We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Bridge End Inn

Bridge End Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Dalston
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Went here on Thursday for a meal I had steak which came with chips a very small salad and a small bowl of melted garlic butter ironed steak and partner had sizzling beef with peppercorn it was nice but not a lot off it for what we payed not one member of staff ask if we were ok or needed any sauces once finished I wanted a dessert and a coffee but no one came to pick our plates up and we waited for a good 20 min so we left with out dessert or coffee very poor service really needs looked at sorry guys and girls

Helpful?
3 Thank GILLGREENALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    45
    18
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great menu”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went out for a family meal and was surprised how many nice seafood dishes were on the menu superb food and wine can't wait to go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliedmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived without a booking on a busy Friday night, but we were accommodated outside. On a pleasant summer evening, the beer garden with play equipment suited a couple of Aussies with a boisterous 2yo just fine! The food was quality pub fare - flaky pastry, chunky pepper steak pies, and generous, good quality childrens' meals.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swann80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great meal, popular with locals”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Tripped over this pub when looking for somewhere for sunday dinner. Was busy & obviously a popular local choice. Value was great...deep fried black pudding bites with sweet chilli dip were amazing! I had roast gammon & my hubbie beef. We could not manage dessert! Staff were friendly but short staffed however this didnt affect us. Nice pub garden for sunny days. Would def recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Have been to the Bridge End several times since the current team took over and have always enjoyed the food and thought it good value for money. Unfortunately this time we were most disappointed. The steak pie, which used to come as an individual piece, crammed with meat, was a tray bake and sadly lacking in middle poor value for nearly £10. I had lamb shank which was just ok but definitely not £13 worth and barely a vegetable between us. From entering to having completed the meal was 40 minutes! So the food was obviously just reheated, even the chips. Not the relaxing evening we had anticipated. The staff as usual were friendly and attentive. We did mention our dissatisfaction to the waitress who said the chef had changed the way he made the pies because they were so busy now. Sorry to say this is one customer who won't be rushing back. To stay busy you need to keep the standard up!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bridge End Inn also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Bridge End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing