We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in every way!!”
Review of Willowbeck Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willowbeck Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Scotby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection in every way!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We needed somewhere to stay urgently due to a family bereavement and found this gem on the internet. Booking was very efficiently dealt with and we experienced a very warm welcome which included afternoon tea, following our 340 mile drive the following day. The entire property was all "perfect" and contained every convenience. The room was sumptiously furnished and though everything was modern was in the best possible taste. Scotby itself is a quiet, small village just on the outskirts of Carlisle and Willowbeck Lodge is situated within it's own extensive grounds. The rooms overlook a duck pond and weeping willows and is just a complete oasis of calm and comfort. Breakfast was to die for and we had an evening meal on the second evening which was exceptional - home made soup, tenderloin of pork and exotic deserts. In summary - 5 star accommodation at a reasonable price. Everything one could hope for with absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guildford_gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
119
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The willowbeck lodge was a wonderful place to stay. The owners went out of their way to look after and help you in anyway possible. A lovely couple we were made to feel right at home and more than welcome. The hotel is an excellant place to stay all rooms were stylish and comfortable with home comforts in the bedrooms and also in the rest of the hotel. The food was excellant and the couple made every effort to accomodate your dietray needs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fordie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night, we enjoyed a very relaxing stay in superb accommodation, we stayed in the bungalow, attached to the main house. It is very comfortable and equipped to the highest standards. All rooms have free internet. We stayed for evening meal, which was most enjoyable and the Lodge is licensed and the wines are very reasonably priced. It was also very much appreciated that on our arrival we were offered a glass of wine, free gratis, which was very enjoyable. Breakfast was everything you would expect from a quality hotel. Mine hosts John and Liz made our stay very memorable and enjoyable, we highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

If you want to start your holiday off perfectly (like we did on our first stay at Willowbeck Lodge) or end your holiday perfectly (like we did this year), then Willowbeck Lodge is about as good as it gets. It is such a peaceful place and you are made to feel very welcome by John & Liz. We stayed Bed Breakfast & Evening meal and were amazed at just how good the meals were. I would say a lot better than all of the restaurants we ate at whilst travelling around Scotland. We will not hesitate to book again in the future. Many thanks John & Liz.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_KarenHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We were driving north from Oxford to northern Scotland and wanted to break out trip into two days. We found Willowbeck online as it was near the M6 and seemed a nice place to stop off (and better than a motel). We arrived a bit late (800pm) and saw that the hosts were serving dinner to the other guests. Since we hadn't booked, we weren't able to eat there (I highly recommend that you book to eat your dinner at the lodge) but the hosts quickly made a phone call and arranged for us to eat at a near by restaurant, which was delicious.
The house is newly renovated/built and all the amenities are current. it is cozy but open and bright. I have mold and dust mite allergies and was happy to find the rooms and linens and beds sparkling clean and fresh/new. the beds were comfortable and bathroom small but highly functional.
Breakfast was delicious and we agreed that if we were looking for a place to come back for a longer stay (weekend or a few days hiking in Cumbria anyone??) we would book into Willowbeck for the stay without hesitation.
It's always great to discover a little gem!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4GJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We spent 3 nights here and despite my reputation for finding fault, could not find fault with cleanliness, bed, food, facilities, ambiance, hosts, indeed it was as perfect a location for a quiet retreat. It is quite expensive but not for the quality of accomodation and service provided.
The house and garden are stunning.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Stayed one night en-route southbound. What a great find. Very personable hosts, who made us feel welcome.
We booked the evening meal and it was high quality with a cheeky bottle of Cabernet Sauvingnon to accompany it.
Room was exceptionally clean (as was the rest of the Lodge) and well-equipped.
Breakfast was a real treat and the choice was wide.
Would recommend highly especially to couples.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scotby
1.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
980 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
974 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Warwick Hall
Warwick Hall
#9 of 61 in Carlisle
236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
253 reviews
4.4 mi away
String of Horses Inn
String of Horses Inn
#2 of 61 in Carlisle
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbeck Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbeck Lodge

Property: Willowbeck Lodge
Address: Willowbeck Lodge Lambley Bank | Scotby, Scotby, Carlisle CA4 8BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Scotby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scotby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Willowbeck Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Willowbeck Lodge, an award winning luxury boutique bed and breakfast. Elegant simplicity, superb comfort in warm surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Willowbeck Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbeck Lodge Scotby, Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing