We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, fantastic, friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Green Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cotehill B&B and Inns
1 review
“Lovely stay, fantastic, friendly service.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff couldn't have been friendlier and went out of their way. The rooms were spotless and lovely. The breakfast was fantastic. Had a meal and drink in the plough inn, Wreay which was lovely also and well worth a visit. Would definately return to this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
42
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was our first stay here but it won't be the last. Sandra and Johnny were the perfect hosts and we were made to feel most welcome. The room was perfect and spotless. The breakfast was a challenge but one which I accepted with relish and it set me up for the day. The Eden valley is a beautiful place to visit and The Green is a great base with or without transport. There are friendly pubs nearby serving good wholesome food. I would definitely recommend The Green and I'm a choosy person. My next stay will be for more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just made my 3rd visit to The Green and it retained it's usual high standard. Very clean place, great cooked breakfast (with a welcome fruit salad as a starter), spacious room and helpful hosts who sorted out a booking for our evening meal on a busy Saturday night. Well placed, only 4 miles from Carlisle and near the motorway but right out in the country. A good base for touring to the Lake District, the Solway coast or discovering some of the many villages in Cumbria.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Adorable place, warm welcome from Sandra and Jonnie and a fabulous cooked breakfast ! Great views of the fells, Tonight's EuroMillions jackpot is £53m*. Grab your ticket now!close enough to the motorway for convenience but far enough away that you can't hear anything but bird song in the morning.

Really worth a visit !

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrloughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stopped off here travelling north, first night of our trip travelling with our 2 dogs. Johnny and Sandra could not have been more welcoming or attentive throughout our stay. Glass of wine and pint of beer on arrival a a great breakfast cooked to perfection. Its a handy location only 5-10 mins from the motorway junction and much quieter than staying in Carlisle. Handy pub within walking distance in the village which offers a warm welcome and good basic pub grub which we were happy with but there are others within 5-10 minute drive if you want anything more. We'd stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveborderterriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have stayed here for several years running on my way to my annual trip to Scotland. What makes the Green B & B stand out for me is how spotlessly clean it is. Johnny and Sandra are perfect hosts in the old fashioned sense. A welcome glass of wine on arrival accompanied by some intelligent conversation made me feel welcome. Johnny's Cumberland breakfast had me properly set up for the onward journey the next day. I look forward to going back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frydry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury, england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I recently stayed at the Green for three nights on business. I visit Carlisle numerous times each year. This was the first time I stayed at the Green. Each time I visit the area in future I will always stay there. A lovely location and extremely friendly hosts. Very helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are only two guest rooms. No difference whichever you choose other than one has a double bed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cotehill
2.8 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
3.5 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 61 in Carlisle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crossroads House
Crossroads House
#5 of 61 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Green Bed and Breakfast
Address: Front Street | Cotehill, Cotehill, Carlisle CA4 0EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle > Cotehill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cotehill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for the perfect escape, countryside location, elegant accommodation with a touch of luxury, then the Green Bed and Breakfast is for you. Situated in its own grounds on the edge of the village of Cotehill, in the lovely and peaceful Eden Valley six miles from the historic and ancient City of Carlisle. We are conveniently located just over a mile from J42 on the M6 and 10 minutes from the A69. This puts us in an ideal position for an overnight stay for anyone going to and from Scotland and England as the Anglo-Scottish Border is only a dozen miles away. Likewise for anyone traveling to Northern Ireland, The Lake District, The Borders and North East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Green Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Bed And Breakfast Cotehill, Carlisle, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing