We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge de l'Etang
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$198
US$192
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$65
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$79
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Golf(Limoges)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citotel la Providence(Pierre-Buffiere)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
18
32
19
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
32
19
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years singly/as a couple/with dogs/on motorbikes!
Each time the young couple who run this have been so friendly and helpful.
The rooms are clean and fresh, if a bit corporate, but with their proximity to the motorway (only about 10 minutes) they probably have a lot of corporate business.
The food and service is great; never had any complaints at all. It's a perfect stop-off point for us on the way to the South

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden/pool - the road can be a bit busy
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Took a chance as wanted something on the way back to Paris from the South and found this place. A great little find - and worth a detour for the food. This is family owned - she runs the hotel, and he is the chef - and what a fantastic chef!!! It is however impressively expensive for a little place on the edge of a village!!! We had a wonderful dinner on the balcony overlooking the pool, and breakfast is also excellent. Then we spent a couple of hours by the pool before leaving - no one else there - except an elderly couple who are apparently regulars there and were being served drinks by the pool! The restaurant filled up very quickly at lunchtime. Was super quiet overnight - behind the hotel grounds and pool there is a large-ish pond which makes a very calm environment overall. Very pleasant - but be prepared that dinner will push up your overnight charges quite dramatically!!!!! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taormina-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was just an overnight stop on the way south from Caen and was chosen only for it's location. The village was nothing special and I have to say that this also applies to the facilities in the hotel. However, it was clean and comfortable and the people were very friendly and helpful. What earns it a good rating though is the food. I was surprised at the cost of the food and drink but even more surprised by the quality. This place is worth a detour just for the food. It proved to be the best meal of our 8 days in France.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackandWillsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The rooms are on the first floor (no elevator), quiet, small bathroom. The night was warm and because there was no sheet we had an on/off relationship with the duvet. There is a small outside swimming pool, which presumably is used most by families with children staying for a couple of days, and not by travellers.
The restaurant offers classic French dishes, well prepared, but not very surprising.
I would not hesitate to come back on our next trip, because of the good price/quality equation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaapK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here overnight on our journey from Auvillar to Blere. It is managed by a young married couple who gave us a warm and friendly welcome, and who did everything they could to make us comfortable. The dinner was excellent......not 3*** but then we were not paying £*** prices, and the accomodation clean and more than adequate. It overlooks a duck pond which has mammoth size carp, neither of which appear on the menu. One facility is a delightful swimming pool, but as September had set in, we did not make use of this. We would highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back overlooking the pond and village
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubliner21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews