We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodation, lovely surroundings”
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2009

This is a wonderful place to stay and I would highly recommend it. The most important thing to me when I stay anywhere is that it is clean, (I like to feel that I'm the first person to ever use the room), Willowbeck Lodge is spotless and extremely new looking.
The rooms are spacious with all mod cons. The location is quiet and perfect if you would like to get away from it all. The view from the room overlooked the owners large garden and pond with willow trees overhanging, fabulous.
The owners were very friendly and very trusting leaving us alone in their home for the evening. The breakfast they provided was good quality and tasty, there was various choices on the menu.
We were happy with the price, compared to some places we have stayed it was fairly cheap - but was superior in every aspect.
The only negative comment is that we could only stay for 1 night on our long trip!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karamel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

We recently stayed here for one night and can't praise Liz & John enough for their hospitality. We had a lovely room overlooking the pond with ample room to unwind from our hectic day exploring the area. Liz was great in offering tips and advice on surrounding attractions like Hadrians Wall and suggested we go to a nearby town called Wetheral for dinner which was advice we took and appreciated. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and we hope to one day return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Our daughter stayed in Willowbeck Lodge while on business in Carlisle many times, enjoying it hugely. So when we had a special celebration coming up, she clubbed together with her siblings to give us a weekend away at Willowbeck. And what a fantastic present it turned out to be. It will be very hard for anyone to fault this place. The setting around a large pond is breathtaking. The lounge/breakfast room is of a spectacular design, huge and airy. The room was spacious with a super comfortable bed and comfy chairs. We were greeted with a drink at a table on the terrace overlooking the pond, and the fine hospitality continued throughout our trip.

John and Liz genuinely seem to enjoy having guests around, and the place is centered around you, not the owners. They have the balance between allowing you your own privacy and engaging you in conversation exactly right. If you fancy anonymous chain hotels with impersonal service where you are only known by your room number, this may not be the place for you. If you like service with a personal note and engaging, personable hosts, it most definitely is.

Breakfast offers much more than just “full English” (which itself consisted of high-quality ingredients). I had porridge and kippers the first morning, and Scotch pancakes on the second. John and Liz’s culinary skills are astounding. We also had one three-course evening meal at Willowbeck, which turned out to be the best meal of our 5-day holiday, and beat what we had at seemingly renowned local restaurants by miles – and cost significantly less.

The location of Willowbeck is ideal for both Hadrian’s Wall and the Lakes. We had intended to continue on our walk along Hadrian’s Wall, but when we arrived at Housesteads after about half an hour’s drive, we saw nothing but rain and thick fog. So we turned round and drove to Keswick – just half an hour in the opposite direction – and walked up the Catbells peak in bright sunshine instead.

We certainly hope to be back at Willowbeck Lodge before too long.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwnerAthole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed at Willowbeck as a stopover on our drive from Aberdeen to Le Mans. When we arrived, Liz came out to greet us, showed us where we were staying and told us dinner would be ready in fifteen minutes. The food was fantastic, Liz and John were fabulous hosts and we can highly recommend Willowbeck Lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill7806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This was our third and most extensive (three nights) stay. We chose it based on our previous excellent experience. A lovely, modern house furnished in style overlooking its own small lake. Our room was excellent with an en-suite to die for (and the cleanliness unparalleled in our experience). Liz and John provide easy, warm hospitality together with superb catering. They go out of their way to make your visit relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldestfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Willowbeck Lodge
A fantastic stay - hidden away in the tiny village of Scotby, convenient for Carlisle & Hadrian’s wall etc.
Willowbeck lodge is one of those once experienced never forgotten stays.
Our room was well appointed, very pleasant, and reasonably spacious – when we stay again we will opt for the slightly more expensive but very spacious super-deluxe rooms.
Extremely friendly hosts John and Liz made us feel very welcome indeed. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The evening meal (agreed in advance to suit our tastes), in the fantastic dining room / lounge was worthy of many restaurants costing much more.
With only 6 /7 guests it was like having your own private restaurant. The wine, from a local vintner in Carlisle, was also superb – do ask for the address - it's worth a visit – we bought a case. All in all a marvellous experience and we shall certainly be staying there again. Duncan and Leigh - Bolton Lancashire

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanandLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed 5 nights at Willowbeck Lodge using it as a base for daily birdwatching trips around the Solway Firth. The weather was very cold but Willowbeck was always very warm and comfortable. A real pleasure to come home to each evening. Our room was superb (as was its large bathroom with bath and separate shower) and the Lodge throughout is of the very highest quality. Spotlessly clean. John and Liz, the hosts, are lovely people. Couldn't do enough for us. The food was consistently excellent and all freshly prepared. It really was a faultless experience. The accommodation can properly be described as luxurious. Best place we have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithJohnSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,015 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,417 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
230 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range: £108 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbeck Lodge Scotby, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing