. The furnishings are elegant, the beds are to die for and the whole house is spacious with a large double height glass fronted dining area that overlooks a small lake. Dinner can be taken at extra cost but the quality of the food and the care with which it is presented makes it illogical to eat anywhere else in the evening. To be able to stay in what can only be described and cost effective luxury, a couple of minutes off the M6, when travelling up or down that motorway is heaven indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerrickJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for a night as a half way stop on the way back from our honeymoon in Scotland and it was the perfect end to our trip! The accomodation & location was fabulous and the owners were lovely, they really looked after us and attended to our every need. The evening meal we had was fabulous too, fantastic food. We would definitely recommend Willowbeck Lodge and will love to re-visit it future

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Willowbeck for our wedding. We spent the wedding weekend there with family and friends, and stayed on for an unplanned mini-honeymoon afterwards by ourselves because we loved it so much. I'm actually at a loss to describe what a wonderful place it is, so I'll try to go through it by subject.

- Accommodation: The rooms are AMAZING. My husband and I live in Dubai and are pretty accustomed to 5-star hotels. Willowbeck knocks any 5-star hotel out of the ballpark. The rooms are gorgeous, beautifully decorated, impeccably, amazingly clean, without a speck of dust or a flaking chip of paint anywhere. In addition to this there is a personal attention to detail (each room has its own character, with carefully-chosen furnishings and artwork) that I have never seen in any hotel in the world, and I travel a lot.

- Food: Absolutely delicious, top-class cooking. Again, like the accommodation, the food is every bit as good as one would get in a five-star restaurant, but with a personal attention to detail that makes it even more special. John and Liz are SUPERB cooks.

- Location: Scotby is a gorgeous little place. After our wedding we were supposed to return to London but postponed by three days because we couldn't bear to leave. We took long rambling walks in the countryside- absolutely adored the river walk in Weatherall- ate lovely food in country pubs, and generally achieved a state of near-nirvana.

Value for money: We thought it was excellent value for money.

Welcome: I actually had a tear in my eye saying goodbye to John and Liz, two of the kindest, most hospitable, friendly, entertaining people one could ever meet. We absolutely loved staying with them. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We have thanked our lucky stars many times that we found Willowbeck- John and Liz made our stay really, really special. We have promised to return for our wedding anniversary, and we're already counting the days...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoibhlinn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The both of us stayed at the Willowbeck Lodge for a break this April for three nights for our wedding anniversary. John and Liz the owners are the most welcoming hosts and made our stay perfect in everyway. I would recommend people to visit and try the fantastic hospitality in very pleasant surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shafton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

What a lovely place. Following good reviews on Trip Advisor we booked in here for bed and breakfast, when travelling to a family wedding in Carlisle. We were looking for a quiet country place and a bit of luxury, and that was exactly what we found. Beautiful house with luxury and good taste everywhere. Elegant surroundings, fabulous bedroom with very comfortable bed, large bathroom lovely toiletries and coffee, tea, biscuits and chocolates in room.

The owners John and Anne couldn't have been nicer and even supplied us with complemenary tea and coffee whilst we were relaxing in their comfortable and very stylish downstairs rooms with views over pretty gardens and duckpond.

The breakfast was exceptional with lots of choice, all beautifully cooked. We felt thoroughly spoilt and so glad we had decided to stay two nights instead of just the one, for the wedding.
Would love to go back some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
966 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
603 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,358 reviews
2.2 mi away
Warwick Hall
Warwick Hall
#13 of 61 in Carlisle
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Property: Willowbeck Lodge
Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbeck Lodge Scotby, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing