We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hogs Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Awsworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Weekend Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I came up here with my best friend at the end of February as I have friends who live up here so we went out over the weekend! Although this is based about a 20 minute drive from the city centre we didn't mind! The people at this hotel and pub are so lovely! They made us feel at home constantly and were always checking up on us. It had such a wonderful family feel to it which is just what we needed! It took us 4 hours to drive up here and was worth it for the weekend we had and the wonderful service we got from this hotel. When we next come here, we will booking this hotel without hesitation! We already cant wait :) x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    64
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
48
86
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Well located for motorway, Nottingham, Ilkeston and Derby, just down the road to Matlock. Good atmosphere in the reception and bar areas, great beer in comfortable surroundings
Great facilities and very friendly staff,comforatble room, I will certainly be back for more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklewood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I've stayed a few times and will be back there again. I like the dated bar gives it character. The menu has good selection of reasonably priced tasty food. My room was comfortably and with good furnishings. It's in a nice quiet area with easy access to the motorway.

Room Tip: I prefer upstairs rooms as the ground floor rooms there is no space between the building and cars pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeb7671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed at the Hogs Head prior to a meeting in Heanor so very handy location. The hotel is in a quiet location close to the motorway so handy for travellers. The bedrooms are nicely furnished and big enough. It was a little chilly to start with but warmed up by bed time. The bar area is somewhat dated unlike the modern rooms. dinner was average pub food but acceptable, breakfast being better and freshly cooked. The best part was the young lady who served me with drinks, dinner and breakfast again the next morning, very cheerful and efficient at all times. Worst thing...the wifi keeps dropping out.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

My boyfriend and I were recommended this lovely place by a friend and were certainly not disappointed. It is located down a country road and looks really cosy and warm from the outside. The food is fresh and home cooked and a very reasonable price. We were surprised by the huge portions you receive. It does get pretty busy, with good reason. I have visited a couple of times and took various people with me who have all been very impressed. The only downside, is that that on one occasion they had ran out of chicken and on another occasion they'd ran out of garlic bread (which just happens to be absolutely amazing!). Aside from that the food is delicious and i definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times..so I thought time for a few chosen words. This place is a gem. I have never met such wonderful staff whom absolutely nothing is a problem..bending over backwards is an understatement. The hotel itself is simply charming..the rooms are excellent and the food is just..awesome. i would whole heartedly recommend The Hogs...you will never be dissapointed. Thanks to Andy, Annette, John and Christine for everything.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marktimson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

me and my husband stayed here on a fri/sat night.
we had a warm welcome and were shown to our room and that was the only disappointment of our stay it was so small with no bedside tables and no draws on a wardroom and cupboard which had a hairdryer in and the wardrobe had a fan on the floor but no shelves.my husband hit his leg numerous times on the corner of the bed as the wood stuck out with not much room to walk round.but having said this the bathroom and shower was lovely.
the hotel itself was very warm and welcoming staff very helpful and went out of there way to look up the bus timetable from the internet and write it down for us.
we had a evening meal on the first evening and it was great roast lamb dinner for £4.75 and it was fresh and delicious they have plenty of choice in beers to at good prices it must have a good reputation for its food as it was pretty full both nights.
breakfast was lovely very tasty and wholesome set us up for the day.
we will defiantly look forward to coming again but perhaps request a larger room before we go.

Room Tip: room one very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Awsworth
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham West Hotel
2.4 mi away
Eastwood Hall
Eastwood Hall
#1 of 1 in Eastwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
5.9 mi away
The Morley Hayes Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ripley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogs Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogs Head Hotel

Property: The Hogs Head Hotel
Address: Main Street, Awsworth NG16 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Awsworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Awsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet corner of the Nottinghamshire village of Awsworth this small but well appointed hotel is reputed to have been an old coaching house. It is ideally positioned for the long distance traveller being one and a half miles from the M1, and being about the half way mark between London and Scotland. For the local business man, between Nottingham, Derby, Ilkeston and Hucknall.For the tourist it is in the heart of D. H. Lawrence country being under two miles from his birthplace and museum at Eastwood and just off the main approach to the Derbyshire Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hogs Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hogs Head Hotel Awsworth, Nottinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing